We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic - just don't stay in Room 213”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Palmela
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Majestic - just don't stay in Room 213”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Pousada de Palmela offers a superb experience - unmatched historical setting, beautiful views, gracious rooms, fine dining.

The problem was that our lovely room was next to a staff service lift, so we were disturbed by whirring machinery until 11.30pm, and woken by it at 6.30am. Annoying to say the least. Still good in so many ways, but maybe the management need to stay in the room to understand.

Would stay again, but not in that room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 213, a lovely suite but with a noisy staff service lift early and late
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiztheWhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
In order to provide the best service, we have taken your feedback about lift into consideration.
Thank you for your recommendation and we would be delighted to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    122
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
80
184
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I f you're looking for relaxation and romance, this is the place...35 km from Lisbon, this hotel lies in the top of a mountain, with fortified walls and historic buildings and remains just few meters from the entry. Very kind people (Fernanda, Orlando, Diogo and Artur) will provide a pleasant stay in this 18 century building (but in good state of conservation). Ask for a glass of the licorous Moscatel, region wine. Clean rooms, with lots of space (I had a sofa on mine, 115), heat/cool system, honest restaurant (with delicious portuguese traditional deserts). The hotel area is itself a place to visit. Not good : of course, forget this place if you don't have a car. Bad : cable internet (?), having to renew the password daily and the phones got silent for a entire day...communication can be a problem here. I left the hotel at 8:00am with nobody in the front desk...I took my luggage by myself. I will comeback.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the Vale dos Barris view. Gorgeous sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delaplanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Pousada de Palmela.
We are glad you have enjoyed the ambiance of the Pousada.
It was a great pleasure to meet you.
Until your next visit, best regards.

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed on March 18 with no reservation. When we asked about rate, were quoted 99 Euros with breakfast (we thought it must be a mistake but it was not) and given an upgrade to view room (#105). Very nice view from the Pousada, located on a hill, to the coast about 5 KM away. (If you want to stay closer to water, look at Pousada Setubal).

Had their promotional dinner, 25 Euros each, 4 courses and quite good excepting first course meza which was mediocre. Main was fish (river Breem) and perfectly prepared, fileted table-side. Good service. (I figure if business is slow, which it was, eat the daily special since the fish is unlikely to have been frozen.) Nice wines and fair prices.

The Pousada is in castle so It has a nice walk, views, and an adjacent museum.

Strange smell in room and small, inconveniently arranged bathroom were the only negatives.

It is close to 5 star. A great value.

Room Tip: The view rooms are worth a splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbertolott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion about Pousada de Palmela.
Your feedback is much appreciated, in order to always provide the best of services, and we will take it into consideration.
We hope to surpass your expectations on your next visit to Pousadas de Portugal.

Best regards,

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed her one night after spending four previous nights in other Pousadas. So we have good comparison experience. The hotel part is quite nice and would be a four star, but our dining room experience for dinner was pretty bad. My wife an I each ordered fish, one Monk Fish, and one poached Cod. The Pousada IS right on the coast. The Cod had terrible texture, like it was badly freezer burned. Her Monk fish could not be cut with a fish knife. Think it may have been badly undercooked. Sent both back which is rare for us. Ordered a pork dish that used meat from the neck of the animal. Greasy. Won't do that again. The dining room was empty except for one other patron. The head waiter talked to him almost the entire time as if he was his long-lost brother. We got the bus boy, I think. He had no capability in English. We also declined the typical service of bread and olives, for which the charge is a heafty 5 Euros EACH. Opted instead for soup, which was fair but not great. When the bill came, sure enough, the bread charge was there. Head waiter was called over and he gruffly consented to remove that item from bill along with charge for a glass of wine that was also not purchased. Bottom line, they have no business because the price is high, service poor, and food bad. Suggest dining in some cool place in the nearby village. Our experience in the other four Pousada dining rooms was much better so don't hesitate to stay in these historic places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMartinflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Palmela and for taking the time to sharing your opinio, we carefully read.

We deeply regret that your meal at our Pousada did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced.
We look forward to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal.
Best regards,

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wpg
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We landed in Lisbon tired and had booked the Pousada in Palmela for a night Feb. 15/13 before heading to the Algarve. The assent through the village (with roots dating back to 310BC!!) up winding lanes and corners and hill you wonder if you are on the right path. (Interestingly the GPS found a much easier route going out.) At the top you break into a large square with parking and the entry to the hotel... lovely views, historic ruins with some restoration underway, but worn info signs. The view is toward Lisbon, the air lovely, and stepping into our room we could hear the silence of the place... Our sleep was good... mattresses have some spring construction and lovely feather duvet but no cushy mattress pad. Lovely dining room on site was so appreciated so we did not have to leave and find food elsewhere... excellent service, best value was the 25 Euro per person which included all courses, lovely dessert table too. You could also make other menu choices separately. Breakfast was served in the glassed in cloister and was a spread of choices far beyond expectation. It was too cool to sit in the courtyard. The bar also has lovely chairs to relax in within the cloister area. Internet was excellent in room with cable connection they supplied. There is an elevator. All staff spoke English. This was a lovely find and touring throughout the country, moving from Pousada to Pousada might be a neat idea to do since this restored history is unique to Portugal. This is not a long stay location unless you want silence for meditation although if the place were full sounds might travel and eliminate the delicious feeling of Silence able to be heard.

Room Tip: Our room was 207 and the views were towards Lisbon... lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK/MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Pousada de Palmela
We are glad you have enjoyed the ambiance of the Pousada and we inform Pousada de Palmela was inaugurated in 1979, but the surroundings are occupied from the "Roman" period.
We would to welcome you again,
Kind Regards

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business travel. This is really a nice experience especially compared with other business hotels you may encounter. Very romanctic - would love to bring my wife with me. You won't find a better view. It would also be a very fun place for the kids, but be aware that you hear every sound in the hallways due to the stone floors.
Rooms are very different, but in general big (for european hotels). Bathrooms are maybe a bit outdated, but nice and clean and everything works.
Breakfast is superb. The restaurant offers a very cheap set menu in the evening, but portion sizes are small. The a la carte easily gets a little bit pricy.
Note, that the hotel does not offer wi-fi connection in rooms (the signal probably won't be able to pass the thick brick walls). There is supposed to be a cabled connection, on one visit I didn't
make it work.
Also note that it may take some time to get a taxi in the morning.
In general this hotel offers fantastic value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karsten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The pousada is located on a hill. From the room you have a beautiful view of Lisbon, especially in the evening, gorgeous. As expected, the rooms are tastefully furnished. As in many historic pousadas, it is a pleasure to admire the corridors and halls.
A car is necessary to discover the surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ovar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Gerente at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank your for your useful review on Pousada de Palmela.
We are glad you have been able to enjoy the view to Lisboa, and Pousada facilities.
We would be delighted do welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal.

Best regards,

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmela
5.0 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel do Sado Business & Nature
24.9 mi away
Pousada de Alcacer do Sal Dom Afonso II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
RIO Art Guesthouse
RIO Art Guesthouse
#1 of 18 in Setubal
41 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Setubal
Novotel Setubal
#3 of 18 in Setubal
496 reviews
3.0 mi away
Luna Esperanca Centro
Luna Esperanca Centro
#5 of 18 in Setubal
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel

Property: Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel
Address: Estrada de Palmela, Palmela 2950-317, Portugal (Formerly Pousada Castelo de Palmela)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Palmela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Palmela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Castelo de Palmela is located in the historic centre of the city of Palmela, 42 km from Lisbon. Sitting 230 metres above sea level, it has fantastic views of the Serra da Arrábida, over the Atlantic ocean and over the lowlands and vineyards of the region. The Pousada includes cloisters from the old convent constructed in the castle. The Pousada de Palmela offers an elegant restaurant where you can enjoy a variety of local dishes paired with beautiful local wine. Also visit the Pátio do Pessegueiro and contemplate the beauty of the scenery. Each room features different decor and is equipped with a TV and free Wi‑Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing