We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
Review of Residencial Bocage

Residencial Bocage
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residencial Bocage
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Setubal
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel has been recently been renovated and the rooms are lovely. Ours was tiny, but the bed was nice and it had everything we needed (except a hair dryer). Plus, it's in the centre of the main part of town, so everything was within walking distance. The breakfast was also quite good - just enough to leave you full so you don't need lunch. The ferry to Troia was a five minute walk away. And you can't beat the price. We would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krissy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    38
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
44
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detmold, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Residencia Bocage, located just off the main Setubal boulevard Avenue - Avenida Luisa Todi, within the pedestrian old town zone offers bed and breakfast in small, clean, well appointed rooms. Breakfast is a typically standard Portugese hotel (continental) breakfast. The AC/Heater, necessary in Dec. and Jan., worked efficiently and even dried rain-soaked clothes! The English-speaking reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The residencia is less than 5 min. on foot from the bus station and about 10min. from the ferry harbor for the crossing to the Troija beaches or mainline rail station. The old-town pedestrian shopping zone has a good choice of boutiques (Zara, Pull&Bear etc) and cafes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc Coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

A well-located guesthouse in Setubal for a good price. The rooms were basic and a little dated, but provided a clean and quiet bed for the night. Do note that safes are only available for selected rooms. The staff were very sweet and helpful and the breakfast wasn't bad either. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank little_star83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

we stayed in this small hotel in the heart of the city for 3 nights in january 2009.
it was just at the end of refurbishment. it was clean and comfortable, but the rooms are very small and there are no communal areas except the dining room and reception. i don't think i would be able to stay here for more than a long weekend due to the size of the room and no alternative place to sit and no outside sapece.. we could only just walk around the bed. it may be quite hot in the summer, as our room only had a small window, although the room did appear to have air con. breakfast is literally bread, butter, jam and tea/coffee. i would recommend either haivng breakfast in a nearby cafe (there are lots) or going across the street to the supermarket and buying food there for breakfast/snacks.the reception staff were helpful and friendly and are there 24 hour a day. i even lost something of value whilst there,they foudn it and kindly posted it back to me in the uk. there is plenty of parking nearby. note there is no lift. it is a great location to explore the city.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2007

The Bocage is a basic 2 star B& B in the heart of the old town of Setubal. It's really good value considering the tiny amount you pay per night (we paid 33 euros for a double room including breakfast), we could not fault it. The rooms are clean and since its an old building, they have lots of character. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was as you'd expect, very much in the continental style, some bread, coffee, orange juice, marmalade and some cold meats.

The only drawbacks are none of them the fault of the hotel - one is that it has a tiny frontage area and hence its fairly difficult to locate in the mass of tiny alley ways in the old town. Also it is not reachable by vehicle so you have to walk for a few minutes with your cases.

Finally it's really really popular with the Portuguese themselves (with good reason) so it can be very difficult to get in.

Despite the above drawbacks I fully recommend it as good quality basic accomodation - ideal for Lisbon as its 20 minutes away by car and half the price of anything in the capital.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Setubal hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Setubal
Hotel Ibis Setubal
#4 of 18 in Setubal
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luna Esperanca Centro
Luna Esperanca Centro
#5 of 18 in Setubal
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
RIO Art Guesthouse
RIO Art Guesthouse
#3 of 18 in Setubal
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Solaris Hotel
Solaris Hotel
#7 of 18 in Setubal
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Setubal
Novotel Setubal
#2 of 18 in Setubal
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premium Setubal Hotel
Premium Setubal Hotel
#14 of 18 in Setubal
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Bocage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Bocage

Property: Residencial Bocage
Address: Rua de Sao Cristovao 14, Setubal 2900-611, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Setubal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Setubal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Bocage 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Residencial Bocage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing