We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Electrifying and Enjoyable”

Cycling Through the Centuries CTTC Bike Tours
Ranked #17 of 23 Outdoor Activities in Sintra
Attraction details
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Electrifying and Enjoyable”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

As avid cyclists my wife and I had our share of doubts when our guide suggested that we tour Sintra on e-bikes rented from Catherine and Martin of Cycling Through the Centuries. Sintra, a place NOT to miss on any trip to Portugal is situated amongst rolling hills with many excellent points of view. Also, like many Portuguese cities it is a rabbit warren of small winding walled streets, ups, downs, rights lefts, curves--you name it--it has it. Walking is an option, but how can you see it all? Well CTC has solved the problem.

Our guide, Enrigue did an outstanding job leading us carefully through the most beautiful parts of the City and surrounds. We covered over 33 K's including a good lunch stop at a Mexican Restaurant housed in a Windmill. Safety was always Enrique's top concern not to mention his excellent knowledge of the area and it's unique history. After completing the day we longed for more and would do it again with no hesitations.

Now, about the e-bikes. The little "assist" up the hills and the effortless "cruising" around town should not be frowned upon. The feel and sensation is one of being on a bicycle, enjoying the outdoors and not worrying about the next hill and whether you can make it up without falling down. The bicycles themselves were in excellent condition well maintained and serviced--a key to away from home bicycle rentals. CTC can also outfit you with bicycles throughout the Iberian Peninsular and coordinate tours and guides in other areas.

All in all a wonderful experience. We WILL do it again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing tour!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Goncalo was an amazing tour guide! It was nice to not only bike, but eat & drink (wine:)) during the tour. A taste of the portuguese culture. The ride was easy and the views were breathtaking. Goncalo was very informative - he showed us the best of Lisbon on bike... avoiding the steep hills! We were sad that the tour had to end.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sherryg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had a five day trip mainly cycling arranged for us. 3 days cycling, one days walking and one day in Lisbon where we had a cooking lesson in a restaurant and then dined on it (plus a few extras). The tour was escorted by two great characters one in a support van the other cycling/walking with us - just in case anything went wrong - they ensured we got the maximum out of our visits and refuelling stops all of which were excellent. On the cycling days there were interesting stops but these were all relatively short, although I am not sure the wine tasting was the best preparation for the cycle ride that followed but we all enjoyed it and managed to stay on the road.
The Hotels which were booked for us were first class, although one was not quite as ready as it might have been- no hot water for an hour- it was a Rural Hotel but after a days walking in warm weather.......
By the end we felt we had 2 new friends in Portugal and only wished there were more days to come.
I should mention our cycling level was only average but anyway the guides are sympathetic to what you are capable of and adjust the route accordingly.
Cant wait for next year!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Norwayman2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Day long tour of Sintra, or a guided week through Portugal and Spain”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We toured the Minho country in Northern Portugal with Cycling Throught the Centuries, and were blown away. We stayed at wonderful hotels in upgraded rooms, ate incredible food, and rode over lovely terrain that had been thoroughly mapped in advance by CttC. We signed up for a group tour, and though it ended up as a personalized tour, it went ahead as planned. Our guides, Martin and Peter were fantastic, personable and knowledgable. It was a treat going for a meal with them as they knew their food and their wine, and their Portuguese was excellent, Spanish also good, even though their native language is English.

The cycling was great. On a couple of occasions I used the support vehicle, once while my husband slogged it through the pouring rain. it was wonderful to know that our route was planned, that the luggage would arrive in our room before we did, and that any difficulties that arose would be dealt with.

The pricing was excellent. We can't wait to do it again on a different route, perhaps the Santiago Pilgrim route through Spain. One of the unexpected features of the trip was a four minute video taken on ur journey, put together by Martin, and presented to us on our last evening.

In addition to the tours, Cycling through the Centuries also rents bikes for the day in Sintra. I wish we had known this, as we would have rented one of their ebikes (battery assisted) to negotiate the hills of Sintra while visiting the attractions; so much better than cramming yourself on and off the crowded tour busses. It is also possible to request an ebike for the guided tours; a great compromise if one has a gung ho spouse, while you like a little peddle assist on the uphills.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank neamster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You can't find any better than this”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our bike tour on CTTC'c Blue Atlantic trip was fantastic. The company chose the most amazing places to stay, the food and wines were excellent and the guides outstanding. The guides were incredibly helpful, knowledgeable of the region and genuinely sincere and fun. The bikes they provide are very high quality. The daily routes are very beautiful, scenic and mostly uncrowded.

You won't be disappointed in any way by choosing to tour with this company.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DickH03824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cycling Through the Centuries CTTC Bike Tours also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Cycling Through the Centuries CTTC Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing