We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but had expected more”

Tulhas Bar & Restaurante
Ranked #26 of 265 Restaurants in Sintra
Price range: $18 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok but had expected more”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We came to Tulhas Bar & Restaurante because of the many positive reviews but were slightly disappointed. The food was ok but not delicious. The staff was friendly, prices were low to average. We would go there again and give it a second chance.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    298
    123
    51
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small, cozy place for dinner”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Delicious food, particularly the dourada(although as everywhere we went in Portugal the vegetables were overcooked). The regional wine was very good and reasonable. Waiter was attentive, helpful and very pleasant. A homey feeling to the small space and a central location in the center of Sintra.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riblain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A charming restaurant”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This restaurant seems to get mixed reviews, either good or disappointing. However, we wanted to eat there and it is within easy walking distance of the Sintra Tivoli hotel. We had already booked a table as we knew the restaurant was quite small. We had good service, enjoyed our food and would certainly eat there again if we are back in Sintra.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosiebeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a wondeful little restaurant we have stumbled upon not once, but twice when visiting Sintra! Both times it has not disappointed. The food is delicious and the wait staff is delightful. On our most recent visit we had a duck and rice casserole that was bottomless and absolutely superb. This is a great place to relax, enjoy the ambiance and have a glass of wine or a beer along with your meal. No one will push you out the door!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Condocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

II've known this restaurant for years and always found that the food and service were wonderful. Being in Sintra with friends who didn't know it, I decided that it was the best place to take them to lunch in Sintra. We weren't disappointed: the food was wonderful as always, the service very good and the waiters adorable as always. Highly recommend for a wonderful meal, wine and service. It was a great pleasure to be back after so many years and to share with my friends who told me that when we go back to Sintra, we'll have to go there to have the best "Bacalhau com Natas" they ever ate!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mafalda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tulhas Bar & Restaurante also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Tulhas Bar & Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing