We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A Tasca do Manel

A Tasca do Manel
Ranked #42 of 258 Restaurants in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Strathaven
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Compact venue with lots of locals eating lunch. Really good value tasty set menu with friendly staff who could translate the menu options into English for us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    68
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“wonderful value, authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

stumbled upon this place after ditching the nearby hippy new-age vegan restaurant and its crazy prices. this place had the "menu" option for lunch; 7 euros for entree, drink, salad, and desert. i had the golden fish (dourado i think?) and it was delicious. our waitress was very nice despite how busy they were. i would highly recommend this place for a good cheap authentic portugese meal while in sintra!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ooopss!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went here based another review on tripadvisor. Must have hit it on an off day as our experience was not good at all. Entered the door and you could almost hear the waiter and owner groan that there were two more people to deal with. After musical chairs to get a table, we finally ordered. When our meals came, some things had been left off the plates and we had to ask the waiter to complete our order, which he did begrudgingly. Not a good experience at all.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oenedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco de Arcos, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for money in a special place Sintra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

A simple, quite and ship restaurante in this case TASCA, like in the old times.
No more than 6 to 8 tables. Service good , clean and friendly people , just in front the nice building of the local Mayor.
It was raining but me and my wife will be back soon, because Sintra is just like that. We have to discover!
With a beautiful and Mystherious environment you will enjoy it. It will be part of my road map into the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank josemelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best value ever! Very authentic experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a great locals' spot. We were the only tourists there. The guys who work there barely speak any English, but are extremely helpful and try their best.

So, this is how it works. You pay 7 Euro per person for:
A drink, salad, bread, olives, soup, a very large and substantial main course, a dessert and an espresso. It's ridiculous! The main course itself would be 10 euro (at least) anywhere else. I felt like I was cheating them! And can't understand how they make any money!

Everything was delicious and it felt like a very authentic, non-touristy experience. Definitely go here for a meal. We went for lunch, and it closes at around 8 pm, I think - so if you plan to eat there for dinner, go earlyish.

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelitis00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Tasca do Manel also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to A Tasca do Manel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing