We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Obidos is a charming village to spend a couple of nights. We really liked Casa Das Senhoras from the first moment we arrived.... after a long flight from Canada we were welcomed with a refreshing welcome drink on our balcony!

Rooms were very clean with modern washrooms. We could not get the wireless internet from our room (as walls are so thick) - but we could from the sitting room next to the lobby and/or on the outside terrace. We had dinner at the restaurant the first evening and the food was very good! and breakfast the next morning was great also with eggs cooked how you like them! Also, complimentary port was in your room to enjoy after a long day of sightseeing - it was maybe not the greatest port but I think still a nice gesture and a great way to end the day!

The 2nd night we had dinner at the castle restaurant... I am not 100% but I think if you are not staying at the castle you do not get the premium tables with the views... I guess I can kind of understand that... food was good though. It is nice to stay in the village as you can walk the streets at night without the crowds.

If you are driving it is tricky finding out to get into the walled village... we stopped at the tourist info building to get directions and we still got lost... tight turns so hopefully you have a small car... plus parking is very scarce by the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 226 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2008

We stayed here on one of our last nights in Portugal, after having wonderful experiences in Lisbon, Palmela, Evora, Marvao, Aveiro and the Duoro River valley region. I guess if you hadn't seen a walled city before, Obidos might be worth a visit but not an overnight stay. It takes about an hour to experience the very touristy attractions, and as everyone has mentioned, it's very difficult to find the hotel let alone drive to it. We arrived during a Christmas festival and were told we couldn't drive in, so we lugged our luggage over the cobblestones, noting that our hotel was not even listed on the central sign. We finally asked a cabbie, who drew us a map. But even then, the only sign on the hotel is a painted one on a wall. If you miss that, you miss the hotel. Our room was on the ground floor, small but with a patio. Breakfast was good; we were the only people staying at the hotel. We skipped dinner. As I said, this was the only hotel we regretted booking on our whole two week trip.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank centralcoastlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Wonderful accommodation and hospitality at this delightful boutique hotel located within the walled town of Obidos. The room was spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished.Our room had a small balcony which added to its charm and we enjoyed sitting there surrounded by the ambience of this Queens Town. Friendly,helpful staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and special touches such as the fruit bowl,chocolate cake and Port wine set the tone for a truely memorable experience. We had breakfast in the restaurant and it was exquisite - freshly prepared and superbly presented(we regretted not having dinner here the previous night!)
A tip for those of you travelling by car the entry into the city walls is not clearly marked and very narrow - a phone call to the hotel reception before negotiating around city walls will ease the stress!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank meadowsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed four nights, eating in the restaurant for two of them.

Our tower room was large, nicely decorated, with a good bathroom & views over the walls & also up the lane opposite the hotel.

Every day you are given fresh fruit, local cherry liqueur, & chocolate cup-cakes in the room.

The breakfast was huge, and the dinners were fabulous food. Yes, more expensive than the local restaurants, but also more gourmet & international - some of the local restaurants's food was quite heavy.

They show you how to drive into the village- it is one way in, through a tiny arch then along narrow cobbled streets, so you can park in front of the hotel.

We would recommend Obidos & this hotel very hightly - at least 4 star standard, and very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

It is easy to park right outside, they will give you a free ticket. We didnt know this before we arrived so got a bit lost trying to find it. The locals were very helpful and sorted us out.

The hotel is right in the old walled town and very comfortable. Our room looked out onto the walls with a lovely balcony. Unfortunatly it was only later in the evening that we discovered the extraction unit from the restaurant kitchen was right beside our room. It was too late to change so we had to wait for the kitchen to close before we could get some sleep. Ask for one away from the kitchen.

The room was very comfortable with welcome port and cake. Everything was very clean and the room spacious. Breakfast was brought to our room, you can go to the restaurant if you wish, and served on the balcony. It was delicious.

We ate in the restaurant and were very dissapointed and thought it very expensive and the food poor. We would not eat there again. If you are not tired from flight delay, as we were, seek out somewhere else from the selection on offer in the town.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Thank you, fellow trip advisors for this little gem of a hotel. We only stayed one night, getting into town after the tour groups were gone, and driving out the next morning as the tour groups were descending. Perfect timing on our part! But thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at this hotel.
Driving into the walled town was an invigorating challenge, and fortunately, a parking place was available when we arrived.
This Hotel goes all out to welcome you, incl the fruit basket, baked goodies, and drinks provided gratis. Staff was friendly and wonderful. We had a comfortable room overlooking the wall.

We ate at the hotel restaurant and it was one of our best meals in Portugal. They put the bread for your table in the oven when you sit down. Butter is provided without asking. And dinner just got better from there, up to and including their unique selections for dessert. Breakfast was included the next morning, and exceeded our expectations with a wonderful presentation of seasonal fruit, plus more delicious bread, normal continental fare, and options for "cook to order" if preferred. Quite the Royal Treatment at the Casa das Senhoras Rainhas! If you want to experience Obidos, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripAdv100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Ok, so Obidos is a bit touristy but we absolutely loved this town. It was one of our favorites in all of Portugal. We arrived in the late afternoon and carefully drove our car through the castle walls to the hotel. We were upgraded to the tower suite which was very spacious, tastefully decorated and comfortable. However, I would have been just as happy with a room with a balcony. We had considered staying in the Pousada but the rates just seemed way to high. After walking through town and going to the Pousada I was perfectly happy with our choice. We also ate at the restaurant which was fantastic! We asked for wine assistance and had a wonderful bottle of regional wine and incredible food! This was one of our favorite places in every aspect! The breakfast which was included in our rate was also incredible-too much food I will say but all well prepared.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NikShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 15 in Obidos
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 15 in Obidos
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#5 of 15 in Obidos
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo
0.8 mi away
Exe Vila D'Obidos
Exe Vila D'Obidos
#11 of 15 in Obidos
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Senhoras Rainhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Senhoras Rainhas

Address: Rua Padre Nunes Tavares, No. 6, Obidos 2510-999, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
Price Range: $119 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa das Senhoras Rainhas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa das Senhoras Rainhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Das Senhoras Rainhas Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing