We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable and very over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estalagem Do Convento
Ranked #10 of 22 Obidos B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable and very over-priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked a suite for 150€ Including breakfast and were expecting something a little more luxurious than a standard room. Suite 1's sitting room is dark and gloomy with a small high window and the sofa is a sofa bed to be used by those with extended families. In Australia we would call Suite 1 a family room and would have avoided it like the plague. The bed was nothing short of an insomniac's dream - thin, hard mattress, which given its age, was probably left by the nuns. The pillows were made out of lumps of foam, and the head rests in economy on a long haul flight would have seemed like goose down in comparison. Bathrooms were basic but at least there were two of them. The hotel itself has some genuine character and the reception staff are outstanding but not so the breakfast which is basic, boring and just not good enough at these prices. Wifi is free and so is parking outside the property. We would probably have faired better if we had chosen a room rather than a suite but charging a150€ for such sub-standard accommodation, even in the tourist Mecca of Obidos, is totally unforgiveable and I'm sure wouldn't be tolerated by the original occupants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    32
    17
    3
See reviews for
30
113
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

A very charming hotel in the center of Obidos.
Very good and helpfull service during the whole stay.
Rooms are very charming and have a soul. Had at the beginning a smaller room which was changed later to a superior room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

For our one day visit (enough time for the town), this was a great place to stay. It has a charming atmosphere and wonderful staff. Our room, which was in the newer part, was large, very clean and comfortable and had a small deck overlooking a garden. The buttet breakfast was more than adequate. It is just outside the old city wall, making it a perfect location, though on a steep street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toron2nians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and perhaps only should have only stayed for one as the town is quaint and does not offer a lot for two days. Hotel in great location outside wall, rooms are very cold but comfortable beds. Steps are a problem with heavy luggage ..Bathroom had a unpleasant odour and facilities were dated...parking out in street near hotel.



Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had a great stay here. It was a little difficult to locate the inn, but once there...

The staff was extremely courteous, the room lovely, and the breakfasts (who can not like warm custard tarts) very good.

The nice touch was the young man serving breakfast who carried one suitcase out to our car nearby, then cleaned the windshields.

We had a couple of minor issues with hot water, which were remedied by the staff, but they were insignificant compared to the quality of the service.

The staff recommended O Pretentious Restaurant for dinner. It is nearby, the food was excellent, and the service from the owner very good.

Lovely stay!

Room Tip: We had one of the suites on the upper floor at the back and it was very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travellercanada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

A very nice hotel right outside (but almost adjacent to) the walls of the old town.
We found parking nearby.
After a relatively quick check-in we asked for some tourist info and got a brief intro plus dinner options. The information was good except for the dinner recommendations. Obidos is a bit of a problem with high priced restaurants and bars.
The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. There was also a nice game room \ common room with free WiFi.
Breakfast room was very large and gave a bit of a tour-bus restaurant feeling although there was a very rich breakfast served.
Summary:
All in all we had a nice stay, a bit pricey but nice.
Staff was nice.
There are steps to climb and there is not always someone there to help with luggage.

Room Tip: Some rooms (ours for example) had windows opening out to the street and at one floor up it can get n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TA.Walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
379 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay immensely in a very nice and clean standard room which was a good size and even being on the very front of the hotel by the street, it was still quiet. The staff was extremely helpful giving us tips on where to eat and tips on how to get to our next stop. We were driving ourselves and though I don't think there is a parking lot designated for the hotel per se, there is plenty of parking along the street both next to the wall and out in front of the hotel. I'm not sure we would have been comfortable driving to a hotel within the walled city so being just on the outside of the wall was great for us. Our Garmin had no trouble finding the hotel in fact our Garmin did great all over Portugal and Spain. Obidos is a beautiful town, lots of cobblestone streets with blooming bouganvilla draping the rock walls and a stairway to access the top of the wall providing a good view of the countryside and the roofs of the houses in Obidos. Cute outdoor restaurants serving everything from their famous cherry chocolate liquor to hamburgers with a fried egg, fish, salads etc. Lots of stores gearing up in October for Christmas - sounds like us back in the U.S. The breakfast at Estalagem do Convento was nice - lots of variety. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you can spring for a more expensive room you might get one at the back of the hotel on their cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#3 of 13 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
0.5 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 13 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa do Relogio
Casa do Relogio
#7 of 13 in Obidos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#5 of 13 in Obidos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casal Da Eira Branca
Casal Da Eira Branca
#1 of 22 in Obidos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Do Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Do Convento

Property: Estalagem Do Convento
Address: Rua Dom Joao de Ornelas, Obidos 2510-074, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an old convent building from 1830, in the medieval town of Obidos. The hotel is decorated with ancient charming furniture. Some rooms have the original black ceiling and all are decorated with beautiful tiles in the bathrooms. Our restaurant with capacity for 100 persons is in the old Cloister of the monastery. It is a wonderful opportunity to get to know one of Portugal's most historic towns, its traditions and culture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Convento Hotel Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing