We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Find but Worth It!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hard to Find but Worth It!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel was the most difficult to find in all our travels! It's just inside the walled city but actually in the wall! I couldn't believe the car was going to fit thru the key hole opening in the wall around the city! Locals will help direct you...just keep asking "which way?" The staff was helpful and the city of Obidos is truly a step back into the Middle Ages! Was somewhat crowded in the day time but by 5PM all the tourists leave! We had a wonderful room "Lenore" with a big patio facing the wall of the city. It just made me feel as if I was sitting in a part of history I read about ! This place is a nice little gem!

Room Tip: "Lenore" is a great large room with a patio facing the wall of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    62
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
32
138
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a tough time finding the entrance to the city but the locals directed us to the little arched entrance that our rental car squeezed through. It was perfectly situated to explore the walled city. The food was very good, especially the codfish specialty. However, because the restaurant is on the lower level it got hot inside.

Room Tip: We got the room above the reception desk with a view of one of the churches. Highly recommend the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryT1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Staying in Obidos is like taking a trip back in time to the middle ages. The Casa das Senhoras hotel adds to the experience with unique rooms and patios onto a courtyard. The breakfast service was great. The staff were very attentive. It felt like we were on the set of Game of Thrones !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The staff at Casa das Senhoras Rainhas is absolutely some of the most professional, warm and welcoming group we've encountered. There was not one request that was not delivered over and above what we expected - for example, I asked for a glass of ice with the honor bar and the young lady stopped everything she was doing and brought me a tray with a small ice bucket, tongs, cocktail napkin and an extra glass. Additionally, dinner in the restaurant is an excellent example of typical Portuguese cuisine with a modern twist - really delicious and very reasonable prices. We can't say enough about the personal service here. I was a bit worried about whether the rooms would be updated based on photos, but not to worry, they were spotlessly clean and relatively new. Regarding the location, of course you have to expect that if you're staying inside medieval castle walls 500+ years old retrofitted for today's autos you're going to have to proactively figure out how to get around. This hotel is NOT a disappointment by any means - if you expect a chain hotel experience then you shouldn't bother with immersing yourself in the local culture through boutique hotels such as Casa das Senhoras Rainhas.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony or terrace except one that overlooks the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLCLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We received a warm welcome and attentive service from this small and central hotel. Our room (on ground floor with balcony) was comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and can be served in your room or in the restaurant. There is a comfortable lounge and an honesty bar, with good wifi connection. Although the bar did not stock beer or wine, staff were happy to bring this to us from the restaurant. Each day we returned to our room to find little chocolate 'muffins', fresh fruit, the local 'Ginginha' drink and a small bottle of water - a nice touch.

For us, this was the perfect place for a short stay in Obidos. However, don't come expecting to unpack the entire contents of a massive suitcase - the wardrobe is quite small with limited coat hangers. Also, although it is possible to park in the street outside the hotel, the approach is extremely difficult and narrow, through an arch that appears to be 'no entry' - best check the route on foot first! (There is free parking by the aqueduct, from where it is a short walk to the hotel for directions.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel said they sent driving/parking information with the reservation but they did not. We tried for over 30 minutes to find a way into the walled town. Finally, we parked and walked in. The directions they then gave us took us through a "do not enter" entrance. Besides that, it was a lovely hotel. Nice rooms, good internet. Wonderful breakfast, with eggs and breakfast meat cooked your way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenJen024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night as part of a road trip around Portugal for our honeymoon.
Positives: it's in a pretty location, and the staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming
Negatives: Massively shocked this is a 4 star. Our room was unbelievably noisy, and we couldn't sleep until 2am when people had stopped walking around and the kitchen had quietened down. Further to that, there was no hot water in the morning.
When we asked if they would consider a discount, we were offered 5% off our overall bill. Avoid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 14 in Obidos
477 reviews
5.4 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#4 of 14 in Obidos
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 14 in Obidos
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
#10 of 14 in Obidos
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Senhoras Rainhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Senhoras Rainhas

Property: Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Address: Rua Padre Nunes Tavares, No. 6, Obidos 2510-999, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa das Senhoras Rainhas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa das Senhoras Rainhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Das Senhoras Rainhas Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing