We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding 21 -23 June 2013 Marriott Praia d'el Rey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding 21 -23 June 2013 Marriott Praia d'el Rey”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our daughter got married at the Marriott and we could not have asked for a more perfect event. The staff were exceptional in manners and service - nothing was too much trouble. Bianca the wedding co-ordinator was efficiency and service personified. Rui, the Food and Beverages Manager made sure all the events ran to perfection and Cezar produced the most divine food ranging from oriental (sushi and thai green curry) to Italian to Mediterranean/lebanese (delicious soft falafals) themes. The food was displayed beautifully and nothing was ever short and all was totally fresh. The hotel areas lent itself to all the events for an Indian wedding with 240 guests! The hotel rooms are so comfortable and the party after the wedding went on all night till 6 a.m! The ballroom areas are well away from the accomodation so the entertainment did not disturb those who could not take the pace! There are separate halls which could be used for the all the various ceremonies which constitute an Indian Wedding. Thank you so much everyone for a wonderful memorable event. Never in our wildest dreams did we envision that it would be so lovely. We will be back again and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    389
    92
    20
    14
See reviews for
334
510
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Praia D'El Rey and honestly - we didn't want to leave. First of all, we travel a lot and have to admit this is the most beautiful Marriott property we've seen! The location is fabulous, basically right on the beach and on the golf course. The property itself is spotless clean and spacious with many options to relax and admire spectacular sunsets! Location is a bit remote. I disagree with some of the reviewers that you need to drive 20 minutes to have meal at the reasonable price. If you do not want to eat at the hotel there are some options on the property (Praia D'El Rey development) . The newly open Italian restaurant Argento with a spacious terrace overlooking the golf course and the beach... dinner with fantastic sunset for desert is a must if you stay here. Food is great, Sangria is delicious and prices are very reasonable. Another option is "The Links" the restaurant at the club house... at first glance it may seem to be a bit upscale and you may be worried about the prices but... a rack of lamb for 17 euros is a delicious bargain you cannot miss. Their Praia D'El Rey salad (with ham, tuna, chicken, apples, egg) for 11.60 euros is fantastic and more than sufficient for dinner.
Back to the hotel itself - breakfast is beyond your imagination- the selection of food is so huge that you wish you can taste / eat it all... their Capuccino is the best we 've ever had.
We enjoyed taking a walk on the beach - it's spectacular, so unique due to fascinating rock/ cliff formation... and not crowded at all.
And lastly our room - we got an upgrade to the ocean front - a beautiful, spacious, comfortable room with the most amazing view of the ocean (and sunsets ) you can imagine...
It truly was a dream vacation... and we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, NJ
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visiting my brother in Casicias and we took a family trip to this resort which was really amazing. Typical Marriott Resort that left nothing to be desired. Stunning, great place for peace & quiet- beautiful- great SURFING! YES< one of the world's secret surf spots. Hidden gem.

Typical Marriott - PERFECT....IN life you get what you pay for and this is a bargain in Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to an ocean view room- it's worth the effort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeromeAvalon_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Travelled with my wife and kids to the Marriott in Praia del rey. I played some golf at both Praia del rey and Royal Obidos which is only a few minutes away but my review is based more as a holiday with kids (6, 5 and 1).

In terms of the plus's from our stay you would have to say as many of the other reviews have noted its located on a lovely coastline with spectacular views and amazing sunsets. The staff we found very friendly and helpful, while our rooms were very comfortable.

That said there are quite a few negatives - Very pricey to eat and drink at the hotel - the prices seem to be based on the fact that you have really limited options unless you drive 20mins or more away. However my biggest disappointment from the trip was that I didn't realise beforehand that the sea next the hotel was really dangerous to swim in with strong rip currents - great surfing conditions but its not a safe beach to go for a swim in and hard to walk long distances on the sand - there are however plenty of safe beaches within a 20min drive towards Peniche - but for the convenience of walking from your hotel for a swim in the sea it was a let down. For the kids there was a small playground 1km away but there is an excellent kids club with the staff absolutely fantastic. Babysitting is charged at a ridiculous rate of €27 /hr which is hard to understand.

Overall I would agree with a lot of other reviewers that would question whether or not this is a five star hotel due to the poor surrounding infrastructure and overpriced / limited menu options which bring this back. Ultimately if you've got a good rate and like to play golf you'll really enjoy this location.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank decso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We actually got married here, 30 guests stayed and everyone thought it was great. You could not ask for better staff they were so genuine and willing to help, they made all of our guests feel so special. Location is great for relaxing, short drive to obidos or peniche, the hotel is right on the beach and when it's too windy the pool is perfect for relaxing. Breakfast buffet would have to be one of the best I have ever had! Definitely recommend staying here even if you plan to visit Lisbon as there are not so many tourists and you can easily drive anywhere from here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hails641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one week at the beginning of July. It seemed like summer was just starting and it was not as hot as we expected it to be. We had a few days of cloudy sky and even some rain. We did discover though, if you drive only a little ways down the coast you can often find areas that are sunny if the weather is bad at the hotel. 20 minutes can make a huge difference in weather! The hotel complex is very nice and the pool area is great! The one thing we did not like about this hotel was the food. The breakfast is the exact same thing everyday and is not very high quality. The dinner buffet does change daily, but we were not impressed with the food at all. Drinks and food are over priced at this hotel for the level of quality. This is another reason you should be SURE to have a car. There are so many great seafood restaurants around, but they are all a 20 minute drive at least - and cabs are expensive. It cost us 65 euros just to go to dinner and back. There are also a lot of beautiful beach towns in the area that you could visit if you had a car. Last tip, be sure to spend a day in Obidos - the walled city! It was a really unique thing to see and has stunning views and great places to eat and shop!

Room Tip: Ground level and ocean view are nice because you can walk out the patio door and access the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsmonden
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked this hotel to stay during our visit to some friends. The overall feel of the hotel is not one of a 5 star hotel but more of a 3 or 4 star property.
5 Stars for me mean luxury, indulgence and that little extra.
Fortunately staff are exceptionally friendly and the lady in charge of the breakfast deserves 5 stars of her own.
Prices for food and drink are just too high compared to cost of food and drink 2 miles down the road. Hotel takes advantage of location. I'd argue that renting a car will pay for itself.
Also be aware that there is a smoking bar. The smoke does get noticed in many corridors of the hotel.

Room Tip: Seaview room does give you great views. Try and stay top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenriLambriex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obidos
2.7 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
4.7 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
335 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 13 in Obidos
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 13 in Obidos
260 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
#9 of 13 in Obidos
248 reviews
7.3 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#5 of 13 in Obidos
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort

Property: Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Dona Ines de Castro, 1 | Vale de Janelas, Obidos 2510-451, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Can you imagine a luxury hotel, worthy of a capital city, but overlooking a sandy beach on one of Europe's most serene and natural coastlines? Visualize the luxury rooms, the gorgeous food, the personalized service and the soft rumble of the ocean. Imagine no longer. You are at the Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort, just 45 minutes from Lisbon. The hotel offers 156 deluxe rooms, 12 premium ocean-view rooms, 8 suites and junior suites, and 1 presidential suite. Within these rooms there are 22 which have communicating doors and can host a maximum of 3 adults per room. At the Praia D’El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort you will feel right at home. Whether having a light snack, a romantic dinner or a family meal, the hotel can accommodate your needs in one of our restaurants. The Tempera Restaurant is an all-day restaurant offering a Portuguese & Mediterranean menus combined with daily thematic buffets. Our fine dining restaurant, Romy is set in a truly romantic environment and has an extensive choice of wines and champagnes. Light meals can be enjoyed together with beautiful views at the recently renovated Lobby Bar, Contato. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service. Cuisine is taken very seriously at the Praia D’El Rey Marriott and our Chefs take great pride and pleasure in their creations, ensuring you savour the very best. From signature local dishes to mouth-watering international delicacies, you will definitely be spoiled by the selection offered. A perfect ending to another perfect day at the Praia D’El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort. Praia D’El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort is dedicated to providing you with a sense of total wellbeing. A state of the art fitness centre is available for your workout, including an indoor heated pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath. Also available is the Kalyan SPA where you can choose a relaxing or invigorating massage, beauty treatments such as facials, manicures and pedicures, or try exotic body polishing, hydrotherapy and reflexology. Whatever your preference, the options are endless. Wireless internet is free in all the Hotel areas. The Praia d'El Rey Marriott hotel is located within the premises of the famous Praia d'El Rey Resort that includes a 18 holes golf course, golf and tennis academy, two restaurants - Club House and Mare - with magnificient golf course and Ocean views, a mini market and villas, townhouses and apartments to rent out. Discover, the Real Portugal! Our resort is conveniently located half way between the Fishermans village of Peniche and the medieval Obidos town, at approximately 15 minutes distance by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia d`El Rey Marriott Golf And Beach Resort
Praia d`El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Hotel Obidos
Marriott Obidos
Obidos Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing