We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful hostel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Almaa Sintra Hostel
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A truely magical place - both the house and the gardens are stunningly beautiful; an abundance of fruit trees, fireflies by night, views of the sunset, a hidden pool, huge old trees and all kinds of other wonders of nature made me feel a little like I had stepped into a fairytale. Incredibly peaceful, and a great place to spend time alone, but also plenty of opportunities to socialise with staff and guests in the common areas if this is what you want. Great collection of books, and lots of good spots to curl up and read undisturbed, both indoors and out.

The place is run in a genuinely ecologically-conscious way: proper recycling facilities, furniture made from discarded materials. Proper breakfasts - fresh sourdough bread each day, and good jams, muesli and coffee. One gets the sense that everything in and about this place is an expression of people who care about all that is worth celebrating in life!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 199 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very charming, hostile and proper hostel in an old land house, surrounded by beautiful nature,
view over the hills down to the ocean, large kitchen with gaz oven for kooking.
10 minutes walk to busses and railway to Lisbon and the beaches.
I had a most beautiful time for more then a week, first wanted to stay only a couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2,253,333,333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was a pity, we only stayed for 1 night but we've had a very good time. Incredible surrounding, good bed, authentic rooms, natural swimmingpool, nice atmosphere and a very friendly owner. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic0le66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had a couple of recommendations before arriving to Almaa and they were right, it was the perfect place. I stayed there for 7 nights and loved and enjoyed all the nature within the property, and the hostel itself is a charming place with a lovely energy and atmosphere. The hosts are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can! And they have the sweetest dog ever, I actually miss them all!. I will stay there next time I visit Sintra, for sure. ❤

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaktiColibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I had originally only planned to spend one night here, well I ended up staying for two more. It was a wonderful hostel experience. The breakfast was delicious. The grounds were vast and open to explore. It's about a 20 minute beautiful walk from the train station in Sintra. The staff was most helpful and friendly. If I ever get back to Sintra, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelight-1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Little bit away from the center of Sintra. At the same time, very quiet and surprisingly comfortable. Separately want to mention - very clean. Three days in the Sintra were very enjoyable, also thanks this hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pacific_Kiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Buses not reliable in this town but it has nothing to do with the hostel. Very welcoming staff and lovely dog :) Very clean rooms, the scenery on the natural park is beautiful and you wake up to the sound of the birds singing. Everything's recycled (matresses, homemade lamps) and the decoration is lovely and very original. Thanks for a very nice stay :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 368harmonylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
2.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.6 mi away
Moon Hill Hostel
Moon Hill Hostel
#1 of 32 in Sintra
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nice Way Sintra
Nice Way Sintra
#7 of 32 in Sintra
213 reviews
1 mi away
Portuguese Hostel
Portuguese Hostel
#12 of 32 in Sintra
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almaa Sintra Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almaa Sintra Hostel

Address: Caminho dos Frades | Quinta dos Lobos, Sintra 2710-560, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Price Range: $40 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Almaa Sintra Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almáa Sintra Hostel is a retreat center and an Eco Hostel located in the heart of the Sintra Mountain Range which cultural landscape is classified by Unesco as a World Heritage Site. Our house is sited in a property considered the oldest in Sintra, dated back to the 12st century, with 3,5 ha of luxurious gardens. We offer private and shared rooms in a heavenly environment. The Hostel was named Almáa, which means "The Water" in Arabic, due to the influence of the moors in this region and the fantastic natural spring water that supplies the house, and waters the gardens. "Alma" also means soul in some Latin languages. Our beliefs in sustainability and in helping one another, made us manufacture our furniture with recycled materials done by local artists with the help of third sector entities (charities, voluntary organizations and social enterprises) that are also our main suppliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Almaa Sintra Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing