We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Real D'Obidos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to stay. wanderful rooms and tasty food. price is ok. we would recomanded for this hotel becouse it's unik attitude towrds gusts. rooms are large enough and well decoreted as like medieval style. staff also looks like workers in a castle and thay are all dressed up as well!
the location of the hotel is neerby the walls of the old city, and you can even look towrds the walls at night.

Room Tip: chack reviw of others before making resarvation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katzale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    146
    44
    11
    4
See reviews for
96
266
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel was a great find with very convenient position and an under cover car park. We had a corner suite with more room than we could use for a day stop over. Nice linen and bath rooms too. If the hotel is full, we would recommend Albergaria Josefa d' Obidos where we had an excellent dinner. Fine food and wine with a good service. Do not be put off by its proximity to the main road-the castle is just an easy walk free of traffic climbing gently through the village. The rooms are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advisorkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Real D'Obidos is a hotel with a difference. This was our 2nd stay here, 3 nights this time, so yes its a hotel we would return to! It's newly refurbished full of medieval items - suits of armor etc are scattered around the hotel and the theme continues into the rooms with four poster beds etc. The staff are all dressed up as well! Even your room key is like a medieval key! But luckily all the facilities are bang up to date.

The hotel is located just outside the medieval city walls and its easy to walk to everywhere you'll need to go to. We stayed during one of the Obidos Medieval fairs - for a small cost you enter into a world of a medieval fair! Lots of small taverns cooking and selling food, musicians, games & events etc all themed set inside part of the city walls under the main castle keep. We even joined in a bit by hiring medieval outfits for the evening (works out at an additional €3 per person). Ginja de Óbidos in its chocolate shot glass (a drink you eat!) is everywhere.

Back to the hotel, it just right - a good outdoor bar area, a swimming pool looking up at the city walls, breakfast is a self service with a selection of seems normal for Portugal including bucks fizz if you are so inclined.

You just have to stay here once, especially during a medieval fair...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Currently Staying two nights with our 1 year old daughter. The hotel had prepared the baby cot as requested, they even thought of an additional 3rd towel. The room was lovely and there is a swimming pool and a large terrace with a beautiful view available for the guests where the staff will serve you drinks. Free Wifi is available in the room and public areas.
The hotel is easy to find, indicators are placed already at the main roundabout when leaving the highway. They offer an indoor parking as well.
Breakfast is very nice, large selection of food and juices, and a babychair is also available.
The staff is extremely helpful and friendly and most speak English quite well.
To enter into the inner city, one just takes a 2 minutes walk.
Dinner is not really available, but there are many places to dine just minutes away.
They post the 'tripadvisor certificate of excellence' at the reception, and they deserve it!
If I was to mention one item of improvement, instead of charging for the pool towels, why not ask for a small deposit in case not returned?
I would definitely return here for a next stay in Obidos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurens_van_Lid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
355 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice hotel in a charming neighborhood just outside the medieval city walls. Although close to the action, the area around the hotel was relatively quiet during our stay. We found the hotel comfortable and quiet. The covered private car park is a plus, and there is a nice small pool with a good view. The coffee and orange juice at breakfast were especially good, and the rest of the breakfast fine. They let us check in early, which was much appreciated after a long flight. Non-Portuguese TV choices were more than we encountered in most other places we stayed during our trip.

My only quibbles -- the breakfast eggs would be better if there were more effort to keep them warm, and the leaky shower in our room was not fixed despite several requests. That said, I would certainly stay here again if I were to visit Obidos another time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent location next to mediaval city walls .Helpful,welcoming staff. Extremely,comfortable room & perfect bathroom facilities .
Somptueus breakfast, huge choice ,great quality.
Overall,superb value !

Room Tip: garden room 105 was very comfortable and charmingly decorated,overlooking garden terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EVETONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great location, easy to find, and comfortable hotel. We really enjoyed the style of the hotel and the tall windows opening to a view of the town walls.
One of the lovely things about this hotel is the pool with a view of the castle; unfortunately, it was a bit too cool while we were in Obidos.

Breakfast was an excellent buffet with terrific choices, especially some sweet cakes, and, as we were traveling with two toddlers, we really appreciated the fact that the tables weren't crammed together. We had lots of space. However, it is true that there were flies about.
Be warned: the hotel really doesn't have much food service other than breakfast. We tried to eat in one evening (we stayed two) but wish we hadn't. I think the food was just microwaved, but the wine was good :)

A comfortable stop. We stayed two nights and found Obidos lovely in the evening (walking back from the pousada after a delicious meal), enjoyed daytime shopping, and day tripped.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the town walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#5 of 13 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
0.1 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#6 of 13 in Obidos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Casa do Relogio
Casa do Relogio
#7 of 13 in Obidos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
#8 of 13 in Obidos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real D'Obidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real D'Obidos

Property: Hotel Real D'Obidos
Address: Rua Dom Joao de Ornelas, Obidos 2510-074, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Real D'Obidos 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque town of Obidos and constructed from a house classified municipal interest , Hotel Real D' Obidos brings to our days living in different times , with each room named after a King of Portugal and with an its decoration alluding to the time of each. The Hotel offers free Wi - Fi, garage, boxes for your pet, a living room with fireplace and honesty bar, 3 meeting rooms and meetings, games, gardens, terrace and an outdoor swimming pool overlooking the walls of Obidos Castle. It's 18 air-conditioned rooms are decorated in a medieval style, but with all the comforts that our clients deserve. Divided into three categories corresponding to three patterns stay, including : - Standard - Superior - Suite (bedroom and living room equipped with a sofa bed for up to two children) All rooms are equipped with : - Air Conditioning - LCD Cable TV - Phone - Full bathroom - Free Amenities - Safe - Minibar(on request) Situated in one of the entries of the Village, the Hotel Real D'Obidos is located in a zone of great accessibility, only 78 km away from Lisbon and only 10 minutes walk from Obidos Train Station, 10 minutes drive from Caldas da Rainha and 20 minutes drive from Peniche and the Atlantic Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Real D'Obidos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real d Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing