We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful exterior”

Park and National Palace of Pena
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.36*
and up
Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon
Ranked #2 of 69 things to do in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful exterior”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Loved how colorful the palace was. Really great place to take awesome photos.

We paid extra 3 euros for the bus ride up the hill and another 3 euros to go inside. In hindsight, I would not have paid it was the bus ride was short and the walk isn't far. The inside of the castle wasn't that impressive.

Definitely pay to go on to the terraces and the "park".

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,945
    2,855
    723
    192
    94
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great Views and Neat Palace”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The palace is on top of a hill and you will need to hike up several km or take a bus. You can buy admission tickets at Pena palace, if are going to see any other attractions you can get the tickets at the same time and get a %20 discount. You might be able to by the tickets at the Palace in the town but I am not sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToddMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A museum and a Palace”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This palace was the best I have ever been to. How often do you get to visit a palace that is fully furnished? There were a lot of details in every room from the top of the ceilings down to the floor coverings. Be careful, the place gets very busy as the day advances. I don't know what time the ticket office opens but note that there is a small decrease in price for going early. This price reduction maybe from 9:30 P.M. till 10:30 P.M. If my memory is correct. From the town of Sintra, I agree with a previous writer to get a group and go up in a cab. We did not do this since we hired a taxi from Cadiz. You will need to take the trolley up to the palace from the ticket station and return that way since they do not allow cars.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank liveoak_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view and beautiful exterior and garden”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We came to Pena palace in the early morning as it opened before the bus loads of tourists arrived. The drive up to the palace was foggy and when we walked to the top, the sun came out. The view was breath taking from the top, with the low foggy clouds beneath. I can't imagine heaven being much better than that.

The exterior of the palace: the bright colours and intricate tiles and the garden were beautiful. The interior was not as well maintained and were dark and dingy in some places. But it was well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Minh-Tam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fairly modern palace - interesting but not spectacular”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is interesting in that it is a fairly recent palace, it almost appears 'Disneyfied'. The rooms are nicely preserved but I was not overwhelmed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexTiredDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park and National Palace of Pena also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Park and National Palace of Pena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing