We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable place to stay with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Queluz
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A comfortable place to stay with friendly staff”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at this Pousada for a week; and we were very pleased with the room, the staff and the excellent buffet breakfasts.
The Pousada is just opposite the royal palace of Queluz, which makes an interesting visit, and The Portuguese School of Equestrian Art is also within the grounds of the palace. We very much enjoyed a riding display at the palace during our stay.
The Pousada is strategically placed for access by rail to Lisbon and Sintra. Also if you have a car there is speedy access to a fast road network that gets you quickly to Sintra, Peniche, Obidos and beyond for day trips.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room round the back. However the frogs in the pool outside the window were quite nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonytutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas D.Maria I and for taking the time to send us your feedback trough Trip Advisor
We do feel very happy to know you have a pleasant stay during the week you stayed with us. . Thank you for your so kind words which certainly help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.


We will be pleased to host you again at any of our Units.
Thank you!

Sincerely Yours
Arminda Teixeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    121
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
49
173
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The name and exterior of this hotel are the only things that are "palace" related. Otherwise, the interior of this hotel is rather dated and bland. Situated across the street from the real palace, but it is in the middle of the parking lot -- so the views from the windows leave much to be desired.

The room furnishings are very average, and really could use an update. Our mattress was lumpy, and wifi was only available in the room for a fee. However, at the bar, the wireless was free. We found this was rather odd since it was the same wireless login for both places.

While we were there, there was construction in the neighbouring room, which detracted from our enjoyment.

Breakfast is free and was alright. Hotel was generally clean. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas D.Maria I and for taking the time to post youropinion on Trip Adviser.
We regret to know that our service did not met your expectations, particularly because of the works next to your room; in fact that is not agreable but unfortunally those building issues should be repair.
The Pousada was at the time part of the Palace and as been rebuilt and decorated according to the Palace 20 years ago, and you are right , it needs to be renovated, wich is already planed.
Thank you for telling us your feedback which certainly help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.

We will be pleased to host you again at any of our Units and you will be the most welcome to Pousada D. Maria I
Thank you!

Sincerely Yours
Arminda Teixeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Keytel International's reservations team visited this hotel on a trip to explore this area, and we were impressed how easy it is to find this Pousada, an ideal base to see the ''pink palace'' of Queluz, directly in front of the Pousada. The Pousada is comfortable, very calm, and you can appreciate the historical relevance of the building which houses it, in the context of its former function as the guards' room for the defence of the palace 50m in front of it and visible from much of the Pousada. Lovely breakfast with freshly made local pastries, and the restaurant (which is actually in front, set in the palace's original kitchen) is a truly great experience of Portuguese cuisine. The town nearby is a typical small regional one, so enjoyable for a walk and a drink, with some shops. But in my view the Palace and the Pousada are the big attractions here and this is a good stepping stone for exploring the area of Queluz/Sintra/Lisbon and even Estoril and Cascais, all within 30 minutes' drive.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor have the best views over the palace and historic buildings alongside the Pous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garydrewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Gary,

First of all thank you so much for the time you spent on posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It has been a great pleasure to welcome you and Keytel Team and I have no right words to thank you for your so kind feedback which certainly help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.

We looking forward to hosting Keytel Clients and having the oportunity to show them the beautiful places in the sorroundings and share a part of our history.

You will be the most welcome anytime at this or anyother Pousadas in Portugal

Best regards

Arminda Teixeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The building is OK, the rooms clean and relatively comfortable, except for a couple of issues: The old windows are tiny, but their glass allows the noise from the street, which is a main thoroughfare. On the other side, in the back, you hear the hum of the highway. We were three couples, and each on our own asked in the middle of the night to be transferred due to vehicular noise even as we used ear plugs. One couple was put in the basement for lack of another suitable room.

But the biggest drawback of this place is that it sits in the middle of a cobblestoned parking lot. There is no garden, no place to sit outside. On one side, at some distance, is the military barrack, and one can watch the morning exercises. On the other side is the magnificent palace that the hotel claims to be a part of. That is deceiving. Some guides even tout this pousada as being a "do not miss" due to this Versailles-worthy palace. However, entrance fee to that palace and its gardens is high--and the ticket is good for one time only. We visited in the first afternoon, but could not actually go back the next morning to stroll the amazing gardens with a cup of coffee.
Wi-Fi is available only in the lobby, where the TV was blaring in Spanish day and night.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a pitched roof at the end, and that makes them look smaller. The noise there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsBizWiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas D.Maria I and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor
We regret to know that this Pousada did not met your expectations, particulary with regard to the building's structure and acoustic issues , wich avoid you to hav a relaxing and peacefully stay.
We will make some renovation in order to avoid these problems.

Thank you for telling us your feedback which certainly help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.

We will be pleased to host you again at any of our Units.
Thank you!

Sincerely Yours
Arminda Teixeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this pousada for 4 nights during our vacation. Very clean, very convenient (both for driving around this part of Portugal and for taking the train into Lisbon), excellent service by the staff, very pleased with the breakfast. Our room was large and comfortable; the window was small. Great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas D.Maria I and for taking the time to leave your opinion on Trip Advisor.

We do feel very happy to know you have a pleasant stay with us and you have enjoyed our spaces and services.
Thank you for your so kind words which certainly help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.

We hope to welcome you again someday.

Best regards
Arminda Teixeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I am just back from a trip in Portugal, via pousadas (Queluz, Ourem, Viseu, Viana, Guimaraes). Any of these is excellent, with the same level (HIGH !) of service, the same kind and professional staffs and EXCELLENT food. The buildings themselves are worthy of the trip, if you like fine arcitecture and historical buildings with modern equipment. Guimaraes is an incredible, breathtaking place, with beautiful parquet floors, and very fine furnitures. One special comment on prices : for the first time in my life I have regularly had a la carte dinners with outstanding wines for ... less than 30 Euro per person. Unbelivable ! (at Queluz we ordered the chef suggestion, a DELICIUOS caldeirada, and I come out, wine included, with less than 30 Euro for TWO persons). As I have read in other commets, the only dark spot is the coffee at breakfast. but breakfasts themselves are gorgeous. When in Portugal, go Pousadas !

Room Tip: do not forget to ask for special rates (more than one night, golden age ...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mario p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback concerning Pousadas Portugal .
We very much apreciated your kind words witch help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.
We are very pleased to know you had a very pleasant stay at Pousadas and notice the spirit of this kind of Turism.
In fact we try to show our guest the best of our culture and by staying at Pousadas you have the oportunity to learn a bit of our history and taste the portuguese food.

We truly hope to welcome you again.

Best Regards

Arminda Teixeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Saw this castle the same day that I saw Sintra and Pena and it was definitely worth the visit. You can really see the Versailles inspiration here. The first room you enter is just jaw dropping and reminds you of the mirror room in Versailles. The gardens are pretty as well and the castle is so big you have a hard time getting it all in the camera lens. So fun to imagine the parties they must of had there.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion on TripAdvisor.

The feedback of our guests is very important for us, as it help to improve our services.

We are pleased to know you apreciate the National Palace, in fact inspired on Versailles Palace and all the envirement.

We hope to welcome you in the future in this or other Pousada or Hotel of our group.

Best Regards

Arminda Teixeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queluz
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#21 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel

Property: Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel
Address: Largo do Palacio, Queluz 2745-191, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Dona Maria I)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Queluz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Queluz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Queluz is found in the clock tower building, next to the National Palace of Queluz, known as the " Portuguese Versailles " and the permanent residence of the royal family from 1794. The building of the Tower is by the architect and staff sergeant Manuel Caetano de Sousa, and served as a warehouse and as the quarters for the staff in service to the palace. With a unique and sumptuous decor, the Pousada de Queluz, D. Maria I, is a treasure waiting to be discovered and marvelled at. The air-conditioned rooms of the Pousada de Queluz are individually decorated, with warm colours and elegant wooden furniture. The Pousada is a point of reference for whoever is looking for the Lisbon business area, idyllically situated around 14 km from Sintra and 20 km from Cascais. It comfortable decor and its rigorous rehabilitation makes the 2 rooms an excellent choice, having been carefully reconstructed for the purpose of meetings and seminars. The rooms have natural lighting and access to the internet fixed of wireless, air conditioning among other characteristics. Free parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing