We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for what we paid!”
Review of Hotel Louro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Louro
Ranked #7 of 19 Obidos B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very good for what we paid!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We found this hotel on our way to Obidos and were quite pleased with the friendly welcome. The room was small, but very clean and so was the bath as well. Nothing fancy, but all you need for a nights sleep – and a bit on the old fashioned side. The young lady at the reception spoke quite good English and pleased my husband by being able to sell us some cool beers after a hot drive. There is a supermarket within walking distance for supplies if needed.

Breakfast next morning was a buffet, more or less continental style – no eggs and bacon. Coffeemaker with what we think was instant coffee, but still ok.

We never tried the pool, but it seemed popular by some other guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polarlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelouro, Gerente at Hotel Louro, responded to this review, March 6, 2016
Google Translation
A gerência do Hotel Louro agradece o vosso agradável comentário.
Estamos aqui para vos proporcionar uma excelente estadia!
Aguardamos uma nova visita e entretanto agradecemos a recomendação do Hotel Louro.
Cumprimentos
Isilda Marques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    73
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
57
63
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Gastor, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Louro for one evening and we had a wonderful stay. The room was very comfortable, the manager was very helpful, the pool was refreshing and the breakfast was delicious.

The hotel is on a beautiful piece of property with a wonderful view of the surrounding valley.

We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superior Double and it was more than enough room for my wife, 5 year old son and 2 ye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aejae212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelouro, Gerente at Hotel Louro, responded to this review, March 6, 2016
Google Translation
A gerência do Hotel Louro agradece o vosso agradável comentário.
Estamos aqui para vos proporcionar uma excelente estadia!
Aguardamos uma nova visita e entretanto agradecemos a recomendação do Hotel Louro.
Cumprimentos
Isilda Marques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loulé
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Obidos is a delightful town within castle walls, close to the Silver coast. A MUST visit.
Shops and restaurants galore, but amazingly overpriced, so we were very pleased to find the Louro, just a few minutes walk away. Very friendly reception, clean, warm and well appointed room, comfortable dining room and lounge. Adequate buffet breakfast for a small extra charge.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have lovely views of the town and surrounding countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelouro, Gerente at Hotel Louro, responded to this review, March 6, 2016
Google Translation
A gerência do Hotel Louro agradece o vosso agradável comentário.
Estamos aqui para vos proporcionar uma excelente estadia!
Aguardamos uma nova visita e entretanto agradecemos a recomendação do Hotel Louro.
Cumprimentos
Isilda Marques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This little hotel is situated just outside the town of Obidos, which is very handy as you can't bring your car inside the walls. The hotel has plenty of parking and just a short walk brings you up to the main gate for the town. The hotel is quite basic but very clean and our room was nicely decorated and quite spacious with two small balconies. The staff were quite friendly and diid their best for us despite their lack iof English and our lack of Portuguese. Breakfast was buffet style and although not terribly exciting it was perfectly adequate. The hotel does not have a bar or a restaurant but this is more than made up for by those in Obidos itself. The only real disappointment was the pool. We were staying for 3 nights in order to explore the area so we weren't looking for a large pool and sun area but we would have like somewhere to enjoy and unwind for an hour after a days walking or driving. Unfortunately this is more like a cramped plunge pool ( I suspect it may have been added as an afterthought and by the time late afternoon comes the sun has left the area. It all depends on what you want, but as somewhere to stay for 1 - 3 nights passing through the area it is more than adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocasadobica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelouro, Gerente at Hotel Louro, responded to this review, March 6, 2016
Google Translation
A gerência do Hotel Louro agradece o vosso agradável comentário.
Estamos aqui para vos proporcionar uma excelente estadia!
Aguardamos uma nova visita e entretanto agradecemos a recomendação do Hotel Louro.
Cumprimentos
Isilda Marques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Obidos is a cute little historic town that you can see (easily) in one day. If you want to spend a night there, there are not many options. (You can stay inside the old castle walls -- where cars are forbidden -- but those places seem to be overpriced.) The Hotel Louro is adequate. It's a short walk to the town center. The rooms are clean, if older. There is supposed to be free wireless throughout the hotel -- but the router for the second floor was not working properly and the older lady at the front desk had no idea what to do about it. She told us to come down stairs and use the Internet in the lobby (not exactly what I was expecting). The breakfast was free but pretty awful -- some bread and a few slices of cheese. The hotel is not easy to find. Our GPS brought us to some place miles away. And when we called the hotel for directions, they could not give directions. (We ended up stumbling upon the hotel by accident.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.3 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#5 of 13 in Obidos
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 13 in Obidos
466 reviews
1.2 mi away
QUINTA DA TORRE
QUINTA DA TORRE
#11 of 13 in Obidos
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
#9 of 13 in Obidos
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo
0.4 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Louro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louro

Property: Hotel Louro
Address: Rua Antiga Estrada Real 2 | Casal da Canastra, Obidos 2510-011, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Louro 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Louro is a family hotel that sets itself apart from all others for its unique and special character. It started out as a small inn in 1998 with only 7 rooms, working seasonally. This dream grew up and in 2011 we received the classification of 3 *Hotel , with 23 rooms, among them a suite and two family rooms, with capacity for 42 fixed beds. As an Hotel, our main mission has been to provide our clients with accommodation and the best services, always being guaranteed a cozy atmosphere, using a wide range of tourist services. We can not fail to highlight our services such as the garden and its beautiful view, the outdoor pool and our partners who together with the staff, make it possible to provide an unforgettable stay for our visitours, in this small village that is Obidos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Louro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing