We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great appts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great appts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Went to Praia del ray appts on 6th October, when we walked through the door was impressed with the size. The kitchen is really impressive with everything you need. Main bedroom really spacious with plenty of cupboard space and nice ensuite, 2nd bedroom no cupboard space at all and small wardrobe space, very disappointing, nice bathroom though.Reception staff are excellent nothing too much trouble and really nice people.
We went up the road to the Italian Argento, which is lovely overlooking the sea, with lovely food too, Well worth a visit.
The Golf is 62 euros per round, if you book at reception which is cheaper, to hire clubs is 39 euros, don't forget to bring your own balls so to speak.
Hire a car is a must as quite out of the way. A visit to obidos is essential as lots of shops selling cherry liquor with a chocolate cup for 1 euro.
Will deff come here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    377
    88
    19
    14
See reviews for
317
488
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in Garden View Room (177) on a Bed & Breakfast basis.
Rented car from Avis at Lisbon Airport, easy route within hour using the toll motorways, travelled with British Airways (no excess for Golf Clubs).
Check in was very easy, nice Reception area, help offered with luggage, quite a walk to the room location that was on the outside perimeter of the Hotel complex.
Room was on ground level, and very spacious and clean, well decorated, no complaints at all.
Mrs W complained about the firmness of mattress, and topper was supplied very quickly.
Breakfast was super, could be taken inside the Restaurant or outside on the Terrace with sweeping views over the grounds and ocean.
The Indoor pool, outside pool, gym and spa were all outstanding.
My only complaint was the cost of drinks and dinner, beer 6 euro, spirit/mixer 9.5 euro, and 11.5 euro for a cocktail, buffet restaurant with various theme nights was 37 euros, and the A La Carte 50 euro plus for three courses, with wine prices to match !
We choose to eat out at various restaurants in the local area, where the prices were less than half these prices, after researching on TA, these included Argento, Cantina de Ferrel, Xakra Beach Bar and the Golf Club (I will review these under separate cover) I would recommend all of the above.
We enjoyed a fantastic break, and would not hesitate in returning to this unspoilt area of Portugual.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIMPIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I had big expectations in this hotel not only because it was one of the most knowned but also because the Portuguese football team usually stayed in. With a good directions but when I had arrived there's no any one to recive me, to pick my baggage or parking my car. The room is a bit remote from the reception but with good directions. The room was big and with the normal amenities as coffee/tea maker and with a good view to the bir golf court that this Hotel have. Then I went to the indoor pool that was a good size and for the "jacuzzy" (the water injectors had very low pressure). Then the dinner... I decided to phone to room service and request a pizza. It arrived at time but with a litle piece missing and taste like a frozen pizza i bought in the supermarket... After a good night in the confortable bed I taste the good breakfast of the hotel (one of the best thing of the hotel). Before check-out i search in the room the form for a recommendation but there's any that which made me think that the hotel have to much fame and doesn't care about the guests opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FConceicao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Staying there right now in room 277 and I don't know where to begin really: the wifi is totally useless in the rooms and even in the lobby (where it's supposed to be good) it's really bad. The food in the Atlantic Grill (buffe-restaurant) is nothing but a shame. The breakfast is ok but not what you expect of a "five star hotel". The best bar in the hotel doesn't even open until 5.30 PM. And forget it's a "golf hotel", the course is 1 kilometer away and the "shuttlebuses" is only departing every 30 minutes (isn't shuttlebuses supposed to go all the time ?) And every room is supposed to have a view of either the golfcourse or the ocean. Take a look at my picture, I don't see a golfcourse or ocean... I could go on and on about this but just stay away, there are 100 better golfresorts in Europe

Room Tip: Don't stay in any romms with room number over 270. It's far, far away from the lobby and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PelleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a time share with two other couples. Great condo, great restaurant,great golf and clubhouse! Little piece of heaven. We travelled into Lisbon by transit after being dropped off as we had a conference three days of our week. Great transit system but need to take a cab to the resort which is expensive, or have a car. Walking to restaurant was nice. Beach was nice for walking

Room Tip: Should definitely rent a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsgolfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The one thing that is excellent at this hotel is that it has excellent staff, the rooms are nice and comfortable and breakfast are good. The pool areas and the other facilities are of good quality.
However the restaurant menus and food need updating into this century as they are very dated and a poor selection
Nothing bad to say about this hotel but nothing great so just a good p,ace to stay and play golf.
A special recommendation would be a must to go and play Royal Obidos the last Seve designed course great restaurant 1st class food and I do mean 1st class if you do not play golf please go and eat here excellent!

Room Tip: Waste of money getting sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
901 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Where do I start. Well how about, it was outstanding. We loved this hotel. It started when I called about three weeks before my visit to find out how could we go wine tasting. The hotel was happy to help out and they found Lidia from Oestetur. The wine tour and her local knowledge was so nice. Lidia took us to some very nice and unique places. So glad they found her for us. Here is her web link

http://www.oestetur.com/optitravel/www/layouts/layout03/index.php

Now back to the Marriott, we had a ocean front room with a nice balcony. Each day we walked to the beach. They have a very long beach to walk each day. The water is very cold and hard to swim in. Very rough. The sunset is picture perfect. This is a not miss. You have to watch the sun sink into the sea. PERFECT.

The pool at the hotel is very nice. They have a bar at the pool, as well as a poolside restaurant, so you can grab some drinks or food if you like. I also used the spa. Nice.

Everyone at this hotel was very easy to work with. All spoke English and would help any way they could. We ate breakfast here everyday. They have a nice outdoor patio to eat and watch the birds fly by.

We found out that there was a local wine fest in one one of the towns close by. So we jumped in a cab and away we went. Our cab driver ended up being our cab driver for a few days. Anytime wine was involved, I had a taxi. The wine fest was 1 euro to get in. Then 2 euro's for the glass. After that you could try any of the 100 wines that were there. So much fun.

If you want you can also rent a car right from the hotel. So we took a cab from Lisbon to hotel for about 100 euros, then rented a car for two days, but used a taxi when needed.

We also took a taxi back to the Lisbon airport. Again around 100 euro + tip.

Really this is an outstanding place that I would be happy to go back to.

This is one that Marriott can be proud of.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view room, its worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obidos
2.7 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
7.3 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#3 of 13 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
7.4 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#5 of 13 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
7.3 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
7.3 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#6 of 13 in Obidos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort

Property: Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Dona Ines de Castro | Vale de Janelas, Obidos 2510-451, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Can you imagine a luxury hotel, worthy of a capital city, but overlooking a sandy beach on one of Europe's most serene and natural coastlines? Visualize the luxury rooms, the gorgeous food, the personalized service and the soft rumble of the ocean. Imagine no longer. You are at the Praia D'El Rey Marriott, just 45 minutes from Lisbon. The hotel offers 156 deluxe rooms, 12 premium ocean-view rooms, 8 suites and junior suites, and 1 presidential suite. Within these rooms there are 22 which have communicating doors and can host a maximum of 3 adults per room. The Praia d'El Rey Marriott hotel is located within the premises of the famous Praia d'El Rey Resort that includes a 18 holes golf course, golf and tennis academy, professional football pitch, clubhouse with a bar and restaurant, a mini market and villas, townhouses and apartments to rent out. Discover, the Real Portugal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia d`El Rey Marriott Golf And Beach Resort
Praia d`El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Hotel Obidos
Marriott Obidos
Obidos Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing