We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must see this! A wonderful side trip from Lisbon.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sintra National Palace

Sintra National Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.13*
and up
Lisbon Super Saver: Lisbon Sightseeing Tour and Sintra, Cascais and Estoril...
Ranked #8 of 68 things to do in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Palace of Sintra, located in the historic town centre, was inhabited for nearly eight centuries by the Portuguese monarchy and its court. It was much used, particularly during the Middle Ages, as a hunting retreat and as a refuge from outbreaks of disease in the capital, or as a summer resort, thanks to the town's more agreeable climate.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You must see this! A wonderful side trip from Lisbon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This palace is a magical place to visit. Take to tram to the top or get the cab driver to drop you off as far up the road as he can. Explore the entire area-gardens are beautiful. Sit on the terrace in the castle and have an espresso and specialty tarts made in Sintra. We didn't use the audioguide, missed it going in, and it would have been nice to have it. We walked down and walked back to the old town of Sintra, which is not to be missed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank octopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,388
    1,153
    452
    80
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wild architecture super views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I can't say the architecture at Pena was my taste, but it is pretty mindblowing nonetheless. Sort of a Portugese Disneyland style. Getting there is not half the fun with crowded buses and a steep climb, but it is an experience and the views from the terrace restaurant are superb.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kazzole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Crowded but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Worth going for the magpie ceiling alone - Try to avoid the tour groups from the cruise ships calling at Lisbon or you'll get stuck behind a huge crowd as their guide drones on about the place in every room - there's no way to get past them as the tour through the building is narrow and one way traffic

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My son and I enjoyed our visit to this palace very much. We visited with our guide Catia from Lisbon Stories. Catia explained some history in each room, described the historical context, and talked about how they made the tiles. I especially loved the magpie ceiling that the king had painted to ridicule gossiping courtiers after he was caught kissing a woman other than his wife ("to be kind"). I'll attach a photo of that ceiling.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ecsftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not that great!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Sintra is a beautiful city near lisbon. Don't miss it. but this is definitely a miss. THere is not much history in it and is a little expensive, even with the lisbon card we had to pay 5€ which was a big amount for the place

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aakriti_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sintra National Palace also viewed

 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Sintra National Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing