We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went the extra mile”

Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant
Reserve with
Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 260 Restaurants in Sintra
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Went the extra mile”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our evening started when we bumped into the maitre d' outside and asked for a glass of wine before we sat down to dinner. He hadn't even opened up yet but he was very obliging and the wine was delicious.

After another glass we finally sat down to dinner and were made to feel very special. The maitre d' was very knowledgeable and the kitchen was very accommodating - allowing for combinations of courses by allow us to substitute certain ingredients for others!

All in all a great night in a great hotel with great company eating great food being served by a great maitre d'!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamesHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    85
    26
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My birthday dinner was perfect with my husband in a romantic and cosy ambiance in Sintra .
The food is fantastic and the menu changes frequently

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana-Rita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not a must”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I was in the hotel and choose to dine here following the Lonely Planet, however the advise turned to be wrong.
The restaurant is not as romantic as described, the two waiters were absolutely chaotic and didn't pay attention to basic things such as how to serve the wine (served as a coke). Food was fine, expensive but fine. Summary: there are other places, perhaps less known, but much more worthwhile.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Lorenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice garden”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wante to have lunch here as we had read some great reviews, I was a bit disappointed, the food was average, but I found it quite epensive. It was a nice garden to sit and have lunch in though and that I would recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TranquilNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fine dining but a less than memorable meal”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The restaurant is lovely, very classy with fine linen and china. We found the waiter to be on his dignity and not very friendly, although a young woman server was sweet and attentive. We expected the meal to be pricey but memorable. It was pricey, but the food was not what one would expect and we were disappointed after having read high recommendations for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Lawrence's Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing