We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be a full 4**** hotel with some improvements”
Review of Exe Vila D'Obidos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Exe Vila D'Obidos
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Obidos
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very recent and modern hotel. Located just outside Obidos, in a very quiet area but to get to the village its best to take the car since its quite a distance to go on foot.

We appreciated the art colection (hence the name "art" in the hotel full name) which is present all around the building. The hotel has both outdoor and indoor pools though we did not tried this facilities nor the SPA or the restaurant.

The decor is modern, with plenty of white. It is not original but we liked it and the art collection really stands out. The bar was cosy and reading material was available. Complimentary drinks are on offer at the reception - the traditional "ginjinha".

Our room was small but nicely decorated (although similar to lots of other modern portugueses hotels). The aircon was ok, a choice of pillows was at our disposal (nice touch), mini-bar and safe also available. The bathroom got very steamy rapidly, so the air extraction could be much improved. The bed was confy and we had an excelent sleep.

The staff at the reception was helpfull and, when present with a complaint, surprised us with the (excelent) way in which it was surpassed.

On the low side, the breakfast is not worthy of a 4**** hotel. Not a lot of variety.

Reading the above, our level of criticism is moderate but we got a felling that, for the price, something was missing to give us the full 4**** experience, which we have tasted on several other nacional hotels. But being so recent, there is still time to improve the customer experience and present better value for money.

Room Tip: quite unusually, the standard beds are "matrimony" so if you nedd separate beds you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulomouratogomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 273 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where to begin. Let's start with the most disturbing and important factor: hygiene! At first glance the place seems clean. This is only because it's NEW. It is however not at all clean.

Our first room: we checked in and left our luggage. First impression was just that the bathroom as not very clean. We had to drive into town since the restaurant is not open - as inconvenient as that is it's actually a blessing once you experience the bad quality and sparse breakfast and the fact that there are flies everywhere. Lots and lots of flies. The girl at the reception was kind enough to recommend a place for dinner and we had a great meal there!

Coming back to our room - we went to get into bed and upon opening the sheets we saw the bed was filthy. There was hair in the sheets and stains that looked like blood. There we'd also holes on the mattress cover and more hair on the mattress pad. This to add to the flies and the dirty bathroom - we told the reception and the girl was wonderful about giving us another room. We got an upgrade also.

So we went upstairs to our upgraded room - at this point it's close to midnight. Had a nice view of the castle and there were less flies! The bed seemed clean but we couldn't help to notice we were itchy. It being late we went to bed anyway. I couldn't sleep because of how itchy my skin was. Woke up in the morning and realized with the light on, that I had a red rash all over my body. I was curious so I lifted the sheets - only to find more hair and a very dirty mattress cover. Disgusting. I suppose it's bed bugs that have me the rash? Not sure I want to consider alternatives.

We had booked two nights but one night was more than enough. I asked at the reception and was told that I won't get reimbursed for my second night. This is despicable considering the circumstances. They should really be embarrassed at their bad hygiene. I'd hate to see what the sauna or pool look like - no thanks.

Other specs: the flies are annoying in your room and not something you want to eat with at breakfast. They advertise a mini bar but really it's just an empty mini fridge in the closet. No water - nothing. They claim to be a 4 star but this a 1 star level. The fact that the furniture is new is deceptive. There's a bar and lounge but it wAs closed. Restaurant also not functioning. Our second room had a balcony but it was connected to the others so it was not private and there was no furniture on it so you couldn't use it anyway. My shower was cold. There was no hair dryer. Husbands shower was warm. Takes. Long time to heat up? The upstairs room had a robe and standard hotel spa one-use slippers. The slippers were not wrapped in plastic and also not clean - I assume they're reusing them? Doesn't surprise me when I see the filthy beds.

They obviously spent a lot of money on this place. A shame that they're not interested in managing it properly.

One last note - you need a rental car to get there. Since it's new the GPS won't find it. Make sure to print out a proper map or have a cell so you can call for directions. It's a good 2km from obidos center so you also need the car to get around

Regardless of the cheap rate this place is still over priced and not a 4* at all. A total nightmare.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mad2live482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

but if you stay in the cheapest rooms you won't feel ripped off. Well located (or not) outside the castle walls, this new hotel have a lot of good things to offer, like good views of the castle and the sanctuary. The staff is welcoming and you have a nice lounge just beside the pool. Our room was good for the price asked in high season and they should continue with bargain prices in the future or really change the following bads of this place: flies (lots fo them, the hotel have a horse farm just in front); weak breakfast for a 4 star; strange spa with sauna just in front of the reception; no elevator for the 3 storey building (cheapest rooms). Will return with good promotion fare.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a little problem booking with booking that the staff has been able to successfully solve and quickly. reception staff very courteous and helpful. even though small children were frowned upon. the rooms were clean, modern, comfortable. bathroom excellent. terrace with panoramic views over the village. international buffet breakfast plentiful and varied. excellent services swimming pool, sauna and turkish bath. hotel close to the village in the car about 5 minuti.ti allows you to enjoy the beauty of Obidos without being in the chaos of tourism. an excellent opportunity to relax. try it!

Room Tip: the second flloor is good.rooms 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank luiz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank josebernardos2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obidos hotels
5 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 16 in Obidos
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 16 in Obidos
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#5 of 16 in Obidos
460 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Beachfront Apartments
0.8 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Vila D'Obidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Vila D'Obidos

Address: Qta. Santo Antao, Obidos 2510-192, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Obidos
Price Range: $76 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Vila D'Obidos 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Exe Vila D´Óbidos has 40 rooms with all necessary services, air-conditioning, mini-bar, safety deposit box, 24-hour reception, among others. The hotel has free outdoor parking, meeting rooms, sauna, restaurant and outdoor and indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exe Vila D'Obidos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing