We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return when in sintra”
Review of Nice Way Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nice Way Sintra
Ranked #7 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Great spirit - very welcoming. It felt like you're part of a family. The garden is truly amazing specially in the evening for some chilling out after a day of walking up n down the mountain. Price of en suite room might be a tad too pricey but will definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeStitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 215 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for a romantic night in sintra, friendly staff and a good room. The room was basic but everything was there that was needed and clean. The view from our window was amazing overlooking the castle and the palace in the mountains. The common area with kitchen was also clean and complete (even though we did not use it). The garden was very nice and relaxing for a drink after a long walk.

When travelling by car its a bit of a walk (uphill) from the parking lot to the hotel (tip: drop bags first then park car...speaking from first hand experience here) its also a bit of a walk to the station. But the quality of the place makes up for this.

Great place to sleep on a budget in sintra....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay in a beautiful town.We requested the double room with the dancing couple painted on the wall and it was in the turret with views of the castle.Perfect.
The hostel is in a lovely old building with a large garden with relaxation areas.
The staff were very helpful and we were able to leave our luggage with them after we checked out. It is in a quiet area close to everything .Do not miss Quinta de Regalia,we spent several hours there on our second day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozvalAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I really liked the place and the staff. My husband screwed up the reservation and they made it right. We came a day early. Pedro couldn't help us enough. He gave us good advice for seeing the sights. Sintra has many amazing sights for such a small town. The Scottish guy ( I feel bad because I forgot his name.) will make you a great dinner for a reasonable price. Always a good way to sit with other hosteleros and make friends or get advice about travel. The view from our room was incredible.

Only one negative thing. Because of my husbands screw up we stayed the first night in a dorm room but we did not have to share it. The only bad thing was one bed was VERY squeaky. We just had to switch to another bed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillflaningam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Where do I begin. Definitely the best hostel/b&b/guest house I've ever been! From the start the staff was really nice and helpful. Nice way is right next to the historical center of Sintra so the location is almost perfect. Rooms are in good shape and the view from the six bed dorm is stunning. We planned to stay there couple nights at first, but almost right away decided to stay four instead. We got a lot of good advises from the staff about where to go surfing, sightseeing etc. We went exploring the northern Portugal for almost a week and when we returned we were welcomed back with warm hugs!
Breakfast is OK and the kitchen is really good for cooking if you want to make your own lunch/dinner.
If I had to complain about something, there's only a one thing, and that is water pressure in the shower and the toilet booths are small. But that's only if I have to be pedantic.
If and when I return to Portugal, this is the place I will come back for sure!

Room Tip: Six bed dorm has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenriSuopanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A very nice hostel with clean rooms and a very friendly and helpful staff. A nice yard with great views of Sintra. It is a bit of a long uphill trip uphill from the train station in Sintra but well worth it once you get there. A perfect spot to enjoy the many wonders of Sintra. Sorry we only had 2 nights to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Nice hostel with excellent young stuff. Nice old building with uniquely decorated rooms, very attractive. Modern combined with old. Parking seemed difficult but at last we could park on the street 50 m from the hostel (free). Rooms are big (no aircon, maybe not needed ), with or without bathroom (clean). Breakfast included (simple) which was OK, I guess it is quite difficult to buy food nearby in the morning.There is a common living room, where you may chat with other travelers or read, play board games. Nice garden. Whole Sintra has very steep narrow roads, consider if you have walking difficulties or baby carriage with you, location is very central.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisztaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
350 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moon Hill Hostel
Moon Hill Hostel
#2 of 33 in Sintra
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almaa Sintra Hostel
Almaa Sintra Hostel
#1 of 33 in Sintra
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Way Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Way Sintra

Address: Rua Soto Maior 22, Sintra 2710-628, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Sintra
Price Range: $32 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice Way Sintra is set in a picturesque ancient palace in the heart of Sintra. The hostel is a 5 minute walk from the Historic Center and is intended to make you feel at home. We have private and shared accommodations at great prices. All rooms are personalized with spectacular sights over Sintra Mountains. You will find comfortable beds, lockers, power outlets and hot showers on every floor. We have a fully equipped kitchen, free Wi-Fi and a cozy living room that opens to a wonderful garden. Breakfast is included! We guarantee cleanliness, professionalism and a unique experience! Our staff is local, young and knowledgeable and can offer recommendations on the best places to visit, events, organized tours, restaurants and other activities. Our location, comfort and atmosphere will fulfill you with magical moments in Sintra. We are at your disposal to provide you an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nice Way Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing