We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”

Restaurante O Caldeirao
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located outside the castle, near the fireman building, on the road that goes to Caldas da Rainha.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We (together with my wife and a couple of friends) had dinner there. Made a special effort in view of the favorable reviews. It was nice, the service courteous but nothing special and not worth the effort (we walked ther by foot from the Pousada because it was too much trouble to take out the car from the congested parking spot). The prices are above average and it is not really a place "frequented by locals" though there were a few there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank nuernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    61
    26
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I had seen good reviews for O Caldeirao on Tripadvisor, and they did not disappoint! We were here on a quiet Friday night, and were the only tourists in the restaurant, with a handful of local diners... The lovely couple who were front of house were so welcoming and helpful. I had goat for the first time ever, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The menu is not extensive, but I get the impression that with daily specials, and the maitre d's advice, you could experience more than the usual menu items. A definate restaurant to return to!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Óbidos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This great restaurant, facing the unusual 8 sided church of Senhor Jesus da Pedra, serves typical portuguese food. I highly reccommend the "Arroz de Pato" (duck with rice), the tornedó or the pork and shrimp kebabs.
The wine list has a good variety, the staff is helpful and friendly and the restaurant has lots of space and parking is available for free, right in front of the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SonjaBirnbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Top lunch of the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had an excellent lunch here. About 2 minutes or so from the town.
Started with some very tasty fresh clams and moved on to something that tasted much better than it looked... steak in peppercorn sauce. It looked like it was swimming in cream sauce but in fact it was very light and delicious. Went great with their rice which we had to ask for more since we enjoyed the sauce so much. Also had a perfectly grilled dorado. Very nice option while visiting

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ziggy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We visited this restaurant on the back of previous reviews. We were not disappointed. The service is great with one of the waiters speaking good English. We ate a variety of meat dishes over the three times we visited. The firm favourite with out doubt was the steak in peppercorn sauce. As a family we do not eat fish but speaking to one of the locals this place is renowned for its fish. Each time we ate here the locals out numbered us visitors by 3 to 1.
The red house wine was superb and cost 4.5 Euros a bottle. For 15 Eauros you can drink Estate wine.
I would recommend booking in the peak season.
The location is by the big church about 5 minutes outside of Obidos.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alshepuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Caldeirao also viewed

Obidos, Leiria District
Obidos, Leiria District
 
Obidos, Leiria District
 

Been to Restaurante O Caldeirao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing