We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Portuguese opinion”

Restaurante Dom Pipas
Ranked #21 of 261 Restaurants in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Portuguese opinion”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm portguese and I know very well the Portuguese food.
Here you find one's of the best typical national food restaurant of Sintra.
I always came here once a week
Very well ready-made and always with fresh ingredients.
It's walking distance (100 meters) to the train to Lisbon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nunocarvalhosintra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    159
    34
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
356 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Non-touristy restaurant by train station serving excellent Portuguese food”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ate lunch here during our day trip to Sintra, having picked it out of tripadvisor as a place that served good Portuguese food and was frequented by locals. Small place, was crowded, but not uncomfortably so. Friendly waiters, some English spoken but no matter as menu in multiple languages. Tasty bread and covert, sardine paste and some sort of yogurt-creamcheese-like offering. Fish soup very tasty, as was the basic salad. We had the mixed grill fish for 2. Wonderful! Salmon, sea bass, and cod, along with shrimp and sardines . . . 2 pieces of each. I think there were some veggies too, but we stayed focused on the seafood. They were out of their special dessert, had some sort of special cake (per the menu) that was good, as was the coffee. Not a cheap lunch, approx $60 Euros w/ a bottle of wine, but worth it. Absolutely possible to eat her for $10-15 Euros, without the bottle of wine. Best thing, no tourists, all locals. It is located on the street behind the train station, i.e., not the side of the tracks where you exit and enter the train.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly neighborhood cafe”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were the only tourists in this busy cafe. Very welcoming and friendly, great food. We were glad we walked away from the tourist restaurants in the historical district.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcccward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Unpretentious great restaurant”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We walked from our Hotel to the centre Sintra to look for a place to eat. All of the places looked to touristy and ordinary. Why walking back to our Hotel we discovered this D. Pipas Restaurant. We found the food heaven....Fresh excellent salad to start with,followed by house speciality, sword fish with bananas and for my husband squid kebap with shrimps....what a combination and what a taste. We change our plans for the following day and came back to the place for a second dinner. Same resolt and satisfaction. The service was friendly and the price not quit equaled the qualty of the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovelybulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Kebab Ever.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Went to this place on advice of our host at Cinco b&b and ordered the pork tenderloin kebab with bay leaves. Best meal of my trip to Portugal. So delicious my mouth waters just thinking about it now. May come back tomorrow night just to have the same. Only downside was the waiter was a bit standoffish. However his English is good and he let us use the wifi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Dom Pipas also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Restaurante Dom Pipas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing