We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star facility - currently an empty wonderland”
Review of Bom Sucesso Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bom Sucesso Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Obidos
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights recently.

Our first impression was of a ghost town. It seemed like we were the only people staying in the entire resort (we probably were!)

The whole complex is in various stages of completion, and there is definitely a lot of construction going on, however this did not intrude on us in any way. We can imagine that this will be a popular place in years to come and feel privileged to stay here with so much space and freedom!

The holiday villa we stayed in (number 8) was beautifully appointed with absolutely everything we could need. It seemed to us that no-one had cooked properly in the kitchen before as everything seemed brand new.
Airconditioning upstairs and downstairs. Massive flat screen tv in bedroom and living room with cable tv. Great wifi.

Supermarket bakes fresh bread each day and was well stocked with food and drink (but at an inflated price). There was a restaurant and bar but we decided to cook for ourselves most nights.

The best thing about the villa was that the hotel staff cleaned the entire place, including kitchen, for us each day! Maybe we were expecting too little, but we were assuming it to be a holiday rental type place with maybe a towel change every few days or so. We were very pleasantly surprised.

Played golf at the well established course, and was impressed. Reasonably priced round, but expensive club hire - so bring your own! (40e for clubs, 35e for round!)

We had a pool to ourselves by our villa which was lovely, but may be a little hot in summer with no shade (currently no umbrellas).

Car parking right outside your doorstep. Security present on property.
One small request would be for the residence to have a kitchen cloth and its own dishwashing liquid, just so we could do some of our own cleaning up! (we didn't mind leaving it all for the cleaning ladies, but could have at least wiped the bench sometimes if we had a cloth!)

We feel privileged to have stayed at this resort, and to essentially have the run of the place to ourselves. We look forward to returning in a few years time, but imagine that it will be a lot different by then!


Oli and Sarah

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank breol604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 289 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

just back from Bom Sucesso staying in a 2 bedroom, 2 floor , 2 bedroom townhouse overlooking the 16th Fairway and view of the lagoon!!!
This place has moved on alot since i visited 2 years ago with a super market, MAZE restaurant, the new club house, tennis club, kids club area with pool and snacks and overall so much more has been completed...if you love food, golf, peace, quite beaches you will love this area alot. I am a keen golfer and the course is fantastic especially the 17th and 18th and with the new club house you can now meet the Mrs and friends and have a nice cold beer!
There are other courses in the area Prai Del Rey and October there will be the Royal Obidos Golf Course opening...the are plenty of beaches as well...Bom Sucesso Beach which also has small restaurant owned by the family that own Rio Cortico on the lagoona, which is a fantastic beach for the kids and the Rio Cortico is a fantastic place with amazing fish and amazing views....there are also 2 smaller cafes for snacks etc..

If you like fish then go to Peniche, which is 15 mins away and has an active fishing port with amazing restaurants along the road all very reasonably priced...there is also our favourite beach Baleal...great for swimming and in parts surfing...small cafes to eat snacks, try the fried frango sandwich!

Foz de Arelho and Cladas Da Raina are also close Foz another great beach and Caldas a great place for the local market each day until 1pm for the cheapest and freshest fruit , veg and bread...also a local fish monger and butchers....worth a trip..there is also a Chinese there if you fancy and change...just opposite the Hospital Car Park. Caldas also has small shopping mall and a new hotel, which is very nice for dinner or terrace drinks...

Lisbon is only 50 mins away, so we always have a trip to Lisbon for a little shop and nice lunch lots to explore

Overall this is a fantastic area and after years of the Algarve I am now hooked on the this area and staying at his amazing resort Bom Sucesso, where the architecture will blow your mind and the peach will clear you mind....enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank safewaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

At the mouth of the lagoon as it meets the sea is a spectacular expanse of sandy beach, Bom Sucesso beach overlooking the estuary towards Foz. For me this made the holiday.

The resort itself is well advanced with the Maze restaurant downstairs and viva Maria being our favourites on site. Outside our favourite restaurant is Tribeca at Sierra del Rei.

We also visited the beach at Preia del rei where they have a life guard and the children loved the waves, care is needed though as this sea is strong and make sure the green flag is out.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beaconsfieldyummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I have owned a holiday home here for the last year and as a result I have visited Bom Sucesso five times in that period and each time I'm more and more impressed by the progress they're making with the resort. The architecture is stunning and the landscaping is breathtaking, the houses are very well designed and extremely well furniture and equipped with everything you'd need for a self catering holiday. There are great facilities at the resort including three restaurants/bars, a good supermarket which is reasonably priced with good quality food and drink and excellent sports facilities including swimming pools, tennis and a wonderful golf course. If you're a golfer its well worth a visit and if you can par the last two spectacular holes, you know you've play an excellent round of golf! Only thing to warn you of is there's still bulding work at the resort but it's not obtrusive and shouldn't detract from anyone's enjoyment.

Room Tip: the two bedroom townhouses 79-99 Rua da Lagoa are spacious with wonderful terraces, a 20m pool and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidPeters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is my first night here and I cannot close my eyes, the telephone does not work and I had to use my mobile phone twice to ask security for help, just to get the light running and the terrace door open, phone still does not work - finally the management has switched on the router, so communication to the outside world is possible via the net - sot he news are, I am staying in the middle of a construction site in a nicely furnished apartment, but it is like being in an empty suburb without soul (and without people). I am pretty sure that most of the reviews were organized by the management, because you cannot recommend neither design nor landscape to nobody. It is dull, empty and without style, understaffed with stressed non-knowledgeable trainees whom I feel pity for, coz one person has to manage bar, restaurant and club. No flowers and signs of feeling home nowhere,just the noise from the Hilton hotel construction site. No connection to the reception or the security except for roaming via my Swiss cellphone. I have been living for twenty years in Africa and yet - I never felt that isolated and unsafe. When it comes to the landscape: no trees, no flowers, no green, except for the golf course. It is a skeleton of concrete urbanization in 70s architectural concept in an unfriendly no-nature. YOU MUST PLAY GOLF TO GET SOMETHING OUT OF IT, Otherwise, don't come.

Room Tip: get a room after 2035, once the recently planted trees give some feel of green an home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tuskerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My family stayed in a 3-bedroom townhouse designed by Ines Lobo (Rue do Sol Poente) in July. The architecture was nothing short of spectacular, and the decorative touches (furniture, wall hangings, lighting) was consistently tasteful. The kitchen was fully stocked, with every imaginable appliance and an infinite supply of glassware, plates, etc (the Nespresso machine and convection oven were especially nice surprises). We found the bedrooms extremely comfortable, and the jacuzzi soaker tubs got plenty of use.

The nearby playground (parque infantil) came in very handy with our 16-month-old daughter, and she loved the jungle gym, slides, and merry-go-round. Only bummer: the inflatable slides weren't inflated when we visited (they are only in use, I think, on weekends).

We enjoyed Maze, one of the restaurants inside the Bom Sucesso resort, although we found that the pizza was far better than anything else on the menu. And the gourmet market was fairly well stocked -- saving you the trip to a supermarket outside the resort. That said, the rest of the "commercial" area was pretty much non-existent.

The private beach associated with the resort was scenic, with a small patch of nearly shell-free sand flanked by towering rock cliffs on either side. There were umbrellas and lounge chairs, as well as a small seafood cafe, Rio Cortico, overlooking the area. While the setting was amazing, we preferred the beach at the lagoa, where our daughter could walk out into the shallow water and we could enjoy watching the dozens of kite-boarders that zipped around the inlet. This beach also has a sister restaurant also called Rio Cortico. The prixe-fixe lunch menu was 30 Euro and an outstanding value.

Nearby Obidos proved to be a good day trip, and we greatly enjoyed visiting the Medieval Festival that was in full tilt during our stay. Peniche was also a short drive and full of wonderful shops and restaurants.

I found the staff and reception desk at Bom Sucesso extremely helpful. When we realized our electricity adapters wouldn't fit in the sockets, they happily supplied us with ones that would.

We had only two complaints about Bom Sucesso: One, the resort is a bit out of the way, and the drive to and from can drag on. Two, the resort is still very much a construction zone. The immediate area we stayed at was finished, but walking or driving anywhere in the resort and you'll pass by countless houses still being erected, and tons of heavy machinery and equipment. Once finished, it'll be breathtakingly beautiful, I'm sure. Many of the structures have shrubs planted on their roofs to help them blend into the scenery, and others are built into hillsides, camouflaging the structures into the landscape. Still, until the Hilton hotel is finished (expected to be Feb. 2013, according to one owner we spoke to), and at least the 1st wave of development is complete, the stunning architecture will continue to seem at least somewhat less beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TedMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Bom Sucesso is between Óbidos and Peniche at the midle of golf camp and pine woods. It's more or less 10 minutes by car to the nearest beach - Bom Sucesso or Foz do Arelho. The resort is still under construction (the hotel and some other parts). The recepcion service was fantastic and quick. The services at the resort are working on a soft opening basis: the gourmet supermarket just have 10 breads, the fresh fruit and vegetables aren't looking nice; when we arrive to buy the newspaper (Público) at 10 oclock they already didn't have it (I ask to keep one for the next day and they reserve de newspaper); they have snack bar, restaurant, ATM, etc... The villa was soberb and very good equiped (nespresso coffe machine - you can buy capsules at the supermarket at 5€/box). The swimming pool near the villa was nice, but don't hace umbrellas, it was impossible for stay there because the hot was so much (I heard that the umbrellas are already ordered).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Obidos hotels
1.4 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
3.8 mi away
The Beachfront Apartments
5.9 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 16 in Obidos
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 16 in Obidos
272 reviews
5.3 mi away
Exe Vila D'Obidos
Exe Vila D'Obidos
#12 of 16 in Obidos
276 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Louro
Hotel Louro
#7 of 16 in Obidos
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bom Sucesso Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bom Sucesso Resort

Address: Largo do Bom Sucesso, Obidos 2510-662, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Obidos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
Price Range: $105 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bom Sucesso Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Obidos Lagoon, a 15 minutes drive from Obidos and about 1 hour drive from the Lisbon Airport, Bom Sucesso Resort represents an innovative tourist complex, reference in Europe. With a 5-star rating, has a set of villas and townhouses – Arq Hotel Villas, created by a group of 23 masters of contemporary architecture. Integrated in the quiet and extensive gardens of the resort, and around the Guardian Bom Sucesso Golf, the villas are fully equipped and decorated with a touch of sophistication and comfort. All villas feature a private furnished patio that overlooks the garden and the outdoor pool (private or shared). All accommodations have a fully equipped kitchen and benefit from a daily housekeeping service. The Guardian Bom Sucesso Golf, a golf course with a PGA rating, occupies an area exceeding 60 hectares and has 18 holes, a driving range and a golf academy. At Bom Sucesso Resort there is also a set of sports and leisure facilities, including: 4 tennis courts, 2 paddle tennis courts, a multigame field and an inflatable park. During the summer, beach amenities are available, including lounge chairs and towels. There is also a shuttle service to the beach and Obidos. The ClubHouse, restaurant and bar, offers international cuisine and mediterranean dishes with a portuguese touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bom Sucesso Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bom Sucesso Holiday Design Villas Hotel Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing