We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sintra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Branca Jacinta
Ranked #18 of 38 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
“Wonderfull stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We visited this B&B last summer. What a wonderfull house. It really shows you the old colonial side of Portugal. It has very rustique atmosphere and the breakfast is great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld26188586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
78
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

we went there for a weekend and it was super cozy. the Lordland is sweet and hospitable. the house is old, clean and very well done decorated. in fact the owner has interior design as a passion hobby. it was a very pleasant journey and hope to come back as soon as possible!
ps; Maria's crepes for breakfast are the best ever!!! ;)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanysoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed here in September (2011). I was really impressed with the house itself ... it was a beautiful house and the decor throughout was immaculate and very clean..... and I immediately felt relaxed there and slept well (which is unusual for me when I go away). Maria was an amazing host, extremely helpful and very friendly. The location of the guest house is in a residential area which is a 15 minute walk to the Historic centre but a nice walk (apart from a couple of really steep hills!!) It was a little difficult to find when first arriving but within easy reach of buses and the train station. An excellent place to stay which is very reasonably priced....I have no hesitation in recommending it :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed here at the end of September after reading the other reviews, and I can honestly say it was perfect. Maria is such a lovely host, the location is very good, even though a bit of a climb from the sights (nothing too strenuous, however). The room was of a very good size and in immaculate condition as it's all been recently renovated. We had to use the shower from another room as some previous idiot had apparently forced something down the drain, causing it to leak into the room below. However, this was no problem whatsoever as the bathroom we used was even bigger and it enabled us to both get ready at the same time! I'm certain Maria will have it fixed very soon as she is so attentive. The dog is called 'Astaire' due to the funny dance he does when jumping up at you (not in an aggressive way...he is so docile!) Why anyone would be put off by having a dog like this in the house, when he's not even allowed into the guests' quarters, is anybody's guess. It was lovely to be met by him after a long day's walking.
So, if you're looking for a reasonably-priced, luxury b&b close to the sights (about 10 minutes from the train station and 25 minutes from the historic centre), LOOK NO FURTHER!
You will certainly not be disappointed.
If I had one suggestion to make to Maria, which would be the icing on the cake, it would be to make an area available for guests to sit outside at the back of the house to enjoy a glass of wine after a tiring day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Located very close to the historic center of Sintra, but away from the crowds of tourists. We had a difficult time finding the house, but after calling Maria she walked down the the BP and showed us to the house (very close to the BP in Sintra).

The rooms are of nice size...our double was two twins put together, but that is something we found to be common in Portugal. The bathroom is of a decent size and you have your own key to your room and the back door of the house. It felt very safe and we were perfectly comfortable.

Breakfast was nice...her crapes are excellent!...and Maria asked when we'd like to eat. The fresh bread and cheese, however, could have been better. The jams were delicious, but I might suggest some more fresh fruit as another option. Overall, a nice but not spectacular breakfast.

Maria herself is very kind and offered advice as to other places to see in Portugal. Her B&B is in its beginning stages, so I'm sure some changes and improvement will take place over time. Overall, it was a nice place to stay in Sintra (especially location).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murry09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night in June and enjoyed our stay immensely. The villa located in a residential partof Sintra, but it is a lovely peaceful retreat from the old centre, which swarms with tourists during the day. It was a pleasure returning after sight seeing.

The interior is decorated in an antique/vintage style - all white washed and serene and Maria was an attentive and charming host (as was her very friendly dog). We slept really well after a busy week travelling and wished we had longer than one night there. We woud reccomend it in an instant and hope to return one day!

Tip - do be sure to ask Maria for directions on booking as it is easy to find with them and not so easy without!

Room Tip: quiet, peaceful - a haven in Sintra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSherwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed in a room with a big double bed, a wardrobe and a large bathroom with a walk in shower. The villa is lovely with beautiful gardens all around, and the dog is very lively but completely friendly and harmless. Great for a romantic escapade in Sintra and close enough to everything, though a car might be advisable (but it would probably be the same anywhere else in Sintra).

Maria José was a lovely host, giving all kinds of useful tips on where to eat and all in all we had a great time staying there. Breakfast was great and we even got treated to home made crêpes. Would recommend to anyone visiting Sintra, be it couples or families.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa
0.3 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Branca Jacinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Branca Jacinta

Property: Villa Branca Jacinta
Address: Rua Doutor Almada Guerra 3, Sintra 2710-417, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Branca Jacinta was built at the end of the 19th century. It is surrounded by an incredible verdant garden, guarded by a majestic centenary cedar.Here, you will find an ancient house with its own soul. All the windows, doors and staircases are living details of the 19th century.After a full restoration, Villa Branca Jacinta exudes comfort and simplicity. It appeals to a romantic and mystic imagination, recalling the works of Lord Byron or Eça de Queiros.You will find a beautiful place to rest after long walking days through Serra de Sintra, ancient castles and palaces or discovering the magical Quinta da Regaleira. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing