We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic fairytale Villa in the heart of magical Sintra!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa
Ranked #4 of 42 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Majestic fairytale Villa in the heart of magical Sintra!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Arriving after midnight from a very long flight we were greeted by Oseias and Michel as if it were in the morning. They took the time , even at that hour to show us around and explain things to us.They also helped carry our heavy luggage up the stairs. We rented the 3 bedroom apartment (we were 2 adults and 2 children) on the top floor. The apartment was charming and had ample room for the four of us. All mods and cons were provided. The views from all the windows of beautiful Sintra were remarkable. No air conditioning but you found that you didn't really need it as Sintra is probably cooler than say Lisbon by approx 5-6 degrees. You are right in the centre of the historic centre so you are literally a few minutes away from all the shops and restaurants but yet as you are situated up in the mountain, you do not experience any noise.We had a rental car with us and even though there was no parking on site, we had no problem parking the car on the street (even in the middle of summer).Oseias and Michel were always so helpful, informative and gracious and always gave good tips as to where to go etc..If you are travelling to Sintra, which is a must if you visit Portugal, then you must stay here.The villa itself has been immaculately restored by Oseias and Michel .The decor and attention to detail is divine and Oseias is quite the artisan, he makes all the curtains and bedheads and some of the artwork in the villa himself. The gardens are also immaculately attended to. Definately will be back again.Oh, and their beautiful golden retriever (who by the way was never a bother, I actually think my kids annoyed the dog more than anything) Gardier was lovely!

Room Tip: If you want spectacular views choose the 3 bed apt on the top floor. All other rooms are lovely too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
123
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Michel made us feel very welcome and was a wonderful host in this stunning B&B. We stayed in the flat / suite on the ground floor which probably doesn't have as good a view as the rooms on the higher floors do, but has a wonderful little private terrace. Everything about this B&B is immaculate and quality. Breakfast was excellent and served in a wonderful room full of antiques. Michel always had time to give us advice on good places to visit and eat. Simply divine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Do yourself a favour everyone, make this delightful B&B a definite stop on your travels around Portugal . Our only regret was not spending another few nights here. Michel & Oseias are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to make you welcome in their beautiful home. Their attention to detail is second to none & their restaurant & attraction tips spot on. They serve a 5 star breakfast in the beautifully decorated dining room every morning, with the added attraction of their lovely golden retriever who sits obediently at the door entrance looking in. Thankyou guys for a wonderful couple of nights we would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground floor bedroom which was beautiful , but if we were staying longer would prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

You cannot go wrong choosing this bed and Breakfast. The hosts were tremendously friendly and helpful. The whole villa was beautiful with a love and care that you would expect as if you were staying at someone's private home. Without hesitation i recommend this Villa for anyone seeking a magical stay in a fairytale like town

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

In early august my family and I rented the 3 bed apartment at the top of the villa for 5 nights. We really did not want to leave! The apartment itself was fantastic, very comfortable with great views and a fully equipped kitchen. The hosts michel and odeios went out of their way to make us feel welcome, gave great tips about where to go and what to see in sintra, drank wine with us and generally discussed life! Sintra is a must see town in portugal. It was a good temperature, even in the hottest part is summer, is bursting with castles and palaces, is a 15 minute drive from parks and beaches and a half hour direct train to lisbon. There are buses which go to various popular sights, but we rented a car and enjoyed the extra freedom. The villa is a two minute walk to the town, and is what we thought, the best located house in sintra!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian in España
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and son and I spent three wonderful days in this fantastic old house overlooking historic Sintra, the amenities and room we had were perfect not to mention how great our hosts treated us. I would highly recommend this place instead of staying in a normal hotel and the ambiance of staying there adds to the fantastic Sintra experience . We had breakfast on the veranda every morning overlooking the old town and could see all the way to the ocean. It was magical, the place was spotless and they allowed our dog to stay and let her wander there magnificent gardens. A absolutely great experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petermcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed 5 persons 8 nights i july in the self catering apartment on the top floor. We had a great time, and it is a wonderful place with an amazing view over the old part of Sintra, and very nice and kind hosts.
Only drawbacks is a noisy bar just down the street, and one of the bedrooms and bathrooms have low slanted roof beams where you hit your head if you're not careful. And the hot water is a bit capricious.
But everything else was perfect, and we would be very happy to come back, and recommend the place to anyone who are tired of boring standard hotel rooms. The house is 5 minutes walk from the historic towncentre, on a steep hill, but then everything in Sintra is on steep hills.
There is no air condition on the top floor, and we worried a bit about that, but it turned out not to be a problem. The bedrooms have windows on 2 sides, and since nights in Sintra generally are cool with a breeze, even in the end of july, we didn't miss it.
The beds are very good and firm, perfect for people with back problems.
All in all a happy stay in a lovely place, with good value for money. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonaHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
0.4 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#7 of 42 in Sintra
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa

Property: Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa
Address: Estrada da Pena 04, Sintra 2710-609, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1898, the Bed & Breakfast - Villa Mira Longa is located in the historic center of Sintra, on the hillside, with a breathtaking view over the historic center, the National Palace, the ocean and the Moorish Castle. The Villa offers: On the ground floor a Standard double room with private bathroom with Garden view (Buffet breakfast included) for 2 persons. On the ground floor (side of the garden) a Estudio-Suite with kitchenette fully equipped and private bathroom. Also a little terrace.( The entrance is independent of the main house) (Buffet breakfast included). On the first floor a Junior Suite with private bathroom, view to historic center and Ocean. (Buffet breakfast included)) for 2 persons. On the top floor two bedroom ensuite ( Superior quadruple room) with private bathroom (Buffet breakfast included). For 3 to 4 persons. On the top floor a Superior double room with private bathroom, view to historic center and Garden (For 2 persons. (Buffet breakfast included). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing