We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced , please check your bill”
Review of Cafe de Paris

Cafe de Paris
Ranked #53 of 271 Restaurants in Sintra
Price range: $34 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: "Café de Paris" is the most romantic Restaurant in Sintra, situated at the Historical Center of "the World Heritage Town": Sintra, in front of the National Palace and it is an obligation stop for those visiting Sintra! We serve international and Regional Cuisine and are opened from 9 a.m. until 10 p.m.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced , please check your bill”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Your bread, butter, olives and cheese that usually is something around 5 euros will be 16,40 there they asked if could bring and I said yes because usually is very affordable if not free in many restaurants,my bill came with 4 pasteis de natal that I didn't order. They took ages to bring the correct bill. Never will come back again and I also don't recommend that for anyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lutropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    317
    183
    131
    178
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stopped here for a coffee and small snack before heading out - we should have looked at the menu first. I've never paid so much for a coffee. Tourist trap extraordinaire. Service was non-existent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevinTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check your bill!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Service was non-existent, though the restaurant was not busy. Eventually we got to order and ordered Super Bock beer 40cL and got charged for Imperial 60cL - when pointing this out, the waitron initially tried to argue her way out of it. We eventually got our money back, but it left a bad taste. We agree with the reviewers that stated - great location and beautiful restaurant, but in need of a serious change of attitude. Customers vote with their feet - we will not be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elize647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Grand interior but pricey”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stopped in for a glass of wine and although the interior was very grand found the prices a little on the high side. Didn't check the food prices so can't comment. Service was acceptable but nothing special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cafe de paris OK”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nice relaxing meal watching the world go by. Only had the set meal here as in a bit of a hurry but no complaints. Good service, possibly a little hurried.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank elloello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Paris also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Cafe de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing