We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Estalagem Do Convento
Ranked #12 of 22 Obidos B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had a great stay here. It was a little difficult to locate the inn, but once there...

The staff was extremely courteous, the room lovely, and the breakfasts (who can not like warm custard tarts) very good.

The nice touch was the young man serving breakfast who carried one suitcase out to our car nearby, then cleaned the windshields.

We had a couple of minor issues with hot water, which were remedied by the staff, but they were insignificant compared to the quality of the service.

The staff recommended O Pretentious Restaurant for dinner. It is nearby, the food was excellent, and the service from the owner very good.

Lovely stay!

Room Tip: We had one of the suites on the upper floor at the back and it was very nice.
Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank travellercanada2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Estalagem Do Convento
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 191 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

A very nice hotel right outside (but almost adjacent to) the walls of the old town.
We found parking nearby.
After a relatively quick check-in we asked for some tourist info and got a brief intro plus dinner options. The information was good except for the dinner recommendations. Obidos is a bit of a problem with high priced restaurants and bars.
The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. There was also a nice game room \ common room with free WiFi.
Breakfast room was very large and gave a bit of a tour-bus restaurant feeling although there was a very rich breakfast served.
Summary:
All in all we had a nice stay, a bit pricey but nice.
Staff was nice.
There are steps to climb and there is not always someone there to help with luggage.

Room Tip: Some rooms (ours for example) had windows opening out to the street and at one floor up it can get n...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TA.Walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We enjoyed our stay immensely in a very nice and clean standard room which was a good size and even being on the very front of the hotel by the street, it was still quiet. The staff was extremely helpful giving us tips on where to eat and tips on how to get to our next stop. We were driving ourselves and though I don't think there is a parking lot designated for the hotel per se, there is plenty of parking along the street both next to the wall and out in front of the hotel. I'm not sure we would have been comfortable driving to a hotel within the walled city so being just on the outside of the wall was great for us. Our Garmin had no trouble finding the hotel in fact our Garmin did great all over Portugal and Spain. Obidos is a beautiful town, lots of cobblestone streets with blooming bouganvilla draping the rock walls and a stairway to access the top of the wall providing a good view of the countryside and the roofs of the houses in Obidos. Cute outdoor restaurants serving everything from their famous cherry chocolate liquor to hamburgers with a fried egg, fish, salads etc. Lots of stores gearing up in October for Christmas - sounds like us back in the U.S. The breakfast at Estalagem do Convento was nice - lots of variety. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you can spring for a more expensive room you might get one at the back of the hotel on their cour...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Estalagem do Convento Hotel Obidos
There is a lot to like about this hotel: the location is great being just outside the walls surrounding Obidos, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are large and attractive. Our room was a junior suite and was quite big consisting of a sitting room with a couch and then a sleeping area. The room looked out onto the central courtyard and was very quiet. The building itself is a converted convent and is very warm & inviting. Breakfast is plentiful and nicely done with loads of fresh fruit & pastries. Put the address into your GPS and it will take you right to the front door. If we ever go back to Obidos I am sure we will stay here again.

While there make sure you walk the walls and visit the little wine bar next door. The town is touristy with a lot of tour buses in the parking lot just outside town but early in the morning or late in the afternoon it is quiet and relaxing. Had a nice meal at Restaurante Alcalde on the main street (Rua Direita).

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there are rooms facing the outside. Ours was a mini suite, which was huge and f...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaxyfromAubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed here just 1 night with my wife so that we could enjoy Obidos. It was our relaxing stop between the more hectic city tours...and we lucked out! The room was huge: one part had two double beds pressed up against each other, a nice closet, a safe and a TV and the other part had a large sitting area with a small sofa, two beautiful chairs and a small balcony overlooking a garden. The bathroom was very spacious and beautifully tiled...although the soap & toilet paper dispensers were a bit too industrial. The place was very quiet. There was a great selection for breakfast and the service was extremely professional. The only down side was that some of the water leaked onto the bathroom floor during the shower...hopefully they'll fix that. The hotel's location just outside of the town walls was perfect. We followed the staff's suggestion for lunch at a small restaurant just inside one of the side entrances to the town walls. It was very nice, but our money would've been better served having lunch at the Castle and their set menu. Oh well, we'll have to re-visit Obidos and stay at the Estalagem do Convento again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank academia_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Estalagem Do Convento was a beautiful place and I think of it often. The staff are very accomodating and the rooms were immpecable and very well appointed. We were traveling as a family and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ccmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our experience at Estalagem do Convento is very positive. We stayed there during the Annual Medieval Fair in July for 5 nights on our way to Porto- Vilamoura.
It is a lovely Inn - lots of character, rooms are old-fashioned, but tastefully furnished for excellent price for the value. We enjoyed our stay, using this hotel as a base to explore countryside.
There are plenty of reasons to stay longer. Highly suggested is a 10 day Medieval Fair held in the castle grounds in July including plenty of grog and pigs roasting on spits, old music, knight tournaments. Very spectacular. When you rent a dress in medieval attire then the admission fee is waived.
Obidos is situated between Walls, which are 1.565m long, easily accessible and provide a pleasant stroll to watch the sunset. City centre is a labyrinth of cobblestone streets. Blue or yellow striped white houses are covered with red and lilac hue. Village looks like fairy tale, especially in the evenings.
Location of the hotel is the best. Just outside the Walls - handy for taking a taxi or going exploring by bus . Surroundings are quiet for overnight. Bus stop and a small local market are near here. Regular local busses connect Obidos with little town Alcobaca, which is famous for the Cictercian monastery where once 999 monks lived. 12th century cloister belongs to Unesco World Heritage Sites. Really impressive building and architecture.
We are nature lovers, so one morning we woke up early and got to Peniche harbour. Bus from Obidos to Peniche goes every few hours. Service drops off at weekends, but taking a taxi is quite cheap in Portugal. From harbour number of companies offer day tours to Berlenga Natural Reserve across the ocean 12 km to Berlenga island. You should know that from July to August service functions three times daily: 9.30, 11.30, 5.30pm and returning 4.30 pm, 6.30 pm. Natural Reserve is good for your soul: fresh air, clear water, swimming, fishing, sunbathing, wandering, cave exploring – day full of pleasant activities. Grilled daily fish and white wine are provided - these are the only tracks of civilisation. Even tenting on the cliffs is available and a military fortress, built 1502, provides overnighting for back backers.
Finally, sip Ginja- cherry liquor from Obidos, buy some bottles to share good memories of the beautiful town Obidos with your friends, when going back home.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TartuCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 14 in Obidos
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#5 of 14 in Obidos
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 14 in Obidos
268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
0.0 mi away
The Literary Man - Obidos Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estalagem Do Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estalagem Do Convento

Address: Rua Dom Joao de Ornelas, Obidos 2510-074, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Obidos
Price Range: $103 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an old convent building from 1830, in the medieval town of Obidos. The hotel is decorated with ancient charming furniture. Some rooms have the original black ceiling and all are decorated with beautiful tiles in the bathrooms. Our restaurant with capacity for 100 persons is in the old Cloister of the monastery. It is a wonderful opportunity to get to know one of Portugal's most historic towns, its traditions and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Estalagem Do Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Do Convento Hotel Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing