We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderfull”
Review of Champanheria - CLOSED

Champanheria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: OSTRADOMUS is only the new name for the same restaurant,A CHAMPANHERIA. We were forced to change the name of the restaurant in spite of having it registred and authorized by the portuguese authorities during 14 years. We are the same owners and the restaurant kept its tradition. We are now concerned, not only with the Setubal Oysters, but also defending a sustentable cuisine, using mainly local products. Visit us !
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just wonderfull”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

The simpaty, the service and most of all the absolutely wonderful food.
Absolute recommend
Thank you for the great dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Pedro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    44
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“WOW...great quality lunch and imaginative kitchen”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The place is small but easy to find, seating right by a big restaurant the avenue. The service is really good. We were serviced by a "baianinha" (a young girl from the state of Bahia, Brazil), very shy but a great waitress that informed us about what we were about to eat! We chosen the manu with 4 entrées and a main dish... I wished I had asked for the 8 entrées menu but it would be too much... Everything was delicious and elegant! Really exquisite and tasteful dishes. I would like to go back there, for certain, and explore other dishes/options. And I don't say this about every restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect seafood and more”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Fantastic food . It is local with some brasilian Taste ( family run : Mario and his wie from Brasil).
Plenty of sea food , local oysters ( fresh and baked) , fish. Perfect hospitality.
Local wines and "bubbles" .

Restaurant is set in the centre of Setubal , city which is "must" when you are in the Lisabonn area.
Local seafood market or beautiful beaches of Troya are main tops. After that Champanheria is best choice.

Cheers

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krzysztofburzynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Espumante and Gourmet food with a Brazilian touch”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

After a week in Portugal we were looking for something different. We had had excellent food and great service and we definitely had had more than one glass of bubbly. However, we hadn't had all in one. The champanheria has it all. When we got there for lunch on Sunday we immediately felt welcome, the owners were very attentive. The Champanheria offers a set of surprise entradas (you can only tell them what you don't like to eat) and a main course that you can choose. We had the mocequa com camarões which was delicious; as a dessert we chose the coconut ice which was again delicious. And a whole bottle of local sparkling wine for 10 euros. Besides champagne, their speciality are oysters and even if I am normally not a big fan, I liked the gratinated oysters that came as a starter. So don't miss this when you are in Setubal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goiabinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“imaginative meal”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

very good, good service and wine
dont hesitate go in
the oyster are very good and the black pork also

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank joanadacruz564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champanheria also viewed

Setubal, Setubal District
Setubal, Setubal District
 
Setubal, Setubal District
Setubal, Setubal District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing