We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing espectacular”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almaa Sintra Hostel
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 5, 2013

has you know, Sintra is an amazing place.
this hostel is in one of the hold posh farms, staying there was very pleasant.
I strongly recommend!
Even if you need any help, the staff there is fantastic!
(if you go there in the summer, ask Bernabé for the best surfing spots, even if you don't surf)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shibbymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 199 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

This was one of the most incredible places I've been, where I lived last year in Portugal. The atmosphere is very cool and quiet environment. Although the location is not easy, the signs of Almaa through the city of Sintra is very good. It's almost impossible not to find the place.
I indicate much!
It was amazing to be there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edu_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I just have a wonderful time in Sintra, such a beatifull city, and Almaa was a great option, it is a little bit outside the city center, perfect for who like walking, and such a great landscape on the gardens and in all the surround.

Staff are nice and helpful!

Nice Place for Chill out, and also with a medieval Pub (working from Wednesday to Sunday I think)just beside with nice beer and Hidromel.

PS: Could be useful to have a small flashlight for the walking at night from the city center, there is a small part of the road with no lights, but the stars make it a lovely walking.

I will return for sure!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Gustavo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I absolutely loved Almaa Hostel. Just out side the village centre on a quiet country road. Beautiful views of the wider countryside. The hostel is an old building idiosyncratic in style and decor and will appeal to those who like something a bit different. Lovely garden for wandering a round and I had a swim in the amazing pool. The living area lovely for relaxing at night. The breakfast was comprised of cereals, crusty bread for toasting, cheese, jam, honey, selection of teas and coffee - perfect. I was there for four nights by myself and shared a five bed dorm. The atmosphere was relaxed and peaceful and friendly. The staff that I got talking to were really helpful and friendly.

The only down side was that the bedroom windows had to be closed at night in order to keep the mosquitoes out (and I still got bit) this left the room warm and stuffy - especially with five beds in the one room. It might be a good idea for the owners to put wire mesh over the window openings.

But I would still go back either way. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubyonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Tranquil. Clean. Charming. The gardens are spectacular and the staff welcoming...as others mentioned, this is a cozy place. A gentle rest.

My husband and I spent a breath-taking day there sipping coffee, wandering the paths, and gulping down the forest air. Definitely the best place we saw in Portugal.

Kid-friendly.

Yoga style front room. Old books, good music, nice breakfast. I loved all the handmade furniture and funky art. This place made it onto my "return some day" list.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherish_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hostel Sintra is a magical, place of peace and quiet just on the edge of a busy tourist town. Right next to the one of its most important historical sites, only walking distance from the town, yet on the outskirts on a huge piece of land with many gardens, on a hill with the possiblity of seeing the sea, its location couldnt be better. The rooms are luxurious, clean, and have a character. There is a great common area downstairs that has comfortable places to sit and chat, but also games to keep you entertained. The gardens are absolutely stunning. Large with a variety of trees and flowers. There is a basin in which you can take a swim, and you can ask the neighboring house for fresh eggs in the morning. The staff is very friendly. This is one of the best hostels Ive ever stayed and my favorite place by far in all of Portugal. I would recommend it to everyone. Go, go, go! You'll fall in love with it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Really nice hostel in a stunning, old house and in a perfect setting - the best starting point for any and all Sintra experiences and sightseeing as well as hiking for the entire region! Love to come back at any time!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anti_christl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
2.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nice Way Sintra
Nice Way Sintra
#7 of 32 in Sintra
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moon Hill Hostel
Moon Hill Hostel
#1 of 32 in Sintra
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almaa Sintra Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almaa Sintra Hostel

Address: Caminho dos Frades | Quinta dos Lobos, Sintra 2710-560, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Price Range: $18 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almáa Sintra Hostel is a retreat center and an Eco Hostel located in the heart of the Sintra Mountain Range which cultural landscape is classified by Unesco as a World Heritage Site. Our house is sited in a property considered the oldest in Sintra, dated back to the 12st century, with 3,5 ha of luxurious gardens. We offer private and shared rooms in a heavenly environment. The Hostel was named Almáa, which means "The Water" in Arabic, due to the influence of the moors in this region and the fantastic natural spring water that supplies the house, and waters the gardens. "Alma" also means soul in some Latin languages. Our beliefs in sustainability and in helping one another, made us manufacture our furniture with recycled materials done by local artists with the help of third sector entities (charities, voluntary organizations and social enterprises) that are also our main suppliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Almaa Sintra Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing