We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Park and National Palace of Pena
from $15.73
More Info
from $64.03
More Info
from $66.27
More Info
from $41.00
More Info
Reviews (17,661)
Filter reviews
17,661 results
Traveler rating
10,587
4,689
1,461
516
408
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10,587
4,689
1,461
516
408
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus moorish castle high cross wall walk day trip main entrance tuk tuk steep walk buy tickets rossio station national palace of pena ticket office amazing views hill queue architecture lisbon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 17,661 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pena Palace is no doubt a spectacle. However we much preferred Quinta da Regaleira and Morrs Castle for the overall experience.

Pena Palace gets very busy and that seems to take away from the atmosphere. It really does feel like a tourist trap from the moment you enter.

Its worth buying the ticket online to save queuing, you then use the e-ticket which can be scanned from your phone.

When we visited on a Monday the queue (by 11am) for the Palace rooms was all the way back to where the shuttle bus was dropping people off. We decided to avoid it even though we had paid for a joint Palace and Park ticket. We couldn't quite believe people were waiting in such a ridiculously long queue!! We wondered if maybe people had thought the queue was for the attraction in general rather than the Palace rooms specifically (as that isn't made clear until near the front of the queue). So be careful of that!

We walked up next to the queue to eventually reach the terraces and walls surrounding the Palace. To us this was what was special about Pena Palace... the colours, the architecture and the views. So unless you are really interested in the rooms inside, I would save your money and time.

We explored the gardens in the direction of the High Cross. This was a tranquil walk, however the High Cross did not provide the views we expected as the trees are quite overgrown and obstruct the view of the Palace.

All in all I am not sure I would recommend Pena Palace above some of the others in Sintra. Unless you plan the trip well and are very efficient with your time here.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank harriethill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got on the Urban Train at Rossio stn , The station looks like a shopping mall but look carefully through the arches and you will see two escalators and to the right of them a TV screen with the times and places the trains will take you there , I got the 07:41 to Sintra and i used my Prepaid Viva Viagem card or a return is 4:50 euros (Sept 2019 prices) a single is 2:25 Euros ..
The train itself , on the outside was covered in Graffiti , Which is a shame, and the trip lasts approx 40 mins and there are no toilets aboard , The views from the train are nothing much as it seems to go through the poor parts of Lisbon .
When you get out of Sintra Stn turn right and head to Bus 434 stop (follow other tourists ) with heading on bus Palacio Nacional de Pena . As it makes it way up which takes approx 15 mins the roads are very steep and crowded , It drops you right outside . I did have to stand so hang on tight ..
I had a pre paid ticket through web site called Klook saved £2 as well , To buy tickets there it gets very busy but not long to queue with pre paid about 5 mins , You follow the steep path up to the Palace which takes approx 10 mins once in you get great views of the park & the countryside around it , The Palace itself in side was beautiful , It had plaques telling you who lived there and the years in which they were there . There was plenty of memorabilia on show as well . No photos allowed inside Palace.
The outside with it`s different coloured turrets and main buildings were striking and as you climb the many steps of different viewpoints the views were even more breathtaking .
I had a cup of tea and a rest , With toilets as well the Palace is a must see .
It does get very busy ! Go early , It is steep in some parts so flat shoes a must .

The Gardens were nice i viewed the Lakes and the Chalet , The chalet was in the West part of the grounds and was the Countess of Edla own private space in the 19th Century , You go into the Chalet and on a table inside were leaflets in your language telling you about the Chalet but also there are plaques telling you about it , With plenty of artifacts on display as well . The whole grounds to walk around is vast,It took me 25 approx to find the West Part of the Grounds but there is a small trolley bus that will take you round stopping off at different sites .
Places to sit down as well and look out for the Stables and the Pena Farm yard as well .
Overall a lovely place to visit ....

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived Monday at 10am. The line for tickets was 15 minutes BUT the line to get into the palace interior was an hour. Thankfully it was not hot. The Skip the Line ticket did NOT allow us to skip that lineup.

The exterior is a lot more beautiful but the history in the interior was interesting. Fully furnished unlike the Moorish castle which is just a ruin.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Peter_K_B_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Bus in sintra is quite expensive comparing to the transportation in Lisbon (6 euro for return)
For the entrance ticket, it’s ok to just buy the “park” (7.5 euro) and you can walk around the park and the outside of the palace, Terrance and the tower which is the best part of the Pena palace
Paying 6.5 euro more ( in total 14 euro) , you can get inside the palace, but it’s not so interesting, a bit boring too

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank davidCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had been here about 15 years ago and had been charmed by Pena Palace and it’s interesting architecture. Fast forward to 2019 and it was a different experience. The bus to the Palace is now difficult to get on due to the number of tourists. The Palace was overrun with selfie taking, rather rude people. Inside the Palace tour is simply standing behind various plastic dividers, taking a quick look, then moving on for the people in line behind you. The parapets were “crawling” with people. It was hard to see the architecture due to the number of people.

We enjoyed the Quinta da Regaleira much, much more. I would recommend giving Pena Palace a pass.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank ruth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews