We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and not burdensome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Almaa Sintra Hostel
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Little bit away from the center of Sintra. At the same time, very quiet and surprisingly comfortable. Separately want to mention - very clean. Three days in the Sintra were very enjoyable, also thanks this hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pacific_Kiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 250 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Buses not reliable in this town but it has nothing to do with the hostel. Very welcoming staff and lovely dog :) Very clean rooms, the scenery on the natural park is beautiful and you wake up to the sound of the birds singing. Everything's recycled (matresses, homemade lamps) and the decoration is lovely and very original. Thanks for a very nice stay :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 368harmonylab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for a few days while I was in Sintra for a wedding. It was a few minutes walk outside the town, but this place was amazing and made my stay even more enjoyable. The surroundings were so peaceful, the staff was so helpful and friendly and the house (quinta) itself was big and well kept. When I go back to Sintra I will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M_Doyle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely and quite place, at walking distance from the centre, yet feeling like being away from town. Friendly people, nice decoration, nice breakfast in the backyard with beautiful view over the surroundings. Great to walk in the farm, and even swimming in the old big tank. A great location to spend a couple of relaxing days with family, a group of friends, or even alone - just enjoying the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLBrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

my rv is late but I luved this place to come bac to after a long day exploring the fascinating sintra.

luved the breakfast and the large kitchen and rooms
the boss was extra special who suited such a beaut town and hostel

ill b bac when I visit potugal again

gill craig australia

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gillySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I enjoyed very much this place where I spent a few days last year.
very quiet, design quite extraordinary and people running the guest house were friendly and nice.I hope to come back in the future.
thanks Almaa's team..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank caroline k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very cosy, beautiful decoration, wonderful gardens to walk or just stay there feeling it.
An hostel with very good energy! Nice rooms and a cosy living room. Alma means soul in portuguese, and this hostel is a real pleasure for the soul! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank afrodiana9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
2.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moon Hill Hostel
Moon Hill Hostel
#1 of 33 in Sintra
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almaa Sintra Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almaa Sintra Hostel

Address: Caminho dos Frades | Quinta dos Lobos, Sintra 2710-560, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Almaa Sintra Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almáa Sintra Hostel is a retreat center and an Eco Hostel located in the heart of the Sintra Mountain Range which cultural landscape is classified by Unesco as a World Heritage Site. Our house is sited in a property considered the oldest in Sintra, dated back to the 12st century, with 3,5 ha of luxurious gardens. We offer private and shared rooms in a heavenly environment. The Hostel was named Almáa, which means "The Water" in Arabic, due to the influence of the moors in this region and the fantastic natural spring water that supplies the house, and waters the gardens. "Alma" also means soul in some Latin languages. Our beliefs in sustainability and in helping one another, made us manufacture our furniture with recycled materials done by local artists with the help of third sector entities (charities, voluntary organizations and social enterprises) that are also our main suppliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Almaa Sintra Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing