We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good house, shame about NO GOLF available”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmela Village Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Palmela
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good house, shame about NO GOLF available”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We rented a house within this complex from a portuguese family via 'owners direct'. The house and pool were absolutely fine, the children loved it. Only when we took a walk around part of the golf course did it become aparent - there was NO GOLF - yes they are cutting and watering the course, the greens are being looked after (not the bunkers.... full of weeds), there were no pins, no hole info, no pro shop, no equipment .... nothing!
The house owner actually said to us... 'please don't ask me about the golf...' Read into that what you will.
If you want a nice peaceful holiday, 25 minutes from a beach, 40 minutes from Lisbon, and don't want to play golf, it's very nice.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CGOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
19
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We are just back from Palmela Village resort, stayed in a villa which was fabulous with its own pool...glorious! The clubhouse has a lovely menu, although limited but service is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marytravellerCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Just back from Palmela village. Had a lovely relaxing holiday. Apartments well maintained and clean. Service excellent. It's a very new resort in the heart of portugal. and has excellent potential. It's not over commercialised like the Algarve. Will defo be back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2flipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

we're just back from Palmela, and we're getting ready to book again for next year, and this time we're going to stay longer!! It's lovely quiet peacful resort. The pool is fantastic, the club house is great, just wish it had longer opening hours, because th food is fab. Loads of lovely restaurants within a 5/10 min taxi drive and then there's Setubal, lovely! This resort is in the early stages of development and from what we've seen it will be brilliant and we're looking forward to enjoying it further. This year we went there with a few friends and their children (under 12), they had a ball!! and so did we. Cant wait for next year. Nearly forgot, we had 2 golfers with us who thought the course has great potential!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Palmela Village is a little gem of a holiday destination away from the norm, set in the very beautiful Arrabida region on the edge of Quinta Do Anjo, great for access to all the beaches of the blue coast, 20 mins to most, and access to montado, peru, and ribagolf golf courses amongst others, also only 30 mins from the heart of lisbon. Very safe for children and our 8 yr old said she had the best holiday ever!!! It's well worth speaking to the reception staff re restaurants and bars and i found a palmela village page on facebook with lots of great tips on places to go. All in all i would highly recommend this resort for anyone looking to get away. We stayed 20 days and will most definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnmc363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I wasn't actually expecting much from Palmela Resort as it's pretty new and still in the process of being fully completed however after a 10 day stay in an apartment in Palmela me and my partner can't wait to go back.

The resort is actually in lovely little town called Quinto do Anjo right beside Palmela. You can walk right of of the resort and go to the shops or bars. The resort is right off the main road to Setubal and Lisbon, really handy.

The resort itself was well maintanined and defintely met the standard of that in the brochure. Anything you need and the girls at reception are always more than happy to help you. The rooms were well equipped with anything you could possibly need (apart from an iron which sadly we learnt the hard way!) but there was everything from the super power oven to the huge fridge freezer and dishwasher. The air conditoning/heating unit was one of the best we've ever had anywhere!

The pool area was nice and quiet most of the time which was good considering it's the school summer holidays. We ate in the clubhouse restaurant twice (Fri and Sat as at the minute these are the only 2 evenings they serve a dinner menu) and the food was gorgeous. The fish dishes were really excellent and the staff always bent over backwards. The clubhouse bar was actually meant to close at 8pm each night during the week however most nights staff happily stayed until the wee hours as most people wanted to stay there a bit longer than that.

We played golf one of the days. I'm not normally a golf fan but it was a really enjoybale course to play (the prices were also VERY reasonable).

There was such a mix of groups and people there which was great. I would definitely recommended Palmela Resort for couple of any age and families. There's plenty to do in and out of the resort and we can't wait to go back but hopefully we'll stay in one of the luxury townhouses next time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BelfastLady86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmela
4.5 mi away
Pousada de Palmela Historic Hotel
7.1 mi away
Hotel Montado & Golf Resort
9.6 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Novotel Setubal
Novotel Setubal
#2 of 18 in Setubal
485 reviews
17.1 mi away
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
#1 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
587 reviews
7.6 mi away
RIO Art Guesthouse
RIO Art Guesthouse
#3 of 18 in Setubal
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmela Village Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmela Village Golf Resort

Property: Palmela Village Golf Resort
Address: Av. Jose Manuel Eca de Queiroz, Palmela 2950-580, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Palmela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Palmela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Palmela Village Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmela Village Golf Hotel Palmela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing