We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little summer cabin royal style”

Park and National Palace of Pena
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.10*
and up
Private Sintra Tour from Lisbon with Wine Tasting and Pena Palace
More Info
$80.94*
and up
Lisbon Super Saver: City Tour by Minivan Including Tastings and Half Day Sintra...
More Info
$76.25*
and up
Sintra and Cascais Small-Group Day Trip from Lisbon
Ranked #2 of 70 things to do in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Wynantskill, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little summer cabin royal style”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

First - it is a huge hike to this site from town. We had a car and felt lucky as we climbed the switchbacks and hills to reach the entrance to the Palace. What was touted as a 45 minitue walk was a serious hike - and although I could have managed it - I was happy we didn't. The other advice was pay the 2E to take the tram from the entrance to the palace. Again - so worth it. Sintra is a big walking town and just that little break made a huge difference and was money WELL spent.

The Palace is really beautiful. Great sights, great views, great archuitectural details, easy self guided walk through the rooms giving a slight insight to the Royals that summered here on the breezy slopes of Sintra. I really enjoyed this visit - a must see, along with it's sister the adjacent Moorish castle (more of a fortress now)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcbart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,245
    2,986
    771
    206
    103
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Best viewed from a distance”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Whilst it can be amusing and entertaining to see car-crash architecture, this concatenation of concrete is in poor condition - and so the disneyfication (which looks quite fun in the distance) is as sad as a sixties shopping centre up close.
Still, monuments to bad taste and excess can be worth seeing inside, you think? Only if you enjoy the muggy shuffle of a long, camera-clicking queue ...
And what about the poor visitor facilities, the non-existent signage, the dour ticket inspectors, the price? I could go on.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a Palace”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

100 degree weather, 5 kids ages 10 to 15 years old, 79 year old aunt, 40 something adults all agreed it was definitely worth the heat wave and climbing to see this beautiful palace. A fairy tale palace with beautiful views. One of the greatest attractions I have ever visited! The city of SIntra is beautiful. Worth seeing this palace and the Moorish castle! My only comment is if they had more funding, it would be great to see more information about the palace.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLMVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disney would love this place.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The original building was a monastery that was converted to a palace by the cousin of Bavaria's "Mad King" Ludwig, Prince Ferdinand. Although not the scale nor grandeur of any of Ludwig's castles it is worth the trip up the hill to view the palace and to enjoy the vistas and gardens. It is a fairly modern royal palace being completed late 1800's. it was an enjoyable day when connected with the Moorish Castle.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fairytale castle”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went to see this fairytale castle - which is amazing in all the different styles of architecture, but also fascinating to explore. We loved to walk around in the castle and on to the different balconies - the views from the castle are more than fantastic. Bring children to this castle - they will love it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greve2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park and National Palace of Pena also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Park and National Palace of Pena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing