We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay again (and bring a sound machine)”
Review of Sintra Bliss House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sintra Bliss House
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I'd stay again (and bring a sound machine)”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Terrific breakfast & attendant on the lower level. The young & hip desk staff went out of their way to be helpful and spoke excellent English. Other guests were interesting & from many countries. This is a renovated/gutted old building that now is very modern inside and has 4+ guest rooms on each floor with an open central stair/elevator that is open all floors to the lobby & lower level. This open staircase makes it loud, and walls between rooms must not be very insulated. Ask for a room not next to other travellers if the hotel is not full. A noise machine would cover it, or a small fan. Excellent location, the main bus to Moorish ruins/castles goes right by in front. Super little restaurants within 2 blks/easy walking. The modern decor was pleasant, comfy beds. Lighting in bath and desk area too dim. Two 1/2 days in Sintra was not enough! What a charming place. Easy walk to train station, train ride to Lisbon under an hour. We had a triple, and that worked out well (other than the husband's snoring--I am used to it, daughter #1 was NOT). View out the back was GREAT, ask for a courtyard garden view. Also, it rains a lot in November. :)-

Room Tip: garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoannaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    118
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
163
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Sintra Bliss House is a simple, new boutique hotel very well situated for both the train station and all the attractions of Sintra. The hotel has a nice, clean, modern look with a stylish design aesthetic. All the staff, both front and back of house were professional, warm, friendly and helpful and this was a highlight of our stay. The hotel was scrupulously clean. At breakfast, along with the usual continental selections, was a lovely selection of Portuguese sweets and cakes. A nice touch was a coffee machine near the library with delicious biscuits.

Vegetarian food in Portugal is not very easy to find! However, there are few places in Sintra itself that served one or two dishes. We went into Lisbon on a couple of evenings to have a little more choice. There are a few completely vegetarian restaurants there, although quite a lot of regular restaurants have a vegetarian choice. We went to 'Vegetarian Restaurante PSI' which had provided food for the Dalai Lama on his visit to Lisbon.

Sintra is amazing and beautiful and we walked around all the main sites (catch a bus up to the distant places from outside the railway station). We hired a couple of bicycles and cycled around Sintra and then down to Cascais on the coast through a wonderful bike hire company called: 'Cycling Rentals' (it was a bit difficult to find as they're still awaiting permission to put up a sign): http://www.cycling-rentals.com/daytrips/trip/50. We were provided with bikes, maps, and excellent recommendations. Through this tour we managed to visit the Convento dos Capuchos - a wonderfully atmospheric place a bit beyond the usual tourist trail.

We intended to stay at the Sintra Bliss House for only three nights but decided to stay another as we were having a good time!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the first floor overlooking the courtyard. This was lovely and from the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Psychoalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This super modern renovated hotel was very clean well located and offered an excellent breakfast. The metal bathroom tiles gave it an industrial touch . Wifi access and helpful staff made it a plus. Walked to all locations.(even the castle). Restaurant recommendations were spot on. Excellent choice and value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vancouvermtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Perfect Location to walk everywhere you need to go. The place is very clean, new, modern and offers nice breakfast. Pedro at the front desk is warm and helpful!! Get a room over looking the courtyard.
We stayed one night and it was everything we wanted and needed. Except, if I recall, there was no shampoo, no lotion & no kleenex tissues. I will say, however, that did not spoil my stay but just an insignificant inconvenience. So make sure you have your own. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We like our room upstairs overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

There are a lot of good things about this hotel: it's new, a few minutes from the station, the rooms are well appointed and the staff are exceptionally helpful and nice.

But .... the walls are thinner than the skin on my teeth. We could hear every cough, sneeze and fart from the couple on our right. It felt like their television was inside my skull.

The noise problem doesn't mean that you should rule this place out as somewhere to say. The positives (everything apart from the thin walls) outweigh the negatives (the thin walls). But bring a good set of earplugs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misterpastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ourdoggizmo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was a highlight of our visit to Portugal. We knew that Sintra, just north of Lisbon was going to be a great place and it sure was. The Bliss House Hotel complimented our visit so much and I would highly recommend it.
The location is perfect. The young staff very helpful. Room and shower very modern and comfortable.
Breakfast was wonderful, fresh fruit along with all the usuals and a nice selection of local sweet things.
The street is one way and at night was completely quiet.
I would stay in Bliss/Sintra and avoid staying in Lisbon, (just take the train in to see Lisbon)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourdoggizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Sintra Bliss House was a huge and pleasant surprise. Newly opened -- 6 months, it is said -- all very modern decor inside what must have been an old building; judging from the surrounding buildings. Close to train station; 10 min. walk to Old Town; bus stop at front door. Didn't have a car, so parking was not a problem, but heard the receptionist go out to hold a parking space for an arriving guest, so there must be only street parking. Only ate at one restaurant in the two nights we were there -- because it was so good and close, too. Highly recommend it to any and all. My traveling friend and I agree that we'd go again, if we're ever in Portugal again.
Remember to bring a washcloth if you use one.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeimomiE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
354 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sintra Bliss House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sintra Bliss House

Property: Sintra Bliss House
Address: Rua Doutor Alfredo da Costa 15 17, Sintra 2710-524, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#5 Family Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sintra Bliss House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic centre of Sintra, Sintra Bliss House offers you a trendy accomodation.All rooms have a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, air-conditioned,work desk, and an en suite bathroom with hairdryer.Sintra Train Station is just 100 metres away and Sintra's National Palace is within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sintra Bliss House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sintra Bliss House Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing