We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves to be loved, but weather conditions not favourable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa D'Obidos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa D'Obidos
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
Brit in France
Level Contributor
230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Deserves to be loved, but weather conditions not favourable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The welcome, Service & breakfast are easily top class, and deserve 6 out of 5 if it were possible!

Unfortunately, miserable weather during our short stay made us want to leave as quicly as possible. We had a small apartment, Casa Terezinha, which was cute in an olde worlde sort of way, but suffers the disadvantages, also. Despite the new modern windows the apartment just wouldn't warm up, there had been heavy rain and mist etc, for the best part of a week, and the apartment seemd damp, even with 2 electric heaters it didn't really get cosy.

The bedding is a bit too soft and rickety, it could do with a good hotel standard bed.

If the sun had been shining, I'm sure I would have given 4 out of 5, and as I've already said, the breakfast was great!

Room Tip: Main House, maybe ? but even that was suffering from the cold and damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stopeter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsarmento, Gerente at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Sir /Madam

Casa Teresinha is a very cosy apartment. We are making some improvements to make it better and more confortable to everyone.

Best regards and hope to see you in another oportunity

Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    86
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
47
142
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

staff very friendly and helpful, location just outside of Obidos, excellent breakfast. Mariana, manager, made everything possible to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. And also used her knowledge of Obidos to arrange a nice restaurant for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank durcesio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsarmento, Gerente at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Sir /Madam

I would like to thank you for coming to Casa d'Óbidos. We always do the best to improve and your review was very usefull.

Looking forward to meet you again

Best regards

Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed in the Leonor apartment for one night in February 2014. We arrived late afternoon and were welcomed by Marianne and shown around the apartment, which was very cosy with a genuine local rustic feel, equipped with everything you could need and spotlessly clean. The view from the terrace just outside the apartment, up to the castle at Obidos is delightful so we wrapped up warm and sat outside with a bottle of wine to enjoy the sunset. Since we were only there for one night, Marianne invited us to have breakfast in the main house next morning, even though this is not normally included for self catering guests. The breakfast was amazing with local and home made produce. The house is a traditional period property - I expect the bedrooms are full of character. It's a shame we were only there for one night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadObidos, Manager at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Madam

It is with greta pleasure that I read your review. Thak you very much.
I must say that you are helping us with very good motivation to work all year always with the prespective to please with a TOP service. Small details are the best experience that we can offer and we effort to give them to every one.

Best wishes and see you some other day maybe in Óbidos

Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinoso, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I would like to tell you about my stay in Casa D Obidos. The people who work there including the friendly and helpful gardener Louisse are absolutely wonderful. The accommodation is old world but clean and comfortable. there is a great view of the castle which has a lovely old town within its walls, At night from the patio area you can see the castle lit up. I would highly recommend this lovely old manor house and the local town of Obidos. My only advice would be to be aware of the toll road from Lisbon. We were not warned by the car hire company infact they said go straight through when its on green but only a few miles further up we ended up with a penalty and it cost us 59 Euro which we were not pleased about. So traveller beware - when it says take the ticket you take the ticket and pay at the next toll booth. The surrounding area of Obidos is very beautiful. recommend to go to Foz spectacular sea area. The Obidos area is a micro climate so you will be surprised at the quality and variety of fruits etc that they are able to grow including a local vineyard. I can only say good things about Casa D Obidos and its wonderful staff and lovely Marianne the manager. I will definitely be going back and maybe even to live there. Hope this little review helps you to decided on your stay.

Room Tip: Inside the house is beautiful and all the rooms are lovely. there is self catering cottages in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadObidos, Manager at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Sir and Madam

It is with great pleasure that we say it was a pleasure to meet you at Casa d'Óbidos.
I enjoyed every moment in your company and we hope that in your new trip to Portugal that you can visit us to enjoy a glass of Porto in the balcony with the view for the Castle.

I hope to see you again.

Best wishes

Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We travelled to Obidos to complete our purchase of a property just outside of neighbouring Caldas Da Rainha, and needed some respite from all the bureaucracy that this whole process entails (and believe me, that's plenty).

We couldn't possibly have chosen a better place to stay than Casa d'Obidos. Marianne was helpful and attentive right from the moment of our arrival, Mimi (the housekeeper) a treasure and what must be the friendliest cat in the world (Tico?) - who became a truly wonderful and much missed companion to us now that we have returned to England..

The phrase "rustic charm" does not do justice to the elegance of the decor and the ambience of the location, the whole place is stunning in a truly authentic Portuguese way. Nice and cosy for the cooler December evenings (superb heating), the beds very comfortable and nice little touches (welcoming port and cakes, fresh rolls in the morning, and great wi-fi provision) made it (Casa Matilde) a true "home away from home".

Some good restaurants in the area, we especially liked the "O Caldeirao" situated by the old church (5 minute walk). I suspect the place we stayed may possibly become a bit noisy with people in the floor above us (solid wood flooring) but we were certainly not troubled at all during our visit..

We have stayed in many 3 & 4 star hotels in Portugal, and even one 5 star, but this was the most welcoming, comfortable and attractive place we have yet had the pleasure to enjoy. Tell Tico we shall be returning, for Casa d'Obidos thoroughly deserves the 10/10 rating it gets from us.

Room Tip: Casa Matilde has great heating,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadObidos, Manager at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to welcome you at Casa d'Óbidos. We hope to see you again. I really apreciated your evaluation and I will transmit to our staff your feed back. It is with your opinion that we have happiness and joy to continue working in the right direction.

Thank you very much and see you in a corner of the world.

Mariana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Okay, this is definitely not the typical hotel stay you are looking for! It is better!!!

We stayed at the 1 bedroom apartment - Teresinha for one night in Dec. We loved the spacious apartment, the amentities (fridge, microwave, kitchen, living room, and a nice dinning room table), and the fact that we did not have to worry about any neighboring roo m noises or footsteps from upstairs. If you wanna see some pictures from the apartment, feel free to send me a message.

Other reviewers have complained about the bed being hard...I noticed that they added a nice soft topper on our bed, which really helped! The only small issue i had was that the apartment did not come with any built-in heaters but it did come with 2 portable heaters...we are from new york but the temperature at night here could be brutal without a built-in heating system.

We had a rental car so we didn't walk to town. The drive to the castle was easy and the two restaurants right by the casa (next to the church) are highly recommended (read my other review...).

The main house has a nice common room with a pool table so you can relax there and play some games. The hotel also has an outdoor pool (not heated) and a tennis court if you are interested.

Lastly, if you spot their cat - Tigo (sp?), give him a nice pat as he is super friendly!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayonaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsarmento, Manager at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Sir /Madam

Thank you very much for your kind words. We hope to welcome you again here in this little corner of Portugal.

Best regards

Mariana Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex,
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Enjoyed 3 nights here for a golfing trip, the only downside was we played too early in the morning twice to enjoy the splendid communal breakfast. What a spread! No need for lunch after that..
Large bedrooms & proportionally massive bathrooms, old style furniture & fittings complemented the solid casa exterior. Very friendly welcome, lots of information &advice where to eat nearby & all 3 local eateries amongst the best reviewed by TA. The walled town is certainly worth an hour or two to get the flavour of Portugues life a few centuries ago. This is traditional Portugal, very welcoming & friendly, & fortunately as far away as coroporate hotels as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenhouseuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsarmento, Manager at Casa D'Obidos, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for your review.
We had the joy of welcome you at Casa d'Óbidos and we are happy that we contribute to a happy stay in Portugal

See you in another oportunity.

Best regards

Mariana Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#3 of 13 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
5.4 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#5 of 13 in Obidos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa do Relogio
Casa do Relogio
#7 of 13 in Obidos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
#8 of 13 in Obidos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa D'Obidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa D'Obidos

Property: Casa D'Obidos
Address: Quinta de San Jose 2510-135, Obidos 2510-135, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa D'Obidos 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 19th century, Casa d’ Óbidos was built by the Mr. Garrelon, an engineer from the Eiffel team, who established himself there to lead the railway construction. It’s located in an environmentally protected area, which allows the guest to enjoy a quiet environment and magnificent views of the castle of Óbidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa D'Obidos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa d Obidos
Casa d Hotel Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing