We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Obidos
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great Food Bad Sevice ”
Review of The History Man

The History Man
Ranked #42 of 98 Restaurants in Obidos
Price range: $22 - $33
Description: "Nem só de pão vive o homem" Depois do The Maker Man e do The Literary Man apostámos num novo ambiente literário de riqueza cultural expressiva. A Casa de Pasto leva-nos à boa tradição portuguesa numa vila tão procurada por gentes do mundo inteiro. É aqui, nos livros, nos objectos, nas marcas e nos pratos que queremos ir contando a história, seja nas salas interiores seja no belo pátio de cerca de 300m2 onde instalámos uma esplanada, uma cozinha exterior, um lounge e um bar.
Restaurant details
Description: "Nem só de pão vive o homem" Depois do The Maker Man e do The Literary Man apostámos num novo ambiente literário de riqueza cultural expressiva. A Casa de Pasto leva-nos à boa tradição portuguesa numa vila tão procurada por gentes do mundo inteiro. É aqui, nos livros, nos objectos, nas marcas e nos pratos que queremos ir contando a história, seja nas salas interiores seja no belo pátio de cerca de 300m2 onde instalámos uma esplanada, uma cozinha exterior, um lounge e um bar.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food in this place is amazing!!
We had a variety of food from the me u between 5 of us including the chicken skewers and the tostadas and it was all brilliant I cannot fault it

However no one greeted us when we entered. I had to go and find the menus. We waited a good 20-30mins before anyone came to take our order. And then went to get the bull from the bar after giving up waiting.

The staff were clearly trying very hard but there were not enough of them to cope with the sudden influx of people that had come in

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank lisasZ209AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2019

We visited on the recommendation of friends who own a property close by. The food was awful! My fish was over salted and the Russian salad came out of a tin, and my husbands meat was cold - obviously reheated but not well. The pasta the girls had was nice if a little short of prawns!
Very disappointed and left feeling why! Different chef! Quiet night! Better at lunchtimes! Confused!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Rozatmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

We went over there for lunch, nobody welcomed us, we found a place, took by oursrlf the menu and asked several times for waitress to come and take our order, the drinks (2 beers) came to us after the dishes, one of us didnt like the dish and asked to replace it. When we asked for the bill we saw that they charged us for 3 dishes, and when we explained them that we asked to chane the dish and not to order a new one, only after we asked to speak with the manager they accepted our request. This is sad because the place is so beautiful and the other dish was great.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank YonatanN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

A beautiful chilled garden setting with equally relaxed music, sofas under a huge tree and twinkling lights. Clam pasta and prawn with pesto pasta were absolutely delicious and the service was excellent. A real gem to have stumbled upon

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Skitt1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

Excellent food in an outdoor setting. The prices were very reasonable prices and the service was friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The History Man also viewed

Obidos, Leiria District
 
Obidos, Leiria District
 
Obidos, Leiria District
Obidos, Leiria District
 

Been to The History Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing