We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa da Pendoa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa da Pendoa
Ranked #5 of 38 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment in the first floor. The hotel is in the center of everything (restaurants, tourist office, bus stops, Sintra National Palace, etc). You take 2 min to the centre or bus stop to visit other sightseeings. Unluckily, the wifi is not so good. The bathroom is a little bit small and old.
Ideal for a small family( couple with one child) with everything to cook basic meals.
We recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    51
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
55
119
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I can‘t but confirm the negative impression of the last floor: the room is big but the floor is dirty, moisture on the walls and a dirty small old bathroom. good position and cheap but not a great value for money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lead_expression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed 1 night in this hotel. It's not very difficult to find as we did not drive, so we don't have parking problem. Surprisingly, there is a welcome basket. Here you have a bag of pasta, enough for 3 adult, a canned sardine, garlic, onion, Olivier oil, crackers and jam. You can cook this for dinner as there is no supermarket except near the train station.

The room is spacious. As we are on top floor, there is roof so my husband is not able to fully stand in some area near the window. But it's not a big problem. But if you are so tall more than 1.8m, please ask for not under the roof.

The location is good. You take 2 min to the centre. Or bus stop to visit other sightseeings.

Unluckily, the wifi is so bad. I don't know if it is caused by we stayed on top floor. The bathroom is a little bit small and old.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinStars_fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Except for our difficulty finding the hotel, everything was almost PERFECT! We stayed for 3 nights in the 4 bedroom with 2 baths, a full kitchen, and surprisingly, a washer! Their staff were very courteous and helpful. The gentleman even helped me parked our car! There is a free food basket that we found beneficial to start our day. The hotel is in the center of everything (restaurants, tourist office, bus stops, Sintra National Palace, etc). We are so happy we chose Casa da Pendoa and we will recommend it to friends!!! Thank you CDP!

Room Tip: Take the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMOVEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is located just behind the Tivoli at the City Centre on an extremely narrow road (for a city dweller like me) that is very difficult to navigate even in a small car. Once you get there, the place is quite nice. We had a 3 bedroom unit on the 2nd floor which was a bit too much for us (2 adults and a child) but the living room offered a view of the mountains and the gardens.

The good: quiet location, large spaces
The bad: musty odor in the apartment, very narrow road if you are coming by car.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in the four-bedroom suite for four nights in May. It is centrally located, but as others have mentioned, not easy to drive to. I suggest temporarily parking in front of the Hotel Tivoli and walking to the Pandoa - it is directly behind the Tivoli - in order to get your bearings. Alternatively, drive past the front of the Tivoli and make a three-point turn into the first street on the left. When this street splits (about 100 metres) keep left and you are on Rua Pandoa.

Four of us stayed in the unit, which is up one flight of stairs. We were enchanted by it. It is simple, tasteful, spacious (very spacious), and comfortable with updated washrooms and kitchen, and a terrific view. It felt like home. A one-minute walk puts you in the centre of town, yet there was no noise from the streets in the unit. Painting of the exterior of the Hotel Tivoli (across the street) was going on, which led to some noise during the day, but it was moderate and did not significantly detract from our visit.

If you want new, modern, full-service accommodations, this is not the place for you. If you like charm and don't mind slightly uneven floors or waiting for hot water to reach your tap, you will love this place.

Others have also mentioned the helpfulness and friendliness of David, the manager.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Casa da Pendoa is only about 100 metres from the main square of Sintra and is in a quiet, narrow street giving you the impression of being in a mountain village.
We arrived by car and our GPS couldn't cope with its position! David, the manager, had sent us instructions by email and after missing the turn off the first time we found it by asking a local for help. The main thing to remember is to turn right immediately you get to the main square - if you go straight ahead and reach the Turismo office you've gone too far! We were lucky enough to find parking in Rua da Pendoa, just a few steps from the apartment.

We had the studio apartment #5B. It was an attic studio with sloping ceilings (mind your head) and three windows, one of which had a spectacular view of the Moors' Castle up the top of the mountain. It was a very light and airy and charming space - minimalist in decor, comfortable beds, two armchairs and a coffee table, TV with a couple of English channels, WiFi and an extremely workable kitchen to prepare a meal if you so wish. There were two hotplates, a microwave, an electric jug, toaster, coffee maker and a washing machine. A welcome basket with coffee, tea, salt, oil, vinegar, crackers, jam, pasta and a tin of tuna was provided for the guests' use - a lovely touch.
The bathroom was a bit small but had a window, a good hot shower, a hair dryer and a magnifying mirror (great for putting on makeup) as well as an ordinary one.
We had two very comfortable and enjoyable nights in this delightful place for an extremely reasonable price..
David and John were very efficient, friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.2 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Pendoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Pendoa

Property: Casa da Pendoa
Address: Rua da Pendoa 17-19, Sintra 2710-610, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa da Pendoa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casa da Pendoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing