We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better for lunch?”
Review of Cantina Criativa - CLOSED

Cantina Criativa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Just a 5 minute drive from Obidos, this quiet and welcoming restaurant is located in a XVI Century Franciscan CONVENTO DE S.MIGUEL in GAEIRAS surrounded by pleasant gardens. Inspired in the rich Portuguese cuisine with frequent incursions to the spices, flavors and aromas from around the world.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
196 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Better for lunch?”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went for dinner and couldn't find this place more than average. It's located inside a monastery among several small enterprises. The menu for our night was a bit disapointing, with only 6 choices. However it's a very cosy place and they have a very good liver paté for starter. It looked the experience could be better during the day and with other menu options.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank World S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    18
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A must!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

In an ancient monastery, this restaurant is not easily found but is definitely worth your time. Limited choice but excellent fresh food, vrey carefully cooked and divinely assembled. And you'll feel at home immediately. Do not hesitate, take a drive to Gaeiras!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sdl1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good,but not that amazing as the majority of reviews claims.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The place is situated in the nice surroundings of the convent.However,once inside, the restaurant itself is not that special.The service was very friendly but the food is nothing really special.Not bad either,just pretty standard Portuguese.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReizendeRoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Still as good as last year!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We found this restaurant last year and had such a great meal we thought we would try it again.
This restaurant is run by husband and wife Filipe & Marta who create some fantastic dishes using fresh local produce. Unique setting, great service, food is very good and Filipe has some great local wines which provide an ideal accompaniment. Excellent value for money, I think this is the best restaurant in Obidos, we hope to return next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serious chill out. Food a little different with a very homely feel. Very relaxed setting and if you don't get too stressed abou”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Limited selection but everything tasted great. I would keep coming back. The chef. ( and presumably) his wife on point made for that feeling of really wanting things to be right. I think they would be open to byo as their wine selection was hit and miss with a lot of wines 'off'....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank connietheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina Criativa also viewed

 
Obidos, Leiria District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing