We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Palace”

Sintra National Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.88*
and up
Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril...
Ranked #8 of 68 things to do in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Palace of Sintra, located in the historic town centre, was inhabited for nearly eight centuries by the Portuguese monarchy and its court. It was much used, particularly during the Middle Ages, as a hunting retreat and as a refuge from outbreaks of disease in the capital, or as a summer resort, thanks to the town's more agreeable climate.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stunning Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

What is wonderful about Portuguese palaces is the lack of that gaudy gilt work everywhere. Instead, they have the most beautiful tile and woodwork. They are amazing! We were here in January and there is something to be said for off season travel - we had the entire place to ourselves on a Sunday. We could linger in all the rooms, really look at the ornate furniture and exquisite tile work. The palace is beyond beautiful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KellyChastain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,429
    1,184
    465
    84
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming Summer Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great place to start a tour of Sintra, which is absolutely stunning. Palace is very "homely" and I had no problem imagining the royal family living there during the summer. The little terraces were cute with little fountains, pretty little gardens and the large windows facing in all directions would have kept everyone nice and cool in the heat. The kitchens were amazing and I particularly liked the slide show of old pictures and drawings near the huge fireplace in the main hall.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dcticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

One of the many attractions in Sintra. You can spend an hour or two wandering through the place and there is plenty to see. Furniture, paintings, household items etc. The kitchen is huge and unusual with the large chimneys.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth visiting when in Sintra; the kitchen is unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The palace is worth a visit when in Sintra; nothing is particularly grand, but that in itself is instructive to consider, given Portugal's imperial past. The famous chimneys are in fact one with the ceiling of the royal kitchens. I am not sure what the stylistic progenitors are, but they are quite the sight.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
449 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great starting point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We started our visit here and bought the multiple site pass which was a great idea as it saves a few euros but really can save you time by not waiting in lines for tickets. Very impressive palace with lots of tile work, interesting flooring, and ceiling work. Beautiful furniture. A definite yes on the visit list. I would plan about an hour to 2 hours depending on crowds.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sintra National Palace also viewed

 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Sintra National Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing