We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and calm site, far from Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Palmela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I f you're looking for relaxation and romance, this is the place...35 km from Lisbon, this hotel lies in the top of a mountain, with fortified walls and historic buildings and remains just few meters from the entry. Very kind people (Fernanda, Orlando, Diogo and Artur) will provide a pleasant stay in this 18 century building (but in good state of conservation). Ask for a glass of the licorous Moscatel, region wine. Clean rooms, with lots of space (I had a sofa on mine, 115), heat/cool system, honest restaurant (with delicious portuguese traditional deserts). The hotel area is itself a place to visit. Not good : of course, forget this place if you don't have a car. Bad : cable internet (?), having to renew the password daily and the phones got silent for a entire day...communication can be a problem here. I left the hotel at 8:00am with nobody in the front desk...I took my luggage by myself. I will comeback.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the Vale dos Barris view. Gorgeous sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delaplanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Pousada de Palmela.
We are glad you have enjoyed the ambiance of the Pousada.
It was a great pleasure to meet you.
Until your next visit, best regards.

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 345 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed on March 18 with no reservation. When we asked about rate, were quoted 99 Euros with breakfast (we thought it must be a mistake but it was not) and given an upgrade to view room (#105). Very nice view from the Pousada, located on a hill, to the coast about 5 KM away. (If you want to stay closer to water, look at Pousada Setubal).

Had their promotional dinner, 25 Euros each, 4 courses and quite good excepting first course meza which was mediocre. Main was fish (river Breem) and perfectly prepared, fileted table-side. Good service. (I figure if business is slow, which it was, eat the daily special since the fish is unlikely to have been frozen.) Nice wines and fair prices.

The Pousada is in castle so It has a nice walk, views, and an adjacent museum.

Strange smell in room and small, inconveniently arranged bathroom were the only negatives.

It is close to 5 star. A great value.

Room Tip: The view rooms are worth a splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbertolott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your opinion about Pousada de Palmela.
Your feedback is much appreciated, in order to always provide the best of services, and we will take it into consideration.
We hope to surpass your expectations on your next visit to Pousadas de Portugal.

Best regards,

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed her one night after spending four previous nights in other Pousadas. So we have good comparison experience. The hotel part is quite nice and would be a four star, but our dining room experience for dinner was pretty bad. My wife an I each ordered fish, one Monk Fish, and one poached Cod. The Pousada IS right on the coast. The Cod had terrible texture, like it was badly freezer burned. Her Monk fish could not be cut with a fish knife. Think it may have been badly undercooked. Sent both back which is rare for us. Ordered a pork dish that used meat from the neck of the animal. Greasy. Won't do that again. The dining room was empty except for one other patron. The head waiter talked to him almost the entire time as if he was his long-lost brother. We got the bus boy, I think. He had no capability in English. We also declined the typical service of bread and olives, for which the charge is a heafty 5 Euros EACH. Opted instead for soup, which was fair but not great. When the bill came, sure enough, the bread charge was there. Head waiter was called over and he gruffly consented to remove that item from bill along with charge for a glass of wine that was also not purchased. Bottom line, they have no business because the price is high, service poor, and food bad. Suggest dining in some cool place in the nearby village. Our experience in the other four Pousada dining rooms was much better so don't hesitate to stay in these historic places.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMartinflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Palmela and for taking the time to sharing your opinio, we carefully read.

We deeply regret that your meal at our Pousada did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced.
We look forward to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal.
Best regards,

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We landed in Lisbon tired and had booked the Pousada in Palmela for a night Feb. 15/13 before heading to the Algarve. The assent through the village (with roots dating back to 310BC!!) up winding lanes and corners and hill you wonder if you are on the right path. (Interestingly the GPS found a much easier route going out.) At the top you break into a large square with parking and the entry to the hotel... lovely views, historic ruins with some restoration underway, but worn info signs. The view is toward Lisbon, the air lovely, and stepping into our room we could hear the silence of the place... Our sleep was good... mattresses have some spring construction and lovely feather duvet but no cushy mattress pad. Lovely dining room on site was so appreciated so we did not have to leave and find food elsewhere... excellent service, best value was the 25 Euro per person which included all courses, lovely dessert table too. You could also make other menu choices separately. Breakfast was served in the glassed in cloister and was a spread of choices far beyond expectation. It was too cool to sit in the courtyard. The bar also has lovely chairs to relax in within the cloister area. Internet was excellent in room with cable connection they supplied. There is an elevator. All staff spoke English. This was a lovely find and touring throughout the country, moving from Pousada to Pousada might be a neat idea to do since this restored history is unique to Portugal. This is not a long stay location unless you want silence for meditation although if the place were full sounds might travel and eliminate the delicious feeling of Silence able to be heard.

Room Tip: Our room was 207 and the views were towards Lisbon... lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK/MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Manager at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Pousada de Palmela
We are glad you have enjoyed the ambiance of the Pousada and we inform Pousada de Palmela was inaugurated in 1979, but the surroundings are occupied from the "Roman" period.
We would to welcome you again,
Kind Regards

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business travel. This is really a nice experience especially compared with other business hotels you may encounter. Very romanctic - would love to bring my wife with me. You won't find a better view. It would also be a very fun place for the kids, but be aware that you hear every sound in the hallways due to the stone floors.
Rooms are very different, but in general big (for european hotels). Bathrooms are maybe a bit outdated, but nice and clean and everything works.
Breakfast is superb. The restaurant offers a very cheap set menu in the evening, but portion sizes are small. The a la carte easily gets a little bit pricy.
Note, that the hotel does not offer wi-fi connection in rooms (the signal probably won't be able to pass the thick brick walls). There is supposed to be a cabled connection, on one visit I didn't
make it work.
Also note that it may take some time to get a taxi in the morning.
In general this hotel offers fantastic value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karsten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The pousada is located on a hill. From the room you have a beautiful view of Lisbon, especially in the evening, gorgeous. As expected, the rooms are tastefully furnished. As in many historic pousadas, it is a pleasure to admire the corridors and halls.
A car is necessary to discover the surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ovar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Gerente at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your useful review on Pousada de Palmela.
We are glad you have been able to enjoy the view to Lisboa, and Pousada facilities.
We would be delighted do welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal.

Best regards,

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Worth staying here for one night. Not much to do in area but the castle/pousada are worth seeing. We arrived early in the afternoon, explored the old village, had lunch, explored the castle and church, had a nice dinner at the pousada and that was it! Located on the top of the highest hill in the area, the 360 degree views were impressive. This pousada has a lot of interesting artwork and has been restored very nicely. To get to this pousada, our GPS took us up through the old village on very narrow, steep cobblestone streets including a confusing detour. There's an easier but a bit longer road that goes around on the North side of the hill/village - take that road unless you like a challenge. This was the second pousada of our 15 day trip.

Room Tip: Our room faced North with views of the old village and in the distance Lisbon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canoeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Palmela, Gerente at Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Pousada de Palmela.
We are glad you have enjoyed the ambiance of the Pousada and vilage.
Until your next visit, best regards.

Orlando Araújo
Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmela
5.0 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
14.0 mi away
Hotel do Mar
Hotel do Mar
#3 of 7 in Sesimbra
647 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Setubal
Novotel Setubal
#3 of 18 in Setubal
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel do Sado Business & Nature
24.9 mi away
Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal
Pousada Castelo Alcacer do Sal
#1 of 3 in Alcacer do Sal
341 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel

Address: Estrada de Palmela, Palmela 2950-317, Portugal (Formerly Pousada Castelo de Palmela)
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Palmela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Palmela
Price Range: $97 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Castelo de Palmela is located in the historic centre of the city of Palmela, 42 km from Lisbon. Sitting 230 metres above sea level, it has fantastic views of the Serra da Arrábida, over the Atlantic ocean and over the lowlands and vineyards of the region. The Pousada includes cloisters from the old convent constructed in the castle. The Pousada de Palmela offers an elegant restaurant where you can enjoy a variety of local dishes paired with beautiful local wine. Also visit the Pátio do Pessegueiro and contemplate the beauty of the scenery. Each room features different decor and is equipped with a TV and free Wi‑Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing