We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay in Sintra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa
Ranked #4 of 43 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Villa Mira Longa was the highlight of our Portugal trip. Not only is the property beautiful but it has wonderful views of the town, palaces and ocean, and is very central to all the local attractions. Michel was kind enough to highlight routes for myself and my travelling companion that saved us a LOT of unnecessary uphill hiking. The breakfast was amazing - fresh bread, cereal, meats, delicious cheeses and spreads, local pastries and freshly squeezed orange juice (the orange cake was fabulous!!). What struck me most about our stay was the wonderful service our hosts provided to us. My friend and I had been back-packing through Spain and Portugal and booked Villa Mira Longa for a night near the end of our trip. By this point we must have stuck out like sore thumbs compared to the other guests who appeared older (we are both 23), more affluent, and likely had more consistent access to hot showers. Not once did Michel or Oséias acknowledge any difference between ourselves and the other guests - in fact we were offered the terrace table for breakfast in the morning! This was a lovely surprise. I will definitely be recommending this place to any friends or colleagues planning a trip to Portugal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren_Link
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

Villa Mira Longa is as comfortable as it is beautiful as well as being a few minutes walk from the historical town center. Michel, the proprietor, is kind and gracious and looks after his guests well, along with his well mannered Golden Retriever. The sites of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace are just a hearty walk away and the views from the inn are spectacular. Michel serves a fabulous breakfast to get you started for the day and even if you don't want to do anything at all you can relax on the terrace or wander in the gardens that match the beauty of the house.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This B&B is wonderful. We received a very warm welcome, and were thrilled with our room. It was large, beautifully furnished and absolutely spotless. Fresh flowers and chocolates were a lovely and welcome addition.

The location is perfect, within walking distance of everything you'd want to see. Very quiet at night, and beautiful views of the countryside with the ocean in the distance.

The gardens are gorgeous and beautifully kept. Breakfast was delicious, with a wide variety of meats, cheeses, fruit and breads. Also a homemade orange cake, which is a must try.

If you're going to stay in Sintra, this is where you want to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodFan1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We went to this inn because of the tripadvisor reviews were so good, and they are all true! Michele and Oasia are excellent hosts, we had a beautiful room and adjoining bath that were recently renovated and overlooked their gorgeous formal garden and Sintra. The breakfast was awesome, and so elegantly layed out in their dining room. Do not hesitate to stay here. The parking was a little scary as you just park on the street across from the inn, and it's on a blind curve. But don't let that deter you from staying here.
And a word of caution that has nothing to do with this inn. My husband and I were robbed in Nazare, Portugal when we got out to take a picture for 10 minutes. They stole our bags right out of our car's locked trunk! They had an electronic mechanism that unlocks your car, they just helped themselves to our bags. Do not leave anything in your car, or leave the car unattended with items inside.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was great. Had a small kitchen with fridge we could use outside of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I really can't add to all the wonderful comments by other reviewers. The house Vila Mira Longa, the view, Michel and Oséias' patience, assistance, and attention to detail are incredible, outstanding, extraordinary! I stayed here 2 years ago when there were only 2 rooms. Wonderful to know that with more rooms and more years, the friendly atmosphere and care have not diminished.

I traveled with my mother for 2 weeks around Portugal staying in Pousadas, small B&B's, farmhouses, and guesthouses. Ending the stay here was the icing on the cake. Don't miss this place if you are coming to Sintra. Plan to spend time at breakfast. Don't rush it!

Hard to choose "What sort of trip was this?" Since I stayed 3 nights with my mother, 2 nights alone and one night with S.O. All good.

Room Tip: For anyone who has problems walking or climbing stairs, take the one room on the ground floor. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The most outstanding view, a very artistic and careful decoration of a beautiful house, totally restaured. Every detail was taken into consideration, every object is important and nothing was forgotten.
We were wonderfullly entertained, we were given all information required, everything was made easy for us. Nothing is lacking, you are given everything we can possibly imagine in a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you're visiting Portugal, Sintra is a MUST SEE. And Villa Mira Longa is the place you must stay. Because it's a little out of the way but easy to get to, is centrally located to all the places you'll want to visit, and the property is possibly the most charming labor of architectural rehabilitation you've seen.

You will gasp at the views from the porch or patio on a clear day. You will fall a little bit in love with Gadier the fluffy and sweet Labrador because he greats you every morning with a soft tail wag and gentle head butt. You will sleep deeply and soundly. And if you get one of the two rooms with a kitchenette, you can make your own dinner after shopping in one of the two tiny grocery stores in town.

But the best part of Villa Mira Longa is the people. The people you'll meet around the table. Michel's delightful sense of humor. Oseias' jaw-dropping renovation and design skills. And the breakfast. Rose makes this orange cake? Don't miss the orange cake.

I cannot recommend Villa Mira Longa highly enough.

Room Tip: The ground floor room has it's own entry and patio. For those looking for a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolyokeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.4 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
0.1 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa

Address: Estrada da Pena 04, Sintra 2710-609, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range: $115 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1898, the Bed & Breakfast - Villa Mira Longa is located in the historic center of Sintra, on the hillside, with a breathtaking view over the historic center, the National Palace, the ocean and the Moorish Castle. The Villa offers: On the ground floor a Standard double room with private bathroom with Garden view (Buffet breakfast included) for 2 persons. On the ground floor (side of the garden) a Estudio-Suite with kitchenette fully equipped and private bathroom. Also a little terrace.( The entrance is independent of the main house) (Buffet breakfast included). On the first floor a Junior Suite with private bathroom, view to historic center and Ocean. (Buffet breakfast included)) for 2 persons. On the top floor two bedroom ensuite ( Superior quadruple room) with private bathroom (Buffet breakfast included). For 3 to 4 persons. On the top floor a Superior double room with private bathroom, view to historic center and Garden (For 2 persons. (Buffet breakfast included). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing