We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almaa Sintra Hostel
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was traveling with a group of friends from Lisbon to Sintra and we heard about Almaa Hostel. We were luck enough they had space. When we arrived we decided immediately to make our 1 night stay a 3 night stay. The owner was such a nice guy and all the other guests were so welcoming. The kitchen is perfect for a group dinner, the accommodation were so comfortable and the location was perfect. When I go back to Portugal in 2014 for Boom I was absolutely be heading right back here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebrabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 199 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

The location is excellent and their garden is superb - we enjoyed taking a stroll after our breakfast. The rooms are basic and full of character and the breakfast also basic but of good quality. Pavlov the hostel's dog is sooo cute and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldrin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and really loved Sintra and will go back when we can make the time. This hostel was peaceful. Admittedly, we were the only guests there during our stay but I really liked the ambience of the place. It has its own grounds, a lovable dog that followed us about (especially during breakfast) and a nicely decorated living room to chill out in. The kitchen is a farmhouse style kitchen, which appealed to me. The location is a short bus ride from the town centre otherwise you can walk there in about 15 minutes, passing the Quinta da Regaleira along the way. Really good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RujGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Almaa Sintra hostel is like a boutique hostel ! More charm and elegance and beauty then you can imagine for the price. Joao and staff are superb, real true and kind people with lots of wonderful advice and love for what they are doing at the hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greggfamilytravelsbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I spent a fantastic week at the Almaa Hostel. A really lovely location and fantastic staff. Warm and welcoming and exactly what you need.

Sintra is a beautiful town and full of places to explore & eat.

I am definately going back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnabyPickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

An impromptu visit to Almaa had us wishing for more time in Portugal. We didn't get to stay here, just had a picnic lunch with our guide Sofia and Jerome was so hsopitable in the drenching rain.showed us through. We all had lunch together in the huge farmhouse style kitchen, you know the sort, everyone wants to sit around and chat....How we wanted to stay!! Beautiful decor, no excess just perfect. Extremely clean and gorgeous grounds/gardens.
If you get a chance is worth a visit. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I loved our stay. The staff are friendly, hospitable, and very, very flexible. We felt really at home while there. The place is authentic and beautifully decorated without any excess. There is a big kitchen where groups of people can gather, cook together, bond, etc. The surroundings are beautiful, everything is clean, etc. I think they even grow their own food, which is fantastic. It is so great to stay in place that follows the zero footprint and sustainability philosophy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best view. There is one room on the second floor which has its own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadejda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
2.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nice Way Sintra
Nice Way Sintra
#7 of 32 in Sintra
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moon Hill Hostel
Moon Hill Hostel
#1 of 32 in Sintra
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portuguese Hostel
Portuguese Hostel
#12 of 32 in Sintra
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almaa Sintra Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almaa Sintra Hostel

Address: Caminho dos Frades | Quinta dos Lobos, Sintra 2710-560, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Price Range: $18 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almáa Sintra Hostel is a retreat center and an Eco Hostel located in the heart of the Sintra Mountain Range which cultural landscape is classified by Unesco as a World Heritage Site. Our house is sited in a property considered the oldest in Sintra, dated back to the 12st century, with 3,5 ha of luxurious gardens. We offer private and shared rooms in a heavenly environment. The Hostel was named Almáa, which means "The Water" in Arabic, due to the influence of the moors in this region and the fantastic natural spring water that supplies the house, and waters the gardens. "Alma" also means soul in some Latin languages. Our beliefs in sustainability and in helping one another, made us manufacture our furniture with recycled materials done by local artists with the help of third sector entities (charities, voluntary organizations and social enterprises) that are also our main suppliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Almaa Sintra Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing