We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G Spot: Almost a climax”
Review of GSpot Gastronomia - CLOSED

GSpot Gastronomia
Price range: $21 - $41
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Small restaurant, young team of passionate people about food and wine. We offer some traditional Portuguese tidbits, a dynamic Tasting Menu changing monthly, and a selection of tasty, comfort food, aiming to please varied expectations. Nice Portuguese wine selection, and a really sought after dessert wine list.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

It is well worth walking out of the historic centre to find this small, non-touristic restaurant, which proposes good quality and creative food. Excellent wine. We tasted the lamb with fried polenta: the meat was perfectly cooked, very tender and juicy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Odradek25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manuel m, Gerente at GSpot Gastronomia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your visit and enthusiastic comments.
It was a pleasure to welcome you. Indeed, we attempt to offer different proposal from the historic center restaurants, in way the visitors to have a wider availability.
Hoping that the Sintra experience was quite enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 147 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Disappointed with the decor. Strong lights, cold and empty. Seemed more like a day time café then a restaurant. The food was ok but I wouldn’t rush back to eat there again. The wine list was poor, no in between prices; it went from cheap to very expensive. Not the gastronomic experience that I was expecting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marli-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manuel m, Gerente at GSpot Gastronomia, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

We would like to thank you the visit and your comments.
Indeed the decor is simple, which always brought mixed opinions.
W've the feeling that your experience was positive, while not fulfilling the possibly high expectations.
We are not pretencious, we try to offer tasty food, but sometimes one is extremely enthusiastic and some others not quite.
About the wine list, we don't completely agree, regarding the in between wine prices. By the time that you were in the restaurant, and currently in place, we have: 19 wines (15€ - 20€), 13 wines (21€ - 30€), 4 wines (31€ - 50€ ) and finally 4 over 50€.
Hoping that with not so high expectations, but with confidence on our work, you would very welcome.
Manuel Moreira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Looking at the reviews I expected more from this restaurant. The food was decent but not very special. As a first course we had pea soup which was okay. My main course was lamb with fried polenta in tomato sauce. The lamb meat was nice but there was way too much fat surrounding it, leaving almost no meat. The fries polenta was also no very good. My partner's chicken breast with risotto was okay but the portion was way too big.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Best Tables
1  Thank GuidoReist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manuel m, Gerente at GSpot Gastronomia, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We would like to thank you for your visit to our restaurant, and specially for your comments.
We realize that your experience was positive, but not entirely satisfactory. W'll took a very attentive
care about your no so good comments.
However it was a pleasure to have you in our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lunch in this restaurant is an occasion!
If you enjoy high quality ,innovative food,at reasonable prices,this is the place.
The Chef must be very talented to continually provide such high standards.
Wine list is excellent.
Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teach41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a great meal for a group of 16, the service was commendable and the food was excellent. It is located in Sintra and easy to find.

Thank mikep46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GSpot Gastronomia also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing