We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very picturesque”

Park and National Palace of Pena
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.10*
and up
Private Sintra Tour from Lisbon with Wine Tasting and Pena Palace
More Info
$80.94*
and up
Lisbon Super Saver: City Tour by Minivan Including Tastings and Half Day Sintra...
More Info
$76.25*
and up
Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon
Ranked #2 of 70 things to do in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very picturesque”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The castle is composed of different era of construction as depicted by the different colours. It was very picturesque with great views. Note, you can only see the Castelo dos Mouros from one side.

If you get hungry, there is also a cafeteria there which sells food and drinks for a reasonable price together with a sit down table area.

If you start your day tour early from Lisbon and take the public bus (that loops from the station to town, then Costelo dos Mouros before Palacio Nacional da Pena and returning to town and then the train station) you'll have plenty of time to venture Pena park as well which is included in the entrance fee.

Word of warning, take it easy heading up to the entrance of Palaicio Nacional da Pena as it's a relatively steep climb. If the going gets tough, think of the beauty that is awaiting you and also it'll be a great walk back down to the bus. :)

Enjoy.

P.S. See my review of Costelo dos Mouros for comments about the weather.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gstf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,245
    2,986
    771
    206
    103
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Don't miss it”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in Sintra early Nov. 2013 for 6 days and were blessed with fantastic weather. Of all the sights we saw, Pena Palace was the most amazing, with the Moorish Castle number 2. Pens, is huge, whimsical, and fascinating. Highly recommend you see these two on a combined ticket. They are extremely different. wear shoes with good, thick soled, for comfort.Take the bus 434 from outside the tourism office in historical Sintra , or the train station, or San Pedro. Pay the driver the 5 euros for a one way round ticket. We also walked up there via the path to the Moorish Castle, but it is steep. If you have time Monserrate is a pleasant, but much smaller venue. It can be reached by the bus 435 for 2 euros return. Monserrate is famous for its gardens, but Prna's are more extensive and probably better. Enjoy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobandTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Something unique”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a mock medieval castle, worth visiting because of the spectacular views from different angles. Be prepared to climb a lot, so at the entrance you better take the transfer bus which, for 2 euros, will take you up to the palace (still leaving plenty of possibilities of climbing up and down). If you want to also visit the Castelo dos Mouros be warned that taxis are only available in front of Pena (and not from the Mouros). We made the mistake of going first to Pena, walked down to the Mouros and had to wait for a bus to take us back to Pena in order to get a taxi. However, it was fun.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robicsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Go for the views, if not for the exquisitely decorated interior!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a beautiful sunny day in November, which really highlighted the amazing colours in this palace. Absolutely stunning views from the upper terraces of the palace, and it is uniquely pleasing to the eye from both the exterior and interior. We had a day in Sintra and also did Quinta da Regaleira (do NOT miss it) and Castelo dos Mouros. We spent the least time visiting Pena Palace - we breezed through the interior (which is absolutely exquisitely decorated/furnished) mainly because that isn't our particular interest and it was quite crowded even in the low season. Instead I preferred viewing the palace's exterior which is very unique. Definitely worth visiting if you have time, but I'd recommend Quinta da Regaleira and Castelo dos Mouros over Pena if you have to choose.

Helpful?
Thank pesti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a great place to visit! so colorful and beautiful with an amazing view! we had a wonderful time here and I absolutely recommend it! The downside is that it's very crowded... specifically the inside of the castle, which is super crowded. we spend a little over and hour here and could have probably stayed longer if we had the time but we were on a full day tour and didn't want to miss out on the seeing the other sites on our list.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tarams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park and National Palace of Pena also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Park and National Palace of Pena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing