We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well-presented B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
VBJ - Villa Branca Jacinta
Ranked #19 of 42 Sintra B&B and Inns
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well-presented B&B”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed for one night for a friends wedding nearby in Colares. Maria was extremely helpful and friendly, and accommodated our early check in and late return on the wedding day which helped us out no end. The villa itself is beautiful, traditional with modern touches, and comfortable. Really well decorated, quiet and tranquil. We did not get to see much of Sintra as the wedding took most of our time, but what little we saw (Sintra centre and the Pena palace) was outstanding in its beauty. Breakfast was fantastic and filling. Hopefully we will return to Sintra one day to explore more thoroughly, and if we do, we will certainly come back here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evilnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
78
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this beautiful colonial house with a super friendly landlady, Maria and her dog. The guests rooms are upstairs and are simple clean and elegantly presented with parking on a quiet road outside the entrance.
We were the only couple staying at the time so it felt very intimate and tranquil. Breakfast was laid out beautifully with warm crepes, fruit and lovely bread, it was like our own private retreat. Maria gave us helpful tips on restaurants and the history of the area. The walk into the old town is approximately 15 mins but it’s such a scenic walk and in March the smell of orange blossom was intoxicating. We loved spending time in Sintra and the surrounding area and would not hesitate to stay at Villa Branca Jacinta again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeeshP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassleholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This old colonial building used to house the city archives of Sintra. it now has 4 simple, comfortable and individually furnished rooms on the second floor with views across the valley to Palacio de Pena and Castillo de Moros. Floors are polished wood, white shutters on the windows and modern spotless bathrooms.. the whole atmosphere is one of tranquility and calm.
A great place to relax after visiting the myriad of castles, parks and manor houses in this beautiful area.
Don't expect cable TV or a bar in the room, but do expect a good breakfast, a friendly, attentative but discreet landlady, Maria, and a garden that is slowly being brought back to its orginal glory.
There is parking in the quiet street outside, good communications with bus and train and Lisbon airport only 20 kms away, but in another world.
Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Each room is unique with beautiful views. You might hear barking dogs as you drift off to sleep, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomebamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We visited this B&B last summer. What a wonderfull house. It really shows you the old colonial side of Portugal. It has very rustique atmosphere and the breakfast is great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld26188586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

we went there for a weekend and it was super cozy. the Lordland is sweet and hospitable. the house is old, clean and very well done decorated. in fact the owner has interior design as a passion hobby. it was a very pleasant journey and hope to come back as soon as possible!
ps; Maria's crepes for breakfast are the best ever!!! ;)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanysoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed here in September (2011). I was really impressed with the house itself ... it was a beautiful house and the decor throughout was immaculate and very clean..... and I immediately felt relaxed there and slept well (which is unusual for me when I go away). Maria was an amazing host, extremely helpful and very friendly. The location of the guest house is in a residential area which is a 15 minute walk to the Historic centre but a nice walk (apart from a couple of really steep hills!!) It was a little difficult to find when first arriving but within easy reach of buses and the train station. An excellent place to stay which is very reasonably priced....I have no hesitation in recommending it :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed here at the end of September after reading the other reviews, and I can honestly say it was perfect. Maria is such a lovely host, the location is very good, even though a bit of a climb from the sights (nothing too strenuous, however). The room was of a very good size and in immaculate condition as it's all been recently renovated. We had to use the shower from another room as some previous idiot had apparently forced something down the drain, causing it to leak into the room below. However, this was no problem whatsoever as the bathroom we used was even bigger and it enabled us to both get ready at the same time! I'm certain Maria will have it fixed very soon as she is so attentive. The dog is called 'Astaire' due to the funny dance he does when jumping up at you (not in an aggressive way...he is so docile!) Why anyone would be put off by having a dog like this in the house, when he's not even allowed into the guests' quarters, is anybody's guess. It was lovely to be met by him after a long day's walking.
So, if you're looking for a reasonably-priced, luxury b&b close to the sights (about 10 minutes from the train station and 25 minutes from the historic centre), LOOK NO FURTHER!
You will certainly not be disappointed.
If I had one suggestion to make to Maria, which would be the icing on the cake, it would be to make an area available for guests to sit outside at the back of the house to enjoy a glass of wine after a tiring day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
2.0 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,561 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#7 of 42 in Sintra
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VBJ - Villa Branca Jacinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VBJ - Villa Branca Jacinta

Property: VBJ - Villa Branca Jacinta
Address: Rua Doutor Almada Guerra 3, Sintra 2710-417, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VBJ - Villa Branca Jacinta is a late 19th century house surrounded by a luxuriant garden crowned by a majestic centenary cedar, with elegant accommodations, 4 bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, carefully decorated where the elegance of the old and the comfort of the modern meet. Located within walking distance of the Historic Center, the Sintra Railway Station, the different restaurants, the public transport to Cascais and the touristic train that leads to the beaches of the Sintra Coast. Castelo dos Mouros and Pena National Palace are 2 km away. The Lisbon International Airport is 26km from the accommodation, the Center of Lisbon 32km, Center of Cascais 16km and the Center of Estoril 16km. We speak Portuguese, Italian, French, English and Spanish ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing