We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect...Perfect...Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa
Ranked #4 of 39 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect...Perfect...Perfect”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I could just write ditto!!! to all the wonderrful reviews of Villa Mira Longa but they deserve even more that five stars. We were met by Rosie upon our arrival and she gave us a tour and a primer on gettting around the property and the Sintra area. As others have said, the house has been wonderfully restored and is beautiful. We stayed for four nights. While I do not recall the name of the room, it is the one with a seperate entrance and has a small, but fully functioning kitchen. In fact, we ate at home on three concecutive evening and enjoyed the view over the Sintra region from our private balcony. We also made use of the wonderful produce in the farmstands and other regional deliights.

While we did not meet Michel during our stay, Oseias gave us great tips on making the best use of our time and suggestions on day trips surrounding Sintra. Breakfast were just what we were looking for. Bedding was very comfortable and the shower was top-notch.

I can't imagine a nicer located spot so close to Sintra Center. Good Job Michel, Oseias & Rosie.

Room Tip: The room iwth the kitchen gives great options
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chilidawg60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
120
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of enjoying two wonderful days at Villa Mira Longa. It turned out to be the perfect place from which to explore charming Sintra. It is situated less than 100 meters from the city center. It also only steps away from a bus stop from which you can easily reach the Palace and the Moorish Castle.

Michel an Oseias purchased the dwelling in 2007 and spent three years restoring it to its former grandeur. It is filled with interesting antiques and architectural details. They have succeeded in reviving its proud spirit and soul.

I stayed in the one bedroom apartment in the lower level. It is very serene and has a private entrance. The view of downtown and the ocean was fantastic. I also appreciated being so close to many good dining choices.

This place is an exceptional value.

Room Tip: Michel will pick you up at the Lisbon airport which is only 25 km from Sintra. The cost each way is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is honestly the best B&B I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. From the very warm welcome to the very comfortable beds to the lavish breakfast- this place is an absolute treat. We were given excellent advice on where to eat (and what to avoid) in Sintra and made to feel very welcome. The shower was just amazing, and the range of facilities provided to guests amazing. For example, they provided you with a whole hair drying kit- including diffuser, brush and curling irons! The rooms are decorated so beautifully and the view from the veranda is spectacular. It's set very slightly out of the tourist centre, but within a 5 minute walk to it, and the bus stop for the palace and castle is located just in front of the B&B. I can not recommend this place strongly enough- stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsatterley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I can't find any fault with the Mira Longa. It's a beautifully restored period property, equipped with every comfort and convenience. Set in a lovely garden, it's well located on the edge of the historic centre and on the bus route to Pena Palace. Owners are welcoming and informative. Breakfast is better than we've had in expensive hotels: lots of choice and beautifully presented.
Will definitely stay here again, next time we visit the Lisbon area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room, but I'd be surprised if the others aren't of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stottytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Villa Mira is an absolute gem! The owners have restored the house so beautifully that it almost seems like you are stepping into a fairy-tale! Michel and Oseias went above and beyond making us feel welcome and because it was Valentine's Day when we arrived they decorated our room and left rose petals, a box of chocolates fruit and wine. The views from the house are stunning. I would highly recommend a stay in this beautiful property. Thank you Michel and Oseias for making our stay extremely special :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yv0nnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Michel and Oseias are fantastic hosts. Their home is beautiful and the location is convenient to walk to Sintra's major sites. There is a beautiful view from the porch over the town and all the way to the ocean. Our room was spacious and comfortable with all the extra amenities (hair dryer, bottled water, robes, etc.) that one could need. Breakfast was excellent - a selection of breads, hams, cheeses, fruit and coffee. Terrific value and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eca5416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A charming retreat in a magical town. Perched up on a hill overlooking Sintra, Villa Mira Longa is easy to spot against the dark green hills. We arrived in Sintra via train. Took the bus from the train station to city center. From the bus stop it was a fairly short walk to the B&B. ( when you exit the bus, go to your left and look for a flight of steps leading up to the next road, that is the short cut to walk to the B&B). We had the garden room. Large windows open out to the beautiful gardens, The room was nice size, clean, and decorated with style. The adjoining bathroom was equally clean and well decorated. The rest of the property was beautiful. The front porch and deck both had amazing views, both during the day and in the evening. The furniture and antiques were lovely. We enjoyed speaking with Michel. He not only had a wonderful breakfast set for us in the morning, but was also great with recommendations on what to do and see in the area. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
0.1 mi away
Sintra 1012 Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa

Property: Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa
Address: Estrada da Pena 04, Sintra 2710-609, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1898, the Bed & Breakfast - Villa Mira Longa is located in the historic center of Sintra, on the hillside, with a breathtaking view over the historic center, the National Palace, the ocean and the Moorish Castle. The Villa offers: On the ground floor a Standard double room with private bathroom with Garden view (Buffet breakfast included) for 2 persons. On the ground floor (side of the garden) a Estudio-Suite with kitchenette fully equipped and private bathroom. Also a little terrace.( The entrance is independent of the main house) (Buffet breakfast included). On the first floor a Junior Suite with private bathroom, view to historic center and Ocean. (Buffet breakfast included)) for 2 persons. On the top floor two bedroom ensuite ( Superior quadruple room) with private bathroom (Buffet breakfast included). For 3 to 4 persons. On the top floor a Superior double room with private bathroom, view to historic center and Garden (For 2 persons. (Buffet breakfast included). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing