We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable palace!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Queluz
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Memorable palace!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

The location of this pousada-hotel allows for easy access to the real summer palace of Portuguese royalty across the cobbled street. The palace is well worth a visit and don't miss walking around the grounds. It is also a convenient drive to the nearby fairytale area of Sintra. The hotel itself offers comfortable very high-ceiling rooms with very historic tall windows. The breakfast which was included in the price of the room was very good. It is a fairly easy drive to Lisbon's airport if you want to stay out of the city of for your last night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    117
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
49
166
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

This was our first stay in a Pousada and a great way to begin. We were given an excellent ground floor room. The building is the original guard's quarters for the Palace, which is across the road. A visit there is well worthwhile to see both the Palace interior and the gardens. At least one dinner shlould be enjoyed in the restaurant there. Although the immeditae suburban environment is not too grand the Pousada is well-place for visiting Lisbon and also Sintra.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grussellt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Having stayed in an excellent pousada in Tavira we thought all pousada's would be of a similar standard, sadly they are not. Despite the grand name and being formerly part of the palace this pousada is in need of a refurbishment and the staff give the minimum required, in contrast to Tavira where you are greeted with a big smile and a genuine willingness to help. The room was nice, a good size with satellite TV and a well equipped clean bathroom. In contrast to our last pousada breakfast was served in a sterile room, buffet style. Plenty of variety but the attention to detail just wasn't there, the one and only member of staff gave the impression that we were an inconvenience and should be ushered along as quickly as possible. Breakfast became an amusing ordeal rather than a pleasant start to the day. A 15 minute walk from the railway station to Lisbon through 'the real' Portugal I wouldn't recommend this as a springboard for a few days in Lisbon, stay in the centre. If you do stay and are looking for an evening meal, turn left out of the hotel and there are two very nice good priced restaurants (closed Monday's). The palace across the road ell worth a visit but the highlight of the area is Sintra and Pena Palace, don't miss this wonderful place with all its beautiful historic sites. Needless to say like the one before silly charges are made for internet access in the hotel and despite what the hotel staff will tell you all of the local cafe's and restaurants will give you free internet. This hotel needs grabbing by the scruff of the neck, the staff giving a good talking to and a refurbishment to put it on a par with Tavira.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear away from the constant traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

This was the best Pousada we stayed in out of three on our recent Portugese trip . We had booked a suite which was excellent value considering the size and fittings , good view over to the main palace buildings , on arrival we received a complimentary bottle of Sparkling wine, a plate of fresh fruit each and a selection of pastries which gave a very good first impression . The staff were friendly and helpful and the location besides the palace very convenient . We had a hire car which we collected at the airport ( free parking at the hotel ) and the drive was only around20-30 minutes to the hotel . For travelling into Lisbon we took the train ( approx 10 minute walk to Queluz station ) into Rossio station in Lisbon centre, train takes 15-20 minutes and runes every 10-15 minutes , train fare was included in our Lisboa card which we bought at the airport and is good value as it includes admission to most of the major sites as well as use of public transoprt including train to Sintra , Belem and Cascais - all worth a visit .

Room Tip: suite is good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

The Pousada is excellent. Friendly staff provide a warm welcome, and couldn't be more helpful. Our comfortable room (great beds), at the end of the top floor corridor, provided good views to the army barracks at the rear, and a sideways view of the Dona Maria Pavillion from the other side (two walls had windows). The windows had original features such as the shutters, and the drainage channels for condensation from the window panes were still evident. A nice touch. Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality, including the custard tarts.

Dinner in the Cozinha Velha was a marvellous experience. The menu offered a good selection of game dishes, the hare and bean casserole being highly recommended, as was the bacalhau with gazpachio, a very clever idea. Remember to order veg / salad searately. Staff were attentive, but not intrusive. The wine selection was very good and not overly expensive. The location could not be faulted.

Queluz town, outwith Palace Square, is not particularly atrractive, and the walk from the station to the Pousada may un-nerve some after dark, so the usual precautions should be taken (i.e. try not to look too much like a tourist). During the day it's fine. Particularly recommended is the cafe (Casa dos Pasteis) at the station end (north west corner) of the park / square which opens up after leaving Palace Square (can't remember it's name). The custard tarts here really are very good, and the cake selection in general is enormous. Worth a pit-stop to / from the station.

Whilst the Pousada building is very well maintained, the same cannot be said for the exterior of the main palace building, which appears to have, visibly, deteriorated more each time I visit. I know times are hard, but allowing this to happen is a shame bordering on a crime.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms are probably quiter - the noise of cars crossing the cobbled square may distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
261 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here for one night in May 2010, but shortage of time meant that we needed to revisit the area and stay for two nights. As usual, the standards were high. We had a room at the back (201) which was very quiet except for the persistent hum of some equipment in the room next door. The mini-bar was not cool (I put a bottle of water in there to cool) and reported it to reception in the morning. However, it was not fixed (it was a Sunday!), but that did not present a real problem. A couple of minor housekeeping issues - towel rail missing in the bathroom, hook missing off the bathroom door. But what great value - two nights for two people including a terrific buffet breakfast for €190 is unbeatable!
The hotel is very conveniently located near to the IC19 for Sintra (20 mins) or the airport (30 mins or so). The railway station is also close by if you don't have a car. The superb National Palace is literally across the road.
Heartily recommended!
PS I do agree with a previous reviewer who thought that wi-fi access should be free at a place like this - it is free in so many cafe/bars, so why should Pestana want to charge €3/hour?

Room Tip: On the side away from the road on the first (not ground) floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmen
Level Contributor
273 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here with our three children (13,11,9). The Pousada is easy to find (across the street from the palace) and parking is easy (large parking lot in front of the Pousada) Rooms are clean and have a great atmosphere. Staff is nice and very helpfull.

Only downside is the road right in front of the Pousada (ask for a room on the other side) I also suggest a visit to the restaurant located in the old kitchen of the palace. Wonderful menu and great location !

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are glad to know the all family enjoyed their stay at Pousada de Queluz.
Thank you very much for valuing the performance of the staff, the room quality and the atmosphere.
We also appreciate your suggestion to visit “Cozinha Velha” (“Old Kitchen”), the Restaurant of the Pousada.
The Pousada is indeed close to roads that make it very easy to access the center of Lisbon, Sintra and Cascais.
We are delighted to have provided a wonderful experience and we hope to welcome you again,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queluz
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel

Property: Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel
Address: Largo do Palacio, Queluz 2745-191, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Dona Maria I)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Queluz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Queluz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Queluz is found in the clock tower building, next to the National Palace of Queluz, known as the " Portuguese Versailles " and the permanent residence of the royal family from 1794. The building of the Tower is by the architect and staff sergeant Manuel Caetano de Sousa, and served as a warehouse and as the quarters for the staff in service to the palace. With a unique and sumptuous decor, the Pousada de Queluz, D. Maria I, is a treasure waiting to be discovered and marvelled at. The air-conditioned rooms of the Pousada de Queluz are individually decorated, with warm colours and elegant wooden furniture. The Pousada is a point of reference for whoever is looking for the Lisbon business area, idyllically situated around 14 km from Sintra and 20 km from Cascais. It comfortable decor and its rigorous rehabilitation makes the 2 rooms an excellent choice, having been carefully reconstructed for the purpose of meetings and seminars. The rooms have natural lighting and access to the internet fixed of wireless, air conditioning among other characteristics. Free parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pousada de Queluz Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing