We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An original experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta dos Moinhos de Sao Filipe
Ranked #3 of 6 Setubal B&B and Inns
Français en Suisse
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An original experience”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms for our family but the hotel proposed to us one of the old mills figured on the picture. These round houses have two floors. The first floor is a big living room with a kitchen side. There is a sleeping couch, but it is not very comfortable. At the second floor, the is a bed and a small bathroom. The is a very small third floor with an interior balcony, nice to read a book quietly.
This house is not good for a family, we discovered. It is perfect for 2 people, maybe a couple with one kid. Not more.
For us (6 people), it was not a good experience at all.
The view is quite nice, although the area is somehow industrial.
It is not too easy to access the hotel, through the small streets of Setubal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Worth it for the experience alone. Where else can you stay in a converted windmill, enjoying sweeping ocean and estuary views and the proximity of Arrabida National Park?

We were a couple travelling with a friend and stayed one night in one of the mills, which was set up as independent from the main building so that you may self-cater if you so choose using the stovetop, fridge and microwave. Basic breakfast supplies are provided in the room. The mill has two levels with a sofabed and kitchenette downstairs and a double bed and bathroom upstairs on a sort of mezzanine. All inventively designed and decorated, you can really enjoy the peace of the place with unobstructed views in most directions.

The only problem for our group was that the only bathroom in the mill is the one upstairs, which opens up from near the foot of the double bed, making it awkward to use for the person/s sleeping downstairs on the sofabed. Note also that your car navigator may struggle with the hillside winding road that leads here - ours wanted us to U-turn at a truly suicidal place because it could not work it out! But plough on following the written instructions and you will be fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Quinta dos Moinhos during the month of September 2012 - we booked a converted windmill with self catering and my parents stayed in the main house. We were absolutely delighted with our stay which allowed for incredible views of the ocean and the Troia Peninsula while nestled in the National Park of Arrabida. We were just 5 minutes drive from all the fabulous seafood restaurants of Setubal. Teresa, the owner, became not just a friend but just about family by the time we finished our 3 week stay. She gave us terrific tips of places to visit and restaurants to go to. As a results I loaded up 496 pictures of our holidays into my Flickr account. Thank you Teresa for being such a special person - our baby boy and all of us love you!! Can't wait to catch up with you again next year!!

Room Tip: If you are going to stay in the windmills during the summer period - I recommend you leave the doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlderleyEdgeTiger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We found this place by accident and stayed only one night on our way from Porto to Sagres but we are very glad that we made this stop. The place is a gem. We stayed at one of the old wind-mills which was very well furnished with functioning kitchen and breath-taking views over the bay. At 150e per night the place is a bit on the pricey side but neverthless worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eleiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in the B&B just 1 night but would definitely like to coma back. This is a beautiful place facing the sea. The owner was very pleasant and nice, served us very good breakfast.
We stayed in a room inside the main villa, it was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Theresa is a smiling presence at the Quinta dos Moinhos do Sao Filipe. She is the proprietor, a gentle, gracious host, always ready to help. She will book a boat trip for you ( to see the dolphins) or recommend a restaurant.
The Quinta is up a number of narrow winding roads, high above Setubal, and even further up than the Pousada ( so follow the signs for the pousada and fork right. Keep going!). We were there at the same time as a couple of guests from New Zealand who had also felt they might never find it. But finding it was well worth the effort..
More a B&B than a traditional hotel, it is set amongst pine trees in the Parc Naturel d'Arrabida. As the wooden gates of the Quinta swing open you see two stark white windmills ( self-catering apartments)in front of you with the sea beyond. The main building, which was in ruins when Theresa bought it, has been carefully and tastefully re-built; it has the feel of a large family house rather than a hotel, with photgraphs, drawings and family furniture. It is elegant and refined, as is the fado music softly playing in the lounge.
The French windows open onto a terrace with views across the estuary and to the open sea. Ferries ( one lime green, no less) busy themselves in the water below. You could sit on the terrace for hours, though in May it is cooler up in the hills than in the towns; there is a pool but it was not in use at this time of year.
. A simple breakfast of juice, bread, cheese and ham with homemade jams is served on the terrace, but for lunch go to down to the beach ( Theresa will tell you where) or to Setubal for dinner. It is reputed to have the best fish in Portugal. We agree.
We ate at the Nova 10, Jose Mourinho's favourite place. It was packed with locals and tourists alike and the food was very good. Try the grilled sardines or the cataplana ( a fish stew); reasonable prices and decent wine for 9 euros a bottle.
I have two minor quibbles with the Quinta : the beds in the twin room can be squeaky ( I am a light sleeper), and there is some sound penetration from the corridors and the room next door. But neither of these should put you off an otherwise idyllica place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArnoldManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

we had our wedding reception at this breathtaking place. The beautiful views of the ocean, Troia, the city and the tranquility of being in the middle of the lushes green forest" Serra d'Arribida", made our special day , perfect. All our guests were mesmorised by the amazing views and our wedding photos look incredible. I really could not have picked a better place to hold our wedding reception. We spent our wedding night in one of the windmills, which were equipped with all the necessary utilities for a self-catering holiday but with the added touch of a hotel service like the served breakfast and daily cleaning. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone, there is loads to do in Setubal including getting the ferry across to Troia for beautiful beaches with the added bonus of peaceful sleep each night at this amazing place.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunseeker3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Setubal
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Sado Business & Nature
0.6 mi away
RIO Art Guesthouse
RIO Art Guesthouse
#5 of 18 in Setubal
9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Esperanca Centro
Luna Esperanca Centro
#3 of 18 in Setubal
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Solaris Hotel
Solaris Hotel
#6 of 18 in Setubal
68 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Setubal
Novotel Setubal
#2 of 18 in Setubal
471 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta dos Moinhos de Sao Filipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta dos Moinhos de Sao Filipe

Property: Quinta dos Moinhos de Sao Filipe
Address: Rua Mafaldo de Setubal 670 | on the Serra da Arrábida, Setubal 2900-158, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Setubal
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Setubal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta dos Moinhos de Sao Filipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing