We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romy's Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Romy's Restaurant”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

As we have place out here we visit regularly and by far the best local restaurant to the resort is the fine dining at Romy's situated within the Marriott. Excellent cuisine and excellent service. A nice place to visit if you want to treat yourself when you are away and dress up for an evening. A mixture of Poruguese and International cuisine. Beautifully presented and excellent waiting staff. Not too expensive for the quality of food. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    397
    93
    20
    16
See reviews for
347
522
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with how beautiful the hotel and the grounds were. The resort is right on the coast, with picturesque walking paths and stairs down to the beach. We came in the off-season, but I could see how popular this place would be in the summer months. The hotel, while slightly outdated with the carpets, decor, etc. was comfortable and the staff was friendly. Full breakfast buffet in the morning with lots of choices. Would definitely stay there again! Well worth the drive from Madrid. :)

Room Tip: Make sure to get an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili, East Timor
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The building is very nice and spacious, the rooms are very big and nice and the beds very confortable. The ones with sea view are the best.
The hotel is a bit away from the town, far enough for you to need the car. If you are planning to drink at dinner or going out is not a good option because you'll have to drive.
The breakfast is huge, a good variety of all kind of fruits, breads, cakes, jams. Like a king's table.
I already stayed here in a business event and with my family

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wonderful stay, the hotel didn't have that many guests so it was perfect and the service impecable. The food in the restaurant is very good. Surfwise you have some beachbreaks right in front of the hotel and is very close to other top quality waves. Choose a beachfront room, what a view!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I had 7 days vacation here. Our 'normal' lives are very busy and stressful so we wanted a break 'away from it all'. It certainly delivered, it was excellent, 'just what the doctor ordered'. Location great, staff great, food pretty good and weather not bad to say it was November. We had a room overlooking the ocean which was well worth it. The only downsides if you are considering staying here are, it is remote with no bars or nightlife nearby so you really need a car (which we had). The sea can be quite rough, not good for swimming (especially for children) but hotel has excellent indoor and outdoor pool. Wife used the spa and was happy with it. Summary, if you want an 'away from it all break' this is the place, if you are looking for a wide choice of places to eat, drink and party this is not for you. To be fair we are Marriott fans but for good reason and this certainly hit the spot.

Room Tip: Go for ocean view room, all have balconies and you can hear the ocean which is very theraputic. Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maltbyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The golf course is fantastic and so is the club house, where you can enjoy an excellent dinner. The hotel is very confortable with large rooms. The staff is extremely friendly and service minded. The resort is a little far away from anywhere, so the amazing coast line and the very nice beach invite you to relax when not playing golf.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This a really top quality hotel which is a marvelous building and in a wonderful location by the sea.
Access to a deserted beach is easy and we loved walking for miles along the shore with only the breaking waves for company. The sea is a a bit dangerous for swimming in but the hotel has a huge outdoor pool and an indoor one too.
If you like golf then this is a truly great location as there is a top of the range course next to the hotel. Most of the guests were there for the golf and seemed to be thoroughly enjoying themselves.
Surfing is the other major activity along this coast though not next to his hotel. You would have to drive a few miles for that but the drives along this spectacular coastline are yet another pleasure.
A couple of downsides. The hotel is a long way from anywhere else so if you want to go out and eat then it is a 20 minute drive. Also out of the holiday season the general area is very deserted, almost like ghost towns as many of the houses are holiday homes or lets.

Room Tip: Ocean view would be my recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roamingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obidos
2.7 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
4.7 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 10 in Peniche
354 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 13 in Obidos
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Soleil Peniche
Hotel Soleil Peniche
#2 of 10 in Peniche
429 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
#9 of 13 in Obidos
251 reviews
7.4 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 13 in Obidos
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort

Property: Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Address: Avenida Dona Ines de Castro, 1 | Vale de Janelas, Obidos 2510-451, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Can you imagine a luxury hotel, worthy of a capital city, but overlooking a sandy beach on one of Europe's most serene and natural coastlines? Visualize the luxury rooms, the gorgeous food, the personalized service and the soft rumble of the ocean. Imagine no longer. You are at the Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort, just 45 minutes from Lisbon. The hotel offers 156 deluxe rooms, 12 premium ocean-view rooms, 8 suites and junior suites, and 1 presidential suite. Within these rooms there are 22 which have communicating doors and can host a maximum of 3 adults per room. At the Praia D’El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort you will feel right at home. Whether having a light snack, a romantic dinner or a family meal, the hotel can accommodate your needs in one of our restaurants. The Tempera Restaurant is an all-day restaurant offering a Portuguese & Mediterranean menus combined with daily thematic buffets. Our fine dining restaurant, Romy is set in a truly romantic environment and has an extensive choice of wines and champagnes. Light meals can be enjoyed together with beautiful views at the recently renovated Lobby Bar, Contato. The hotel also offers 24 hour room service. Cuisine is taken very seriously at the Praia D’El Rey Marriott and our Chefs take great pride and pleasure in their creations, ensuring you savour the very best. From signature local dishes to mouth-watering international delicacies, you will definitely be spoiled by the selection offered. A perfect ending to another perfect day at the Praia D’El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort. Praia D’El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort is dedicated to providing you with a sense of total wellbeing. A state of the art fitness centre is available for your workout, including an indoor heated pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath. Also available is the Kalyan SPA where you can choose a relaxing or invigorating massage, beauty treatments such as facials, manicures and pedicures, or try exotic body polishing, hydrotherapy and reflexology. Whatever your preference, the options are endless. Wireless internet is free in all the Hotel areas. The Praia d'El Rey Marriott hotel is located within the premises of the famous Praia d'El Rey Resort that includes a 18 holes golf course, golf and tennis academy, two restaurants - Club House and Mare - with magnificient golf course and Ocean views, a mini market and villas, townhouses and apartments to rent out. Discover, the Real Portugal! Our resort is conveniently located half way between the Fishermans village of Peniche and the medieval Obidos town, at approximately 15 minutes distance by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Praia D'El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praia d`El Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Hotel Obidos
Praia d`El Rey Marriott Golf And Beach Resort
Marriott Obidos
Obidos Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing