We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly romantic place with great staff and location”
Review of Lawrence's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lawrence's Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazingly romantic place with great staff and location”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We got married at Lawrence's Hotel and it was an amazing experience! All their staff was very competent, attentive and nice. They were concerned with every minor detail and very supportive and efficient in a moment that is usually quite stressful for every bride! The food and service was also amazing. I couldn't have had a better day and would strongly recommend it to every couple who wishes to get married in a magical place with a complete support from the Hotel staff that took care of everything!
The Hotel itself is very charming and romantic. Every room is carefully decorated and takes you into another time and place. The bedroom was quite spacious, clean and comfortable. Loved the bed and mattress! The bathroom was also big, had a nice bathtub, and it was overall quite charming.
The Hotel is minutes away (walking) from the centre of Sintra and Quinta da Regaleira which are delightful places to visit. Both Sintra and the Lawrence's Hotel have an old charm and romantic vibe and are widely mentioned by writers over the years! I would strongly recommend it not only for a special moment, such as a wedding, but also to everyone who wants to live a bit of the dream since the whole place seems out of a fairy tale.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Ricardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    79
    41
    18
    10
See reviews for
28
185
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in Lawrence's hotel during our visit to beautiful Sintra. The room and bathroom were both very large, clean, and cozy. The location is perfect as it is within walking distance to the center of town. Our room had a balcony that overlooked a tree filled forest which was so peaceful and exactly what we needed after a long day of sightseeing among other tourists. We enjoyed our stay so much that we wanted to extend our visit a few more days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mern28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crail, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Old hotel with character in a great location for exploring Sintra. We stayed with another couple and both rooms were of a good size. Bathrooms were fine with showers in the bath rather than separate cubicles.
There are several small public sitting areas which were quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is buffet style. The choice of a cooked breakfast was limited to a few rashers of bacon and some rubbery scrambled eggs. The cold selection was better with cereal, cold meats and cheese but was by no means extensive.
Neither of our rooms had a safe that worked and one room had a non-flushing toilet, a problem which was soon rectified. Internet access was free but only available in the conference room and was very slow.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor and above have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed two nights at Lawrence's hotel as part of a walking holiday. The hotel is well positioned only a short walk from the centre of town but quiet. It is rather dark and pokey inside. We were in the Jane Lawrence room which was double aspect and with a four poster bed. The mattress however was very hard. The ensuite bathroom was very dark and had seen better days. There was a huge three way crack in the sink that had been crudely patched up. Internet access was only accessible two floors down sitting in a dark area outside the conference room. Breakfast was adequate. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel is living off the past. It has a certain charm but doesn't really warrant it's 5 star ranking.

Room Tip: The Jane Lawrence room has an extra window but the mattress is very very hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Charming old world hotel, with a wonderful staff. We enjoyed three quiet nights at this establishment at the end of a 13 day trip to Spain and Portugal, and would highly recommend this hotel. Sintra is particularily enjoyable in the evening when all of the "day trippers" have returned to Lisboa, and one can wander through the tiny, curvy streets. We had two great dinners in the hotel restaurant, and truely enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts that this hotel provides. We were glad that we decided to use the Lawrence Hotel as our base to tour the Lisboa area, and hope to one day return on a future visit to Portugal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginge913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013. The location is excellent. Just out of the hustle and bustle of central Sintra but an easy 5 minute walk. The rooms each have a small balcony and have a leafy outlook. The atmosphere is lovely, romantic. The rooms were a good size, bed etc was comfortable. Very quiet. Staff at front desk were delightful. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJSueNewJerseyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We actually stayed here in November 2011. The atmosphere was certainly quaint, historic and romantic. The wood burning fireplace with tea and wine service was ideal for the chilly evenings. The breakfast was fantastic. However, we would not stay here again because we did not enjoy the most important part of any hotel stay: our sleep. The bed was really terrible. My spouse spent the rest of our trip with back pain because the mattress was so old and hard. The sheets were worn. The room overall had a foul odour. We could hear the front desk lady walk in her heels loudly down the halls.

Unless they've made room upgrades , especially the beds, don't stay the night.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on the same floor as the front desk. Walls are thin and you can hear everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keely P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
359 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrence's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrence's Hotel

Property: Lawrence's Hotel
Address: Rua Consiglieri Pedroso 38 40, Sintra 2710-550, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lawrence's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lawrence's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrences Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing