We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
great falls, mt
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Family Experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Consistent with several of the most recent reviews, our visit with family and friends was very rewarding. We were fortunate to visit Obidos during a recent festival with added to the experience. They have done a nice job of updating the ammenities without compromising the castle or historic food. Staff was very helpful- driving the car down from the castle and lugging several suitcases up from the parking. Dinner on site was a bit above average. The star in the show is the castle.

Great way to spend a bit of time in Obidos.

For those with young children- they will love running around in the courtyards with their newly acquired mid-evil dress and weapons, but be careful with them walking around the outer walls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insecret9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago_Goncalves, Manager at Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Historic Pousada de Óbidos.

Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable stays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team.

Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.

With kind regards
Tiago Gonçalves

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    111
    45
    20
    15
See reviews for
91
290
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

OK. This is a tourist destination, but well worth a visit. We had only booked one night at the hotel, b.ut this was even better than our first Pousada visit. The hotel is within the castle and full of character. Staff were exceptionally helpful, offering us a cold drink on arrival and also looking after our car, because the streets are narrow.

You can walk out of the hotel into the town, which is a walled one: narrow streets, beautifl flowers decorating so many buildings. Good restaurants.

Dinner in the restaurant was fine dining and high quality.

we were so impressed with the town we went back again for a visit on the route back south

Room Tip: The newer block was more convenient, albeit less atmospheric, than some of the the castle rooms, som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago_Goncalves, Manager at Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete share your experience, with your nice comments.
We are delighted to read the kind comments about your stay at the Pousada do Castelo, in Óbidos, and specially about our Staff members.

Effectively we are proud of our Castle and strive daily to achieve the legitimate expectations of those who visit us, we are pleased to know that we were able to provide you memorable moments.

I will personally convey your gratitude to our Team which I am sure they will be grateful to hear that their hard work and enthusiasm has been commented.

Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Tiago Gonçalves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The place is wonderful, very kind people, excellent breakfast and restaurant. For sure one of the best places I have visited.
In addition the city is very clean, very safe to walk at night and enjoy the restaurants, completely different the big centers.

Room Tip: The rooms in towers are not so confortable, despite of being typical. I recommend the suites in uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago_Goncalves, Manager at Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your kind words regarding the Pousada do Castelo, in Óbidos. We are happy to know that we met your expectations and will share your kind remarks with our team.
This review gives us great pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for highlighting the great location, the Village and service provided during your stay.

We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Tiago Gonçalves
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel. Amazing service that was thoughtful and responsive without attitude or being overbearing. The place is remarkable with most of the rooms in a castle keep. Our issue was that our room was not in the castle but an adjoining house and only had two tiny windows. Also we could hear everything our neighbors did. We paid the same price for this room as if it were in the castle. We expected a castle room but arrived late and were told none were left so had the Joao IV room. In any other hotel this room would have been okay (for a lesser price) but being part of something better was a tease--it felt lke we were paying castle rates and not getting the experience. Obidos is beautiful as is the hotel as a whole, and as a stated above, the service was wonderful and welcoming which almost made up for the disappointment of the room. Also, this Pousadas like the others we stayed at has poor wifi that did work reliably in our room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 0-Excelsior-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago_Goncalves, Manager at Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to personally thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests, as this is the only way we can truly assess our guests’ needs, and continuously improve the luxury service we aim to provide. However, please note that the rooms at the Castle have a diferente price then the rooms at the cottage. This information is in our website and the booking confirmation allways has that reference.

It is very grateful for us, to make part of all your magnificent experiences in our Castle and village of Óbidos. On behalf of all my Team I must be thankful for your kind compliments.We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition.

Best Regards,

Tiago Gonçalves
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our superior room was large but dimly lit (at best). Tiny bathroom: the shower did not work and had to be fixed. Weak, sporadic WiFi.
An ordinary buffet breakfast with a wishy-washy fruit salad but no fresh fruit, Very good breads. Why in a hotel of this repute can't they serve you coffee instead of making you walk so far to refill your cup?
Service at the Reception Desk is superb.
The drive up to the hotel is a nightmare! Do not even think of doing in a large car!

Room Tip: The least expensive rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panajody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago_Goncalves, Manager at Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review about Pousada do Castelo on TripAdvisor.

We have noted your feedbacks and we sincerely regret the inconvenience that it may caused you during your stay with us. I have personally looked into this matter and it is only from comment such as yours that we are able to improve our facilities and services even more better.

I have personally conveyed your feedback to the teams and they are all very happy to know that they made your stay even more special. I am certain that this will serve us as a source of inspiration to achieve higher standards of excellence in the future.

With my kind regards,

Tiago Gonçalves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

All the locals and the nice hotel staff told us about this problem wcich disturb this extremely beautiful little village on the mountains, after tring out every thig possible against the flies wcich dont give u a rest. though at the evening its less so. The castle is placed on a winding little ally, the room a bit on the smakk side so threr is hardly a place fot 2 bags but the siht ia amazing and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Take a lrger suit as the rooms are rather small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couple59060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago_Goncalves, Manager at Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Pousada do Castelo on TripAdvisor.

First of all I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us with the flies. I am delighted to read your comments and I am happy that you had a nice experience with us and our Team met your expectations.

I will personally convey your gratitude to our Team which I am sure they will be grateful to hear that their hard work and enthusiasm has been commended.

Once again we would like to thank you for supporting us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With my kind regards,

Tiago Gonçalves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

ROOM
We had booked a suite without being able to get in tough with the pousada directly to find out about it or to tell them our preferences (reservations are central). Two days ahead of our visit, I received an email from the pousada to give us information about parking and activities during our stay. I replied to this email to ask them if it would be possible for us to get the suite in the tower, which they confirmed. When we checked in, I found out that there are actually three such tower suites and that we did not get the best one as I had though. Ours were in the 2nd tower and had two floors, one (top floor) where the wooden traditional double bed (hard and not very wide) was, downstairs pretty modern and simple furniture and just about space enough for a sofa, a TV and the extra bed for our son plus a small bathroom. Adding our luggage it was really full. Still special to stay in the tower, but not as good as I had hoped for. There was noisy air condition upstairs – which we definitely needed to put on as it was even warmer inside than outside.

FOOD
We had a very nice dinner in the evening with a great view (make sure you ask for one of their best tables, not all of them has the great view). Live cooking at the table for some dishes, very good service and wine recommendation and the best pousada-food that we had. Also breakfast was good.

SERVICE
All pousadas have a competition going on where guests nominate the employees that they find should be the employee of the month. I believe that the winner each month receive a double salary. I do not know what the service was before they started this, but remember from a previous stay at (also government run) paradores in Spain, that there was basically nothing like service minded employees, but must say that we received a much better service at the pousadas than we had expected, maybe as a result of this little competition.
At the reception they would give us information about sights to see, someone would carry our suitcases to the room (which included lots of steps up to the tower!), everyone would be asking if there was anything they could do for us, chat with us, recommend special things etc. Really very very good. Of course not like a 5 star hotel, there are not enough employees in the pousadas to deliver such a service, but very friendly, personal and willing to do the best for us kind of service which we highly appreciated.

OTHERS
Obidos is a nice white village inside a well preserved city wall. Nice to walk around in the village and at the wall. Quite some tourists.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Musken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiago_Goncalves, Manager at Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much to have sent to me your concerns about your reservation at Pousada do Castelo. In fact it is based on the opinions and feed back of our guests and friends, that we can meet the expectations of those who we have the privilege of receiving at the Pousada de Óbidos. Allow me to refer that the Tower Suites are original Castle Towers adapted to a Hotel room, all of them are in duplex, and that we also informed you during the reservation that this ones werent suitable for extra beds, but as you insisted you allowed it.

We work every day for our guests can have a pleasant and comfortable stay with us within the expected quality. We pledge to make every effort to please our guests at all times and feel proud of your recognition. We are happy to know that we met your expectations and will share your kind remarks with our team.

We hope to see you soon again in our Castle, if you need anything, please don’t hesitate on contacting us.

With my kind regards,

Tiago Gonçalves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 14 in Obidos
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 14 in Obidos
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
0.2 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#4 of 14 in Obidos
442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel

Property: Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel
Address: Paco Real, Obidos 2510-999, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Castelo)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada do Castelo de Óbidos is located in Vila de Óbidos and is one of the 7 wonders of Portugal. This Pousada is of enormous historical importance and includes medieval features from the 9th century. The castle was given as a wedding present by King D. Dinis to Queen Santa Isabel during their wedding that took place on site. This castle is one of the most impressive and romantic sites you can visit. It includes common areas such as the restaurant and Castelo bar. Don't forget the impressive esplanade together with the reception. At the Pousada de Óbidos you can choose to stay in the castle and have an authentic medieval experience or stay in the Casa do Castelo (located right next to the castle), where you will have an experience closer to that of living in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, PESTANA MANAGEMENT – Serviços de Gestão S.A., Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada de Obidos Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing